Sort:  

There's a lot of science behind it. Professionals make it look so easy.

Yes, it looks easy when we're doing it, but years if effort have gone into making it look easy. It's not actually easy though. It all comes down to doing everything properly, from setting up the rifle, load development, making the ammo to calling the wind and environmental factors, determining the shot and the right trigger pull plus more. I've written about some of those elements in The Pew. Not all.

Even then, things can go wrong and a miss can result...

Knowing all these things have to be considered makes it even more impressive. Also, the part about breathing also indicates that you have to have a level of physical fitness. I've read stories about military snipers holding a position for many hours. That will definitely strain something in one's body for sure.

Also, the guns have stands but I reckon the recoil will also have some effect on your shoulder and all that. Man it is so impressive.

Snipers will stay in their hide for many hours, sometimes days yes. It's not just about shooting. Stalking and making a hide, their camoflauge etc. Plus they have to have excellent memories and power of recall. These days snipers are more about intelligence and information than shooting. It is often snipers who light up targets with laser for smart bombs and missiles too. Certainly SF operators anyway.

I don't do any of that though of course. For me it's the marksmanship, speed and problem-solving, at least as far as competitions go anyway. When I shoot to Kil it's about human dispatch if the target.

Having the skills I do, plus the survival skills etc. brings me a nice level of confidence. I like knowing I can take care of myself and those I care about.

Have you ever had to stalked/hunt something with your training before? Like in a simulated or real life situation

Yes, quite a lot actually. I'm pretty good at it. Better when I was a little younger, but I can still move quietly and know how to remain undetected.

My favorite under 30 cal is 22-250. Check the ballistics, reloading options, and bullet variety. I'm sure you may have your favorite picked, but definitely one to look at if you're still undecided.

I agree with you! (And have one). It's a really nice calibre and very suitable for an iron sight back up rifle. Mine is scoped and I use it mainly for foxes off the back of a truck at night. It's a pretty deadly gun.

I was actually considering a Remington .223 7615P. There's loads of them around with some modification and the 30 round mag is available (and legal) in my state. I don't think it is as accurate as a 22-250 would be but can be fired rapidly and at 300-400m would be fine to impact a 12 inch target pretty much every time. (Also good for close up work).

I'm undecided.

I was thinking of simply removing the scope from my 22-250 (T3 stainless) but I use that gun 10-15 times a year in its current configuration so am reluctant. I was also considering installing back up iron sights on it. Cheaper option than a new gun.

Sounds like a great use case to leave the scope on and add one of those side mounts or 45 degree side mounts for the iron sights or Red Dot. I've been very pleased with my Vortex Venom's so far. It's not a Trijicon, but good quality for the cost.

I thought about doing that, the side-mount sight. There's actually a few options that would mean the ability to keep the gun. I could simply take the scope off also I guess, set up some iron sights. Part of me wants to and part of me wants to see this young fella end up with a decent rifle, and I know it is. I've never been one to hold in to things that don't get used, just because, or to discard things because there may be a new one just released. I'm thinking about this decision long and hard.