You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of an Academic Postdoc

in #academia8 years ago (edited)

Hi. Your post brought up many memories :-) I have a Ph.D. In Theoretical Physics. I specialized in Quantum Chromodynamics and my mathematics areas of interest touched on differential geometry (fiber bundles in particular) and stochastic calculus. I have been a postdoc, and later I got a permanent academic job, but after a few years...I decided to quit! As you point out, being a scientist means being very curious about a wide range of subjects...and sometimes your curiosity (and life at large) moves you away from academia, which is what happened to me. After quitting my academic job, I have been an international consultant, a startupper, and a manager at CERN in Geneva. Maybe I'm just TOO curios. I am trying to settle down now..at the age of 53 :-) Take care.

Sort:  

I'm interested in how you managed to pursue an international consultation businesses and if you are still doing it.

Well...it's a long story! My wife and I both left our academic jobs and set up a consulting company which was part of a network of cost reduction consultants. We played the analytical, model-building guys while others were good at hand-shaking with CEOs, etc. At the end of the 90s it was quite fun to make models of e.g. 10 M$/year telecom expenditure for a company and then find ways to reduce costs through a mix of supplier negotiation, process re-engineering and infrastructure rationalisation... Eventually, I discovered that theoretical physicists were regarded as ideal candidates for highly paid strategy consulting jobs....and after quitting my academic job, I was crazy enough to turn down an offer from McKinsey :-) As I said, my professional life is a long, strange story. This is just a chunk of it. Feel free to contact me in private (is this possible on Steemit..?) if you'd like to hear more.

There are ways of sending messages via memo's when transferring funds. Should be able to encrypt the message, as well. Add the # symbol in front of the message. Let me do a test.

It hangs for me on the Steemit interface, but I can send via the cli_wallet. Let me verify this test and send you my email.

Can't really see the encrypted memo now via the Steemit interface. I'll submit a support ticket later tonight to git. I've got a whole list of them ...