Today's story will be a bit different than usual.
When I scroll through my photo albums on my computer I found an interesting set of photos I'd took the first spring after I came to Alberta. There is nothing special about them, but for me was quite an experience.

When I was waiting for the right moment to catch it in the middle of the road my finger couldn't wait and that's why the photo is a little blurred.

At first, it was indecisive, but I was lucky when decided to cross the road.

It was aware of the barbwire in the ditch, but the pressure was too high and it really wants to escape.

It's difficult to imagine that animal the size of a cow can jump over the fence. Surprisingly: easy

It was running fast, back to safety.

Checked once more over shoulder

And then: big mistake
150 m and no wind
A real hunter would never miss that kind of opportunity.
Your thoughts?
I've seen one in my life and I know it's quite an experience. I was very close to the one I saw.
As long as your car is close by, you'll be fine. Thanks for a comment.
Not too close though. A friend hit one in his rental car years ago in Canada, it made an awful mess. It wrote off 3 cars all in the same incident.
It was meant more like you can hide in your car not to hit the moose. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
I known, they certainly are big beasts. Not sure I'd feel safe even in the car!
Great to see your collection of wildlife photos, caught the moose jumping the wire. Pretty cool. @oldtimer.
I was so excited. I spot the moose 2 km from my place. I went back and grab a camera. Driving back and find it. Then racing on another road and prepare an ambush. I was lucky.
Keep churning out the material, when you have time. I see a lot of people are enjoying your pics, including me.
That's pretty sweet that you were able to AMBUSH the moose and get those snaps.
This truly is an amazing and magnificent animal!
And i for sure would not like to be in it's way.
Sadly we can't see one of those in Slovenia.
Be thankful you don't have them. If you hit this sucker with your tiny cars you'll be done in a second.
Dobrodošel na steemitu.
Yeah i would definitely not like that to happen :D
Hvala!! Sem že mislil, da sem edini. Še dodatna velika hvala za upvote in resteem mojega posta!
Nisi edini :)
Kot pandorina skrinjica! :D ODLIČNO!
Pozdravljen v Dubaj iz "dubajsko" vroče Ljubljane! :)
penticton,k4r1nn, ervin-lemark,cyclamen,feri1,florjansworld,klemenskubic,kid4life,worldfinances.
We had our first run in with a moose a couple months ago now when we took a road trip to Alaska! It happened to be a mama moose and was protecting it's twins from my Labrador. This is what happened:
Poor thing!
Your dog was lucky that day, believe me. Thanks for stopping by.
That's what the vet said. Broken leg instead of punctured lung or crushed in head... i'll take the leg!
In Sweden we also have Elks or moose? In Swedish we call them älg, so the right translation should probably be elk. I think this guys was welcoming you to Alberta!
Ha, ha; good one.
I have never seen a moose in real life, but one of my Minnesota friends becomes quite adamant when describing the size of this animal.
I was quite surprised to see this one easily hop the barbwire. That must have been quite the site for your first spring in Alberta!
It was, believe me. A wide and open country, not much forest here on prairies. All sorts of animals and nowhere to hide.
Sounds like the animals don't have much of a chance.
Just opposite. They can see you from the distance and can run faster. And here is an abundance of fields with crops, so even farmers don't care too much. Animals feel safe here, and they know when the hunting season begins.
Food, and shelter, they make out well then.
Great story, when I was driving in western Canada, we saw a ton of moose and elks but none were being hunted from my experience. Interestingly enough, some of them did have a collar with a tag # which means the government or some institution are tracking wildfire around the BC/Alberta area
I think that you can hunt them. But probably there is a hunting season. I'm not sure.
Just looked it up, it's mid september
Everything about the photos are special. Your apt descriptions as well. I real hunter would not shoot now. It would almost be dishonest. My husband went on a hunting trip the past weekend and came home with a huge eland cow. He had to track it for miles before finally shooting it. That is honest hunting, I believe.
I'm not a hunter. Your explanation sounds reasonable. Thanks.
I just checked on google. That eland cow is a big sucker, too.
Yes, indeed! Biltong (dried meat, something akin to your jerky) and meat for months to come!
My thoughts: humans are not biologically carnivores or omnivores! You have been trained to think you are through cult(ure). Please do not harm these innocent beautiful creatures!
we cant have good things like that where I live, People see a deer and try to hit it.
Nice pictures, I honestly don't know what I would do or say.
Moose is very dangerous to hit with a car. It has long legs and you can get antlers or whole moose right through the windshield. And they can weight 400 or 500 kilograms.
What godforsaken place do you live that people are ramming deer with their cars? That's plain crazy.
amaizing and fantastic photos caprure u sir ur work is great for these photos
@old timer sir i delted my comnets which i post u yesterday from my other account which now closed i think u dont like that ..there for i deleted them...good wishes u @oldtimer sir in u whole life for always
I loke your all Photos. Amazing animal.
A real hunter would never miss that kind of opportunity.
Definitely ;) if you are a hunter hehe
Omg it's been my dream to see those!!! Can't they kill you? 😳😳😳
Probably. I was sitting in the car. It's safer.
Oh ok ok 🙈😏
Nice photos! These are some amazing animals. Thanks for sharing!
Such an impressive and majestic creature. I'm sure it was quite the adrenaline rush to be so close! 🙈
Oh, it was. I saw it for the first time in my life.
Your work is always appreciated
good work @oldtimer sir u wait for this best photos and all photos are really beautifull and bes shot from u best tim like ur all photos..
Good content, I follow you, follow me I know you like my content, My subjects are personal development and finance
Join up !! Your opinion also counts!
This post received a 3.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @dandesign86! For more information, click here!
Nice picture
Nice photo series and a good story. :-)
They are too nice to shoot. For sure a hunter ..... will do it.
I love wildlife! So majestic
It's really amazing photos! They are fantastic :D
I have a lot of them at home here :)