You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Japanese Language Chat Forum ~ 日本語チャットフォーラム 〜 日

in #japaneselast year (edited)

Point taken. In all honesty this Japanese language forum was inspired partially by your weekend engagement (which I am a fan of, but don't participate in..but I should). My goal is to get those interested in the language to engage each other and collectively learn and improve. I've been consulting with some to come up with a rhythm of exactly how is the best way to move forward with this idea. Thanks for your feedback.

Sort:  

The #weekend-engagement concept is a posting concept and in the 140 weeks of it I have heavily rewarded posts, comments and transferred direct to users wallets. At no point have I commented to myself and voted on my own posts or comments.

Clearly I don't see it as a legitimate way to go for anyone, especially for an account that as the amount of stake you have; you should be setting an example to others.

Remember when you were self-voting your own posts? You were addressed and you said you would not do it...but here you are doing it again, on your comments. It'll not go well for you I think. Out of courtesy I have made some comments to you about it, others may not do so and address it in other ways.

Honestly, I didn’t feel that pinning my own comment would be so controversial. Clearly, I was wrong. I am a Hive maxi and will do whatever it takes for the betterment of our platform.

Looks like making a community might be the better route. Or, you could post the comment prompt in the post itself, maybe even with a request not to start a new comment thread after the first comment is made.

Still, with .04 reward, is it really an issue?

Hmmmm, the question can be moved to the post I suppose. Or I make a community. What I came up with today was inspired by your suggestions. I’m starting at kanji #1. Going back to the beginning is quite interesting for me actually. I literally wiped the dust off my basic kanji book from eons ago!

Nice. I’ll follow along. I kept up with my son for two years after he started school and meant to keep going but fell out of the habit. Now he’s in 5th grade and I can’t remember how to write most of the kanji on my own. Reading it is one thing, but actually mastering the writing is hard.

There some really good iPad kanji apps useable with the "Apple Pencil" too, as you probably know.

Actually, I haven’t looked into that. Recently, I’ve been studying French using DuoLingo.

Part of me feels like I should level up my Japanese, but since I haven’t really found study materials that I can use easily and that focus on areas that would be useful to me (the DuoLingo for Japanese doesn’t go very far), I thought I’d learn French instead.

Chances of me going there again are pretty high, and the last time I was there I couldn’t communicate at all, so I want to prepare myself for the next time that I travel there.

Looks like I’m messing up the system here by voting on your comments. Guess maybe I should stop doing that so that the original comment stays pinned to the top.

I guess I will just put the questions in the post from now on. Problem solved.

And then everyone’s happy. Hopefully. 😉

And then everyone’s happy. Hopefully. 😉

An account like @daveks self-voting sets an example for others. When a small account is found to be voting their own comments they are usually addressed pretty hard for it to ensure it doesn't spread and become a plague. That's why I mentioned it to daveks...it's not at all about the 0.04, it's about the principle of the matter and the message that a large account self-voting sends.

I get it. I thought it was weird too when I first noticed it, but, considering the post, I quickly realized why he was doing it.

He does have a valid reason for doing it, and his reason does point to a feature that is lacking in the current Hive. Does that mean it’s necessary? I don’t know.

I’ve suggested some possible alternatives to Dave and he is open to them.

I mention the value of the post in my comment to him, because when someone has a valid reason for doing something, and the “abuse to the system” is minimal, why can’t it be overlooked?

Like I said, though, I get it.

I mention the value of the post in my comment to him, because when someone has a valid reason for doing something, and the “abuse to the system” is minimal, why can’t it be overlooked?

I understand...but the problem is when multitudes or people from a country where cents make a difference come along and see it then emulate the self-voting of comments...It'll be a shambles. Things like this happen already of course and daveks can do as he pleases. I just don't feel it's legit.

I'm not the police though, just a Hive-nobody with an opinion.