My First Year on Steemit- Happy Birthday to Me!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My First Year on Steemit


pizap.com15373715975641.jpg



My Steemit birthday snuck up on me yesterday. I knew it was coming, but I lost track of it during the week. This is also my birthday for my Fairyland garden on Fakebook. September must be the month of new beginnings for me. Thankfully the @steemitboard reminded me with a comment on my new post! They are so cool.



pizap.com15373718832121.jpg



Those who have never heard of Fairyland, it is a very addictive game in which you, as a fairy or elf, plant a garden, leave out a plate of food for critters, and then you get gems when the critters are spotted. Other players do the same. You can go from one person’s garden to the next watering the other fairy’s gardens. The critters your garden attracts depends on the plants growing in your garden and the type of food left out.

This game gets very confusing, but they start you out easy by leveling you slowly. They give you chances every day to collect gold that is used to water or as we Fairylaners call it- hunting. These people are cut throat players who will water a garden every second to get the critter they are hunting. It can get crazy!!!

After playing this game for eight years, I gave it a break and came to Steemit. Once I was truly addicted to Steemit, I froze my garden in Fairyland and I didn’t go back until last night. In previous years, Fairyland would give out a birthday plant we could plant. It would bloom into a balloon and we could collect 100 gold.

I went looking for my birthday plant last night, but I found out sometime this past year Fairyland replaced the birthday balloon plant with birthday critters and I needed birthday cake in my garden. For a few hours I spent my hoarded gold hunting birthday critters to find enough to get some cake. It was fun, so I kept hunting until I got two plates of cake!

That’s how I spent the evening of my Steemit One Year Anniversary!!!



It’s been a long road traveling through Steemit this last year. The best part being the people, and the different communities that have developed during my time here. I have watched Steemit members help other members like no other place on the internet, and I’ve been involved with internet communities since I could sign into AOL, so I’ve seen a good many in my old age of 45.

I have to say Steemit has been and remains the sanest internet community I’ve joined. Like any other community there is a degree of drama, but for the most part each member shows their good side when it comes to building the Steemit platform. I must adjust my positive attitude I get on Steemit to the outside world which has apparently been sucked dry of any amusement or sense of humor.

Seriously, my world in better inside of Steemit!!!



I found Steemit by way of @ecoinstant, which is the son of @snook. The three of us ventured into this world not knowing we would be transformed into Steemit Stars. We were all very cautious and confused by the information overload we received as a welcome package, but we navigated the main points and were soon swimming in the deep waters among the dolphins and the whales.

My favorite part of Steemit is the opportunity to level my writing skills. When I first started out on Steemit one year ago, I wrote a lot of Freewrites. These are 5-minute pieces of writing that are designed to get a writer creating without worrying about the content or editing. These stories are inspired by a daily prompt and the Freewrite is hosted by @mariannewest.

The @freewritehouse has been a big part of my first-year memories, as they have been so supportive of my creative endeavors, no matter how unprofessional my writing may be. They are always encouraging and helpful. They even got me out of my camera-shy phase by hosting the selfie contest, I still can’t believe I finished.

Here is one of the freewrites I picked randomly. Weekend Freewrite #6 Single Prompt Option



Once I became comfortable in the Steemit writing waters, I branched out to write short stories for different writing contests. This was new to me because I did not write short stories in the past. Before Steemit I would devote months of time to write a long drawn out novel with plots and twists and turns, using this time to fuel my hopes that one day my novel would hit the best seller’s list and make me rich, only to be let down by realizing I’m just not that great of a writer… but if I write another novel, that will be the one!!!

Writing short stories on Steemit is much better. I can get the idea for the story out of my head, type it up all pretty, and then release it to my followers, who wait unaware of what madness may come from slightly disturbed mind. Some of my stories are quite disturbed, but those are my favorites!!!!

Constrained Writing Contest #17- Misuse of Knowledge

Not all my stories are filled with death and disfigurement. In fact, I have written some pretty sweet children’s stories, this one being my favorite… "Marvelous Tales #17" The Mist of the Hidden Furlendwalk Green

My super cool friend @snook, even read it in a video!



Speaking of my super cool friend @snook, during this year she and I made the @simgirlandsnook page in which we used to post our super cool Sim Your Life show! I do miss this show! We had so much fun sitting around talking about the Sims game, life and the Steemit platform. We both learned how to use the OBS and how to spend hours uploading videos to You Tube.

Every one of our episodes began with technical difficulties, but we still had a blast!!!!





During one of these radio broadcasts, the idea of the Bad Karaoke came to mind and was born. We offered Steemians the chance to record themselves singing karaoke, even if it was bad. So many of our fellow Steemians crashed through their comfort zone each week to provide us with wonderful entries. We were all sad when it ended. Steemians need fun too!

This is how it all started…



I love you @snook!!!!!!!



A few months back I found @carrieallen and her husband @chrisroberts in #thealliance group and I began writing for their radio show on the SteemStar Network- SteemStar for your family!!!

I spent my Friday evenings laughing and having fun reading funny and entertaining skits in a group that is now called the Play House with @carrieallen. I never laughed so hard in my life! We all got busy writing more and more skits, and before long we had enough skits to go around.

Every week we get funnier. I think we are all leveling our comedy skills.

After a few months, @steemmonsters emerged and gave us even more fuel for our creative outlets. We now have a stack of Steem Monster skits written by @chrisroberts.

#steemmonsters has also reached out to the Steemit community for help creating the game. I was able to work with the lovely @littlescribe to create the back-story lure for the white splinter of the Splinterlands! This was a wonderful experience.

I have continued to write for @steemmonsters with short stories about the common cards, for the Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 15, hosted by @steemmonsters.

