Phoenix Arizona's Mystery Castle

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

When I first moved to Phoenix Arizona I hiked 2,337 ft up South Mountain, it was the longest hike I had done at the time. On the way down our group spotted an interesting shanty type building. We were young individuals and very intrigued. As we got closer we realized it wasn't an abandoned building left to turn to dust in the Arizona desert. It was getting late and at the time the building was closed. It was the end of summer, and the Mystery Castle was set to open its doors in October. So there was a lot left to my imagination of this interesting place. I couldn't even find it online at the time! Now I visit every year, I am free to wander and give myself a tour.


A beautiful piece of history.

The Mystery Castle reminds me of an earth ship, It is built to cool itself in summer and stay warm in the winter. There are a lot of secrets you can only know by visiting the castle. There are about thirteen rooms, seven bathrooms and a wishing well that ends in a underground bar!

The castle is decorated with antiques and cat painted rocks. The owner of the castle passed away during the first year that I found it. She was very sweet, she gave tours and absolutely loved cats! She left the castle to the people that helped her in her last days. She passed away in the castle and had no children. You can see the room she stayed in and her cat still roams the premises.

Some of her decor.

I found her decorating to be very tasteful. Her name was Mary Lou and she was an only child from Washington. She inherited the castle from her father.

Her father Boyce Luther Gulley built the castle by hand with the Native Americans that also inhabited the surrounding land. Boyce was from WA, he left his wife and young daughter after finding out he had TB in the early 1930s. He went to Phoenix Arizona and started this wonderful castle in hopes to pass it on to his daughter. He did exactly that. The sad thing is, is that Mary Lou had no idea her father was alive and she had no knowledge of the castle until his death. When you visit there is a room that leads to the underground bar. In this room there is a secret door that holds a chest, it is said that Boyce left his will in this chest to Mary.

This is the room that holds Boyce's will to Mary.

This is the top floor of the castle, there are three stories.

If you're looking to escape the city without traveling too far this is the place. The entire vibe is amazing and a breath of fresh air.

They say that Boyce and the Native Americans used goats milk and sand (among other things) to make the floor.

A window made to view the city of Phoenix

This is my favorite photograph out of all the times and the pictures I have taken of the Mystery castle. Thank you for reading and I hope one day you will get to experience this amazing castle. If you guys have any questions or would like me to take a trip to take more specific pictures I am totally open to it! Thank you again, and happy adventures!

<3

Sort:  

This is the post I was excited about! Goats milk and sand to make the floor? That's so innovative... I can't imagine that working at all.

Love the photos, love the history... if this is the level of posts you're producing already on Steem you're going to go very, very far.

Oh man and there is so much more! I need to start drafting my posts lol I think I am going to do a Mystery Castle 2. It has an awesome kitchen, fire places and all kinds of hidden secrets.

That's exciting... we're actually going to be in Phoenix in Feb... so we might have to add this into our itinerary. I don't mean to advertise my own stuff on your page, I realise it's super not cool, but I was wondering if you had any opinions on how we should tackle the Grand Canyon? (This post). Thanks!

Wow, I lived in Phoenix for 4 years, and spent 1 year living near South Mountain (by Arizona Grand Resort). I never heard of the castle and I hiked the trails all of the time. Of course, it is the biggest city park in the US so that could explain why! It would be a great musuaem someday.

Its definitely a hidden gem, when you're in the area try to visit!

Would love to just be in Arizona right now. It's -12 degrees in Minnesota!

Oh my I don't know if you're there for the holiday but definitely eat some White Castle for me!! Stay warm!

Holy smokes, now this is quality! <3

why thank you <3

Such a great post, thank you. How interesting. I love that window with Phoenix in view.

There is so much more wonder to this place, Mystery Castle pt 2

& thank you