Life as an addict and how I deal with it

in #addiction7 years ago

addictions.jpg

I have become a different person since I discovered Steemit and as someone with an addictive personality (which I learned about in rehab) I am very conscious that Steemit has become an addiction for me. Because I love it! And it makes me feel good :)

But is my addiction good for me?

What I learned in rehab was that I will always be an addict. There is no 'cure' for what I have.

So, I have two choices now. I can either follow the 12 step program, maintaining 100% abstinence from the substance or habit that represents my addiction... attending regular meetings to re-affirm my strength through the familiar group environment, listening and associating with the woes of others, helping them and evolving as a person through daily rituals, without which the whole thing comes tumbling down....

....Or I could just keep a check on myself.

Which is what I do!

I am aware of my issue, so I watch myself carefully.

And it turns out I am addicted to many things:

  • making money ....and now Steem!
  • having some kind of daily creative outlet
  • procrastinating when dealing with things that don't excite me
  • day-dreaming
  • behaving like a child
  • refusing to let someone else have the last word in an argument!

...the list is pretty long and really quite funny.

The reality of course is that we are ALL addicts, though some of us are better at recognising and managing the unhealthy ones. But the only question we need to ask ourselves is this:

Are my addictions good for me?

So, as I said, Steemit has become an addiction. An obsession. The first and last thing I do every day. It is constantly in my head. When I am having a pee, at night when I am lying in bed, whist driving through the rice fields... it is always there. STEEMIT.

How can I use this platform in a way that is not yet being used?

How can I better develop @steemshop and @steemholidays?

How can I help this platform grow?

How can I get the value of Steem to rise to $100?

What am I going to spend all that money on when this happens???

...You see the problem. I have started to neglect other parts of my life which need attention. The first and foremost being my family.

I should be thinking about them when I am having a pee! Not my next Steemit post!

family.jpg
This is us one year ago, enjoying the first rays of sunrise on the Gili Islands, doing what we came here to do... traveling!

So, I have decided that today my family and I will be packing up our bags and driving to the north of Bali to a beautiful place called Amed. We went last year and I experienced the best snorkelling I have found here on Bali. Perhaps this time I will do a diving course :)

I don't know how long we are going to stay. But I do know that I will not be using Steemit.

I will be enjoying every moment, 100% in the moment... with my beautiful family.

Though I will of course be documenting it all for later Steemit posts! haha :)

The two pictures in this post are from Amed, taken last year. We will stay in this bay. And it will be goooooooood.

222.jpg

My intention is also to attend to some recently under-fed addictions like making motion control time-lapse & drone films!

Looking forward to sharing them with you after this much needed time off.

Moderation is the key to consistent health & happiness.

All the best my friends...

Over and out for now :)

Latest version - needs tweaking.jpg

Sort:  

Great post ! I am also addicted to Steemit ! I used to be addicted to cigarettes for over 30 years , but I finally manage to kick that habit 5 years ago ! Yippee ! And I also like to gamble once in a while ! I know I have addictive personality !! LOL ! But right now as i have been laid off for over 2 months , my addiction to Steemit is helping me pay off some bills and make some long awaited purchases ! It even paid my rent last month ! So cheers to Steemit , it has changed my life for the better ! THANKS STEEMIT !! 💙💙💙💙👍

Let us be addicts together and smile all the way :)

Thanks for the message Karen.

And as you say...

THANK YOU STEEMIT!

your welcome !😊👍✌

I thought this was a post about REAL addiction. The real life struggles, the constant fight, the internal battles that make up any kind of detrimental addiction. I dont mean to be an ass when I say i was slightly disgusted to read about your "addictions" to steemit, making money, and living up to a set standard lifestyle. i think just about anything can become detrimentally addictive, that most people dont really consider addictions, (tv, food, social media), but some things are much worse. That said, you did write a good little post, and it sure was an attention grabber. it elicited a feeling of accomplishment next to that bit of disdain, also evoked by your post. A sort of revived feeling. Because of my battle with chemical dependency addiction is something i've been winning for two years now, and your attitude, of being worried about what you saw as addictions, simply inspirational! #goals!

I sincerely congratulate you on your 2 years. I managed 18 months after 4 months in rehab. And you can rest assured that the addictions I have now are much less bad for me than the ones I used to have. Though of course, they are still there whispering in my ear from time to time. But now I understand why the whispering happens... and that is what I must address.

I appreciate your honesty and thanks also for going easy on me for not addressing the many pertinent questions surrounding the wording of my title image. I think this will be for another post. It is a big topic.

and as well to you, I think steemit is a great place for people to network on such things. If you do post something new ill be here to read it.

I too have an addictive personality. I love your wording here, and the beautiful pics! I hope you all have a wonderful time with whatever you are doing now! Take care my friend! Keep steeming Im looking forward to your new posts!

Many thanks for the comment & sorry for the slow response. Was on a steem funded holiday :)

Ultimately we are all addicts! The only question is to what?

Steem on brother :)

Oh very true. It can be coffee, shopping, etc.

I think it is safe to say that I am a Steemit addict as well :)
Enjoy your vacation!

But of course my friend. Fully safe to say :)

We will enjoy our time off for sure... many thanks!

There could be worse thing to be addictive to than Steemit lol
Ive never understood really about what it must be like to have an addictive personality. I have always been able to stop a habit almost instantly.
I used to drink a lot until my doctor told me that I was actually allergic t alcohol and this explained why I got so angry when I drank. He told me to stop as best I could From that day on I never drank a again. My doctor was amazed. Ive never had any trouble at all in changing my habits so I just cant relate to your woes there but I can sympathize for sure.

Thankfully yes, plenty of worse addictions than steemit :)

Sorry for slow response to this honest message, have been on holiday spending my steem!

Bali is so beautiful! I look forward to your posts!

It certainly is beautiful here. Many thanks for the comment and sorry for the slow response. Have been on holiday for a week. Steem on my friend!

@samstonehill you keepwriting awesome contents ... nice shots

Many thanks my friend. I will do my best to keep writing awesome content!

what a nice place to live !! !! I jelaus:) I am addicted to steemit too. i spend hours in fb to play games but now i stoped and spend my time to Steemit!

It's a good addiction to have I think! Yes, Bali really is a lovely place. That's why we have been here for 1.5 years! We must move on soon though... the world is big :)

Ιt is blessing if you have no problem with the job or if you can work from which part of the word you want, to move to a new place !! I wish you the best!!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks for letting know :)