You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian winter welcomes 2018!

in #animalphotography6 years ago

Cool! I will follow yah and check out your NC travel posts!
Canada is huge, I have never been to the east side, other than to use their airport to go to Europe lol!
I would also like to check it out but it costs so much money to fly across our country. It is cheaper to fly to the USA! Sometimes even Europe or Mexico its crazy Canadian flight prices.

Sort:  

Thanks, I followed you as well! I did not know it cost so much in Canada to fly in country. However, I have a friend from Canada. Her husband is from here. They used to live in Canada, but they said the cost of living and housing prices were so high that they couldn't have the quality of life they could have down here in NC. They could never afford to live on their own in Canada, and they wanted more, so they moved down here and chose to raise their kids here.

Ya it is different, like to fly somewhere close its between $250-$400 but to go across country you would be looking at $600-$900 depending on time of year and where you want to go. I know I was in Dallas and flew to Boston for around $100 and that was a last minute flight or from Washington state to Vegas for $50. So way cheaper to fly in USA than Canada I'd say.
As far as cost of living we have a different minimum wage then you guys do and yes cost of living is more for a lot of things. Our health care is virtually free so that is good if you are ever injured or ill but food and goods are more expensive. Houses are way more expensive lol! When I was in Texas there were big beautiful brick houses for $250,000-$350,000 where in Canada thouse same houses would be $600,000 to $800,000 which is crazy!
I guess it depends where you want to live, in the city or in the country because in Canada the country is certainly cheaper.
I would like to live in the southern USA for a while, I think it would be fun. It is cool to see how different the culture is from north to south and east to west in USA. I am sure it is similar in my own country I just haven't explored it as much as I have yours! Funny hey!
So were your friends happy with their decision to move to America?

That is so odd that you have explored the US more than Canada. I understand why now that you explain it to me. I'm shocked you found flights that cheap. I can never find flights that cheap lol. Probably why I do not travel out so far... because I'm a cheapskate.

I think they do like it. For the first time since they have been together, they have their own place. They rent, but still that is better than living with family members just to be able to afford housing. Mortgages are cheaper than rent here, but a lot of people don't have good credit to get a home. My husband saved money when he was in the military and just bought a used mobile home to live in while he was in college. We still stay there because once again I'm cheap and there is no rent or mortgage, lol.

You are right, definitely big cultural differences across USA. I love to travel too because I love to explore different cultures. We are thinking about going to Las Vegas and Arizona in the spring.