Self Denial, A Major Price For Success

in Hive Learners10 months ago (edited)

Self Denial, A Major Price For Success

ᴾⁱˣᵃᵇᵃʸ. ᶜᵒᵐ

Self denial is part of life, no one gets to the top without mastering the habit of letting some things go in order to achieve the best. Of a truth the desires of man can never be satisfied, the more we get, they more we want. One who has not mastered self denial can go on chasing those things until he/she goes bankrupt.

I have seen few individuals who love mundane things so much that they follow every trend, dancing to every new tune in town, there are no latest things that they don't have, but today some of them barely eat twice a day.

They are broke now and they haven't finished getting all the latest things in town, in fact the ones available now are far better than the ones they were busy chasing before. What am I saying? we need to apply wisdom to spending, it's not everything that we must posses. If they are truly important, a time will come, when we will have need for them, but until then, let first things be first.

Self denial is a special pill for survival, there is no man that has ever succeeded in life without sacrificing something, something must definitely be shuned for others to thrive. I see self denial as a weeding process in the life of men, those things that are not important are the weeds, saying No to them is taking them off. For those of us who are farmers, we know that as soon as we weed, our crops grow well.

In life it's not everything that we crave for that we must have, somethings can be lived without, a successful life is a life full of sacrifices. Once the habit of sacrificing is gone, start expecting failure.

My Experience

Few months back, I realized that Facebook has taken over my life, I can't just concentrate for once and do something good with my time. I spend more time chatting than I spend hustling and building myself.

I won't lie to you sometimes, I sleep around 12 A. M , 2 A. M and it's not as if I was busy looking for money or making research but just chatting. It became a very serious matter and my life is already at stake with this kind of lifestyle.

So I decided to cut away from Facebook, I know was going to be deprived of having fun and gisting with friends but which is better, building myself to be a better person and be financially stable or keep having fun with friends online while I go broke and have my head grow weak and empty?

Facebook is good, social networks are not bad, infact we need them to while away time but you see it is something I can do without. The time I spend chatting, are mostly the times I am supposed to use to develop my self through studies, meditation and so on, it has been my lifestyle before I got addicted to facebooking.

It was a hard thing for me because, I use to be bored but I just have to let go. The first one week was a war but I pressed further and deleted the Application from my phone, after sometime I got used to staying without chatting and I had a lot of time to do whatever I want to do.

Seriously Facebook has injured me a lot, I know how many times I got into trouble because of it, for boys we know how easy it is to ask ladies out online. Sometimes you may not even want to do it but you just see yourself doing it. You just loose discipline and a lot more.

I am not saying chatting is bad but we need to reduce the way we use it and also we need to have discipline while chatting, I am sure you know what I am talking about hehe.. if you can't discipline yourself around it, then it's better you join me and stay away for a while to get your sanity back. Even the bible says if your hands will lead you to hell cut it off.


Lastly, I won't live you in the dark, after I have achieved my goals, I got back the Application , set boundaries and engage on it only when I have spare time, I also have time limits for my stay on the Application.

Thanks For Reading

Sort:  

Spending time and resources wisely helps one progress well in life. Though social media is good but if it deprive one in doing other things that could add value to one's life, we should limit the time spent on it or like you did remove it totally from our phone.

I was once addicted to a game like that that I barely sleep. Most times, I won't eat because I will be so engrossed. When it started affecting my health, I had to delete it from my phone. I really commend you for taking such decision for it's not always easy to let go.

Popped in from @dreemport #dreemerforlife

 10 months ago  

Honestly, a wise spending saves our resources.

You mean, you played the game until it affected your health?? Well sorry about that, the annoying part of the story is, there nothing good one gains after wasting such time... I am happy you stopped the game.. thanks for the recommendation, I will take note of that too..

Yes it did affected my health but I am glad I was able to let go. Thanks for the nomination.

 10 months ago  

Sorry about your health... The nomination was well deserved ma.. 🥰

 10 months ago  

Congratulations 🥳

@rukkie Your comment nominated by @emreal has been selected as the Dreemport’s Comment of the Day.

comment_of_the_day_image.png

Both of you have been awarded with 50 Dreem Tokens.

🥳🎊🥳

Dreemport is a platform that helps building the audience for your blogs.
Also, you earn Dreem tokens (A second-layer Hive Engine token)

Now Dreem tokens can be used to participate in Treasure Hunt for winning up to $187 worth of prizes. See the details

Click Here to get yourself registered on Dreemport.

For any query visit Dreemport Discord Server

Thank you @amberkashif

 10 months ago  

You are most welcome

 10 months ago  

Thank you🥰🥰🥰🥰

 10 months ago  

Most welcome.
Keep Dreeming

 10 months ago  

We will ma

People had to practice self denial in other to achieve something better
Thank God for you dear when someone is addicted to something to leave the things he or she was addicted to is hard
#dreemport #dreemerforlife

 10 months ago  

Leaving addiction is always very difficult, but thanks be to God , I am able to overcome that condition...