@littlescribe reads these stories on her super cool @steemmonstershow each Wednesday, which is today so be sure to join the @contestskings Discord to listen in and join the fun!

Steem Monster Show Presents: "The Fins" by @simgirl.



This post will be very long if I mentioned every person who helped, encouraged, and supported me this last year, so I will simply say, you know who you are, and I love you for it!

This community has been a great experience for me, and I am glad to be here after a year. I may be tired from swimming so far into the waters, but I tell anyone who has been here a year- It’s okay to float along.

I am excited to see what the next year on Steemit will have in store for me. Thank you to everyone for making this year a great Steemit year for me!

Thank you for being a friend!!!



wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Happy Birthday to you!!!

Thank you very much!!! Siked to still be here.

Happy First Year on Steemit Simgirl!

Instead of candles on a cake, each year I'll add another horn to this unicorn for you!😉

Thank you! I love it.

Isn't it amazing how much happens in one year on Steemit?!!!! So glad that you are part of the Freewriters. Another contest coming up in November :)

Thank you!! I'll have to see if I hit the 100 Freewrites yet. I will be writing more of them soon I hope. I can't wait to see the new contest!

You will love it :)

Hello @simgirl Happy birthday to you!
You can check @hoaithu 's blog to get upvote x2.5BID & Free

who would have thought a year here.... and all we found!!!

Your writing has become so wonderful to read and your stories make me happy each and every time.

Congratz on the one year and ALL YOU have become and done here!!

Awwa! This past year has been a blast. I don't think I could get all of this experience in any other job! I should be able to use this on a resume~~~!!! :D Thanks for everything you do for me and for everyone on the Steemit platform. It wouldn't be the same without you!

That's amazing sister 😉👍 HAPPY one year anniversary on steemit 🎉🎂🎊🎁👏
A year goes by so fast and look at all you have achieved 😊 your amazing!
I wish you another year of blessings and milestones ❤️🤗❤️ much love

Thank you! I am so glad I stayed when I had no clue what I was doing!

Congrats on this tremendous success. May you have many more. #KeepRocking :)

Ha ha Thanks!

Happy SteemDay! You impressed me considering it took me over a year to make my first post! 😎

Thank you!!! I like SteemDay!!! I hope you are posting more now.

Averaging .97 posts per week now. A marked improvement. 😎

Happy First birthday on Steemit! I celebrated mine sometime during the summer while I was taking a break from steemit in order to focus on other things including travel and family visits.

What a great post! I too enjoyed a bit of freewriting for a while. I need to get back into doing one now and again - maybe weekly.

Thanks! I have been taking a little break from posting lately, although I need to post more. Freewrites are a great motivation to post daily. As long as I am writing something, I consider it a win :)

I love your attitude! For me, my motivation to post more often is photography, but I really did enjoy freewriting when I had more time on Steemit.

Happy birth day to you on your steemit journey

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy Birfday

Thank you!!!!

Congratulations. This is interesting.

Thank you!

Woo grats on a full year of swimming in Steemit!

Thank you!!! The Alliance family has been a wonderful part of the journey!!! I hope I can get more involved soon.

How is work going anyway? I know your schedule has got you ghosting the blockchain so it's good to see you in the feed still😎🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

This was such a wonderful read! I love seeing how your own story has evolved. I had no idea some of these things, but I think everyone knows about the Sim show and the bad karaoke....what do you mean that has come to an end? I thought everyone was still doing that???

I also had no idea you wrote some of the skits for the playhouse! Hot dog. You are everywhere, enchanting us with your stories.

And yet you forget to add that your white splinter back story won, and that you have written several winning stories for the weekly Steem Monster lore, not the least of which was your sabre shark story which I read to day on the Steem Monster Show. Thanks for that, btw.

Anyway, you have done very well for yourself, and gotten extremely connected, and in such a short period of time, with soooo many cool people who just love your guts. And all while you've been so busy working and doing so many other things. Happy birthday @simmy! You are what this place is all about.

Awwa. Thank you!!!! You are so awesome! I was going to mention that we won, but I think I got sidetracked. I did a post about 6 months in that covered the beginning of my Steemit journey, so I didn't want to repeat everything. The post would be so long if I did. You can see by my footers the groups I support. :)

Yes, sadly the Bad Karaoke Contest is no longer running, but Steemians are welcome to record themselves singing and post it using the #badkaraoke tag. :) and we will upvote and resteem them using the @simgirlandsnook page... and probably our own.

I'm so glad you got to read the Shark story today! I will need to go listen to it!!! I hope it wasn't too hard to read. I'm sorry about the Fairyland game lol. It was the first game I played on FB and I have kept it going all these years. It is a nice peaceful game but also crazy if you get in to it. Let me know if you need any help. It can be confusing when you start. hagn!

Great. Now you got me hopping on crapbook so I can go check out a mindless crapbook game. And now I'm gunna be hooked. And I have you to blame, and it hasn't even happened yet.


Welcome to Steem @simgirl.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @simgirl!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3290 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points : Wallet Sneak Peek.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, simgirl.

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

Happy birth day to you on your steemit journey

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy birth day to you on your steemit journey

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy birth day to you on your steemit journey

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy birth day to you on your steemit journey

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy birth day to you on your steemit journey

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey simgirl, welcome to Steemit !

Are you an Instagramer ? If so, don't forget to link your Instagram account to your Steemit account at http://steemigram.com/. Then, all your Instagram posts including the hashtag #steemigram will be posted on your Steemit blog !

If you have any questions, please ask us here or on Discord

Congratulations @simgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 191 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Happy Steemit Birthday <3<3<3<3