A seabird bonanza here today!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

423.JPG

The sun lit up a swooping seagull that saw some food!

We could only pay a brief visit to the beach this morning, as we went to search for a birthday present for my youngest grandson.
It is also our 2 year birthday today over here today, as we left the big city on this day 2 years ago.
So it seems that the number 6 plays a big role in my life, as I was also born on the 6th.
Come and have a look at the seabirds!

611.JPG

Here above we cormorants of all kinds!

453.JPG

An elegant egret coming in to land!

568.JPG

A cormorant stretching his wings in the sun to dry himself!

465.JPG

The egret fluffing itself doesn't look so elegant now 😄

192.JPG

A Kelp Gull surfing on the cold wind!

160.JPG

Another one crossing over on his way.

And that's it for today folks!

I took many photos with some amazing shots, but will share them over time.
The temperatures are fast dropping here, as yet another huge storm will make it's precence felt during this week. July is our coldest winter winter month and as it is our winter rainy season, we will soon be under water agin.
Not that I am complaining, as the more water the better to fill the dams.

Hope that everyone had a good Monday!

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading!
Camera used: Canon Powershot SX60HS

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity.

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you kindly @qurator and @brumest for your support!
Hope that you will have a great week!

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 29000 replies. Your next target is to reach 29500 replies.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Wow! A double notice today.
Thank you kindly!
Hope that you guys have a great week!

Love the pictures, reminds me of my time on the beach in Virginia. The entire shore seemed like a living, breathing thing, covered with tiny creatures that could really be seen if you paid close attention. Stay safe! :)

Oh yes, you are correct in so far as the close attention is concerned.
It is when really scrutinised that one can pick up all of the little stories that plays itself out in the mass gatherings.
I even made a video of a tiny crab with a broken shell in a pool, fighting with another little crab to steal its shell.

Thanks for popping in and have a good week!

Beautiful seabirds captures !😊

Thank you kindly Lady Barbara.
Hope that you will have a good week!

Cool photos my friend, I like the first one most, where the sun shines through the wings of the seagull.
Congratulations to your 2nd anniversary and Happy Birthday to your grandson 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

I almost didn't take that shot Sir Johann, mostly becuase I like an ocean or blue sky background for birds in flight.
But when I saw the beginning of the sun's effect on his wings, I waited for a few seconds until he was fully lit up, then I clicked. Glad that you liked it!

Thank you also for the kind wishes and I will tell little Noah that an Austrian mountain goat wished him happy birthday! Lol.

Blessings and thank you!

I have a few photos of birds in flight, but none is good enough for posting. I should practice it more often, but I'm just too lazy and wait until they sit down, and even then I miss most shots ;) lol

Yes, tell him greetings from the Austrian mountain goat 😆 lol ... I even cannot remember how janton came on that name. I think we have been talking about hiking and climbing...


Cheers and !BEER

Well let me make a suggestion that helped me greatly.
The next year after I started Papillon in 2001, I had to take some photos of our projects for funding grants and that's where my photography life started.

I started on one of the most difficult subjects. Dragonflies.
Now if you can snap a drag clearly in flight, you can easily get anything bigger.
Easy, no, defintely not but with much patience and perseverence doable.
That should solve your problem methinks!

Well at least the name has stuck with you and mountain goats are balanced and hardy critters.
I think that it is a great monniker hahaha.

Cheers and blessings!

You are thinking right, and as I said, I need much more practice ... and time ... and patience 😉

Maybe I should change my profile image from the Kiwifruit to a mountain goat, but therefore I have to take a photo of one ;)


Cheers and !BEER

Ah! Now there's a great idea.

Something like this, as it is free to use on Pixabay!

goat-5292614_1280.png

Source

Looks like a strong enough bugger lol.

Cheers and thank you!

Hahaha 😁😀
Thanks a lot my friend, but I never use images from others. If I need one I make one 😉
If I get the Chance to take a photo of a mountain goat I'll take it, but I don't think I'll change the 🥝 for a goat 😎


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

Thank you Kindly Sir @johannpiber

Cormorant deploys solar panel mode.

Hahaha, what a great thought here!

Excellent photos! Even in winter you have so many beautiful birds nearby. You are right, that fluffed up egret is not so elegant, but it made me laugh!
Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends Community
!tip

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Round 125 Shadow Hunters Contest Winners Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly Lady @melinda010100

The birds on the second photo are called Sea Crows around here. But they seem to be a more seasonal species. I love them. I always look forward to getting a glimpse of them.

Amazing news. So you guys call Cormorants, Sea Crows?
We have them all year round in South Africa.
Whereabouts do you live?

Portugal

We actually have like two subspecies of sea crow that I know of. One can be found year round, and another during a couple of months. Phalacrocorax carbo and Phalacrocorax aristotelis

Ah! Potugal, one of my good friends here family live in Portugal, butv deon't ask me where.
We have 5 species of Cormorants (Sea Crows) in South Africa.
Phalacrocorax africanus, Phalacrocorax coronatus, Phalacrocorax lucidus, Phalacrocorax neglectus and Phalacrocorax capensis.

They are all in South Africa all year round!