It is known that every man that is capable should grow a full beard at least once ...

in #appics5 years ago

... in their lifetime. It’s a great lesson in patience and willpower, so do the scriptures say. For 3 months you need to let it go before doing any trimming. It’s a lot tougher then it sounds. I have caved twice before in the past but this time I’m going stronger then ever. About 7 weeks to go!

797e535831763eda86baf70f3817fec1

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

Looks nice. I wish I could grow a full beard. I guess I lost at the facial hair genetic lottery lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

It happens man! Damn genetics!

I don't think I can do it. When the hair starts curling down into my mouth I have to cut it. It just drives me nuts. The other issue is getting past that point where everything is itchy! Looking good though!

The itchy phase is over (I think). But the curly hairs in mouth is about to begin, lol.

For 3 months you need to let it go before doing any trimming.

Three months! A few years ago I grew a moustache for Movember (https://us.movember.com) and it drove me nuts. The hair kept getting in my mouth when I ate. No way I could wait three months to trim.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, I'm starting to reach that point now.

I've worn a beard since I was 16 years old but the longest I've been able to let it grow before trimming it is a month. I have so much gray in mine I'd probably look a decade older but maybe I'll give it a shot!

A grey beard can look cool man!

Maybe I'll give it a shot before the heat of summer kicks in!

It is healthy and gives your skin a break from shaving. Not everyone can do it though and some just have bum fluff. Some don't have the confidence to let it just go and you can look scruffy for a few weeks. No one will say anything though as you are not a small chap and a beard suits you.

Now I no longer have any clients it's a little easier to look scruffy.

I know what you mean. I shave when I am seeing clients and that is it. I hate shaving and would love to just be a mountain man in winter. Summer time it is to hot and itchy.

My vote let if grow, I keep mine year round and I live in Arizona where it is well over 110 in the summer. Natural sunscreen BTW.

Were you aware that are actually health benefits to having a beard?

I highlighted a few in my DTube video https://steemit.com/dtube/@petrogy/xj5hfjpd

Just had a listen on Dtube. I had no idea it was healthy. Thanks for that! I couldn't upvote that post anymore because it was to old so I did your latest one instead.

Thank for the up vote.

There is also some speculation online, have not found any solid evidence about hair and the role it plays in intuition and the nervous system.

Supposedly, Hair, like skin, is an extension of the nervous system, it may be correctly seen as exteriorized nerves, a type of highly evolved ‘feelers’ or ‘antennae’ that transmit vast amounts of important information to the brainstem, the limbic system, and the neocortex.

Again supposedly during Vietnam some testing was done. So the testing institute recruited more Native American trackers, let them keep their long hair, and tested them in multiple areas. Then they would pair two men together who had received the same scores on all the tests. They would let one man in the pair keep his hair long, and gave the other man a military haircut. Then the two men retook the tests.

Time after time the man with long hair kept making high scores. Time after time, the man with the short hair failed the tests in which he had previously scored high scores.

Here is a standardized test:

The recruit is sleeping out in the woods. An armed ‘enemy’ approaches the sleeping man. The long haired man is awakened out of his sleep by a strong sense of danger and gets away long before the enemy is close, long before any sounds from the approaching enemy are audible.

In another version of this test, the long haired man senses an approach and somehow intuits that the enemy will perform a physical attack. He follows his ‘sixth sense‘ and stays still, pretending to be sleeping, but quickly grabs the attacker and ‘kills’ him as the attacker reaches down to strangle him.

This same man, after having passed these and other tests, then received a military haircut and consistently failed these tests and many other tests that he had previously passed.

So, the document recommended that all Native American trackers be exempt from military haircuts. In fact, it required that trackers keep their hair long.

I usually let it grow for a year, then off for a year ...

With the cold winter we are having, I regret not growing it out last fall. It really does help to insulate your face from the cold.

I can imagine. It was bloody cold where you live this year. (maybe still is?).

Agreed. This morning was -18° with an expected high of -4°.

It's funny when we look forward to -4°

I Would Look like Santa Claus if I grew a Full Beard at my age...............

I fail to see the problem!

Its almost a year until Christmas, LOL

siii, ademas es un gancho para la chicas ;)

Coming along nicely BRO!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @exyle!

You just got a 18.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Nice! I've kept mine for 5months now and its not as long as yours.. go man!!

That's need a lot of patience hahah

PressForTruth

I was trying to figure out who this picture reminded me of. It's Dan Dicks from @pressfortruth 's signature pose.

It’s true. I am so happy to have a full beard anytime I’d like. I recently just took off several inches myself. My poor brother cannot even hardly grow chin hair. I really don’t even want to call it luck either.