Thank you for stopping by🥰

Good to know dear
You are welcome
#dreemport

 10 months ago  

Thank you🥰

 10 months ago  

Everyone at one point or the other have had to practice self-denial just to get something they really need. Your story is a lot similar to mine, but in my case it was whatsapp and luckily for me I broke that addiction before it got worse 😅. It is wonderful to see that you achieved your goal of limiting the use of Facebook, social media addiction is no joke.

 10 months ago  

LoL... You knew one thing with these things is, the more you stay around them, the more you engage them, staying away is always the best way out.

I am not so much in love with WhatsApp but face haaa!! Well I am happy, I have reduced it to a great extend..

Thanks for stopping by broh

 10 months ago  

I am no more on Facebook for this reason. I deactivated my account. Addiction to these Apps is catastrophic. You did the best.

 10 months ago  

Had it been there are rewards to it, it would have been better but staying all day wasting your energy for nothing chatting with friends who won't give you a Kobo later is foolishness...

Thank you for making that beautiful point sir..

 10 months ago  

I can't agree less.
You are welcome bro.

 10 months ago  

🥰🙏😁

Sounds like you now have a healthy relationship with social media and Facebook specifically. When I found Hive, I very quickly lost interest in Facebook. I still pop on a couple of times a week to see if anyone I know has shared anything interesting or if family and friends living farther afield have shared photos etc but even then I am only online for a few minutes. I spend my online time primarily on Hive, Discord, and Whatsapp these days with a small circle of friends that mean the world to me. It's so much better this way !LUV

I dropped in from Dreemport this evening.
#dreemerforlife

 10 months ago  

Well, let me say a yes to the the first line.. I have a good relationship with Facebook and social media yet I am still cautious of the tendency to be addicted again..

I wish I could have your own kind of mind to just shun Facebook and concentrate on hive and discord where I can only discuss things that will spur me to grow

Thanks for the feed back

There are still people who would sit all day chatting without any tangible things. Like yesterday, I was away from WhatsApp not until late at night because I saw it was taking lots of my time to do things I needed to do.

Self denial is important if we must make success and we must be ready to sacrifice things for the best.

 10 months ago  

Seriously ma, that issue of chatting all day is causing us more harm than good, it funny how quick one gets addicted to it.

Of a truth without denying ourselves somethings, we may never succeed in somethings...

Thank you for reading ma

 10 months ago  

Those days I was so addicted to social media, not anymore as s my fire due social media died down.

 10 months ago  

LoL... That fire died to your advantage broh.. social media is a very big trap for anyone who doesn't have proper time management

 10 months ago  

Yeah, getting to the top involves lots of sacrifices. One way of getting through our distractions is by getting rid of them. It's a good thing you let off the app in your phone that's one way to fight the distraction. Self discipline helps living a life of moderation and it's a good thing you applied that.

 10 months ago  

Thank you so much stopping by. without sacrifices, there would be no gains...

 10 months ago  

You see that part about people chasing trends I just wonder why they do it in excess they are supposed to think of the future.
Thank God you also minimized your Facebook activities. It's too addictive

#dreemerforlife #dreemport

 10 months ago  

Omo.. they have their reasons o, just leave those people.. they think they will always have what they use to have even if they spend recklessly.

I am very happy for that I was able to break free . I give God the glory...

Thanks for the contribution ma

 10 months ago  

Self denial is a special pill for survival, there is no man that has ever succeeded in life without sacrificing something

True, I just started school, and studying feels new to me.
However, I know I have to read in order to pass my exams, and that's why I have to deny myself of morning sleep.
Not quite a long ago, I went to the mart to get coffee, and I already created a group with two other students so we could read. We plan to study from 3 to 5 a.m. every morning. I just pray that God helps us even as we are willing to help ourselves.

It's good that you noticed your weakness and worked on it.

#dreemerforlife #dreemport

 10 months ago  

There is no price that is too big to be paid for success.. it might be so inconveniencing but it's momentary, please endure and pay it once and for all
..

Thanks for this beautiful piece, I really enjoyed it... 🥰❤️

 10 months ago  

True man. Addiction to these web2 platforms can really make you feel useless at times. I have stopped using Facebook but what I am getting addicted to is twitter. Every now and then I am there. It’s really bad. Hopefully, I can put an end to it like you have done to Facebook.

#dreemerforlife

 10 months ago  

If it's really consuming your time and it's not adding anything to you, then it's best you force yourself to quit now that it's still fresh...

Thanks for reading 🥰❤️❤️🙏

 10 months ago  

Sometimes we have to make tough decisions in order to progress in life. Myself I don’t use Facebook and TikTok anymore because it consumes more of my time and I can’t afford to waste that time at this point in my life.

#dreemer #gosh #teamflash

 10 months ago  

Wow, I love your discipline.. maybe I'll come to you for more lessons..

Thanks for stopping by🥰

 10 months ago  

You should come with some hive 😂

 10 months ago  

LoL.. big people like you don't really need hive 😁

 10 months ago  

I’m not big please.😂

 10 months ago  

Hm!! I know you won't admit it🥰 but you really are