Progress continues! 57.5kg overhead press 5x5🏋️ and 112.5kg squats 5x5🦵💪. #ge ...

in #appics4 years ago

... tinshapechallenge.

Completed my fourth workout-day in a row by setting a new PR for my overhead press 5x5 training sets. Having started the #getinshspechallenge at 50kg, it felt great to now be able to do 57.5kg (127lbs)😎.

Before that, I also increased my squats from 110kg to 112.5kg (250lbs). As mentioned in earlier posts for the challenge, I've focused less on back squats in favour of front squats in preparation for the clean and jerk. But having improved at several complementary exercises, it felt right to give an increase a go💪.

With Wednesday being a leg-day by default, I also did a series of 10x3 split squats, 10x3 hip thrusts and this one funny glute exercise where you push your thighs out to the sides which looks really funny🙈.

In any case, it felt amazing to make further progress that is relevant to the challenge!

videos/f3ab36543a6df38298b0be858af89034-00001.png

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

Great job! Good training session. Do you find the 5x5 fun? I find it kind of boring after a while, though i've been training for more than 15 years now :-)

I only perform 5x5 for the main compound lifts: bench press, overhead press, deadlift, and squats. For those, I find the 5x5 to be pretty nice, although it can be quite time-consuming.

Good job !

Awesome! You’re going to be so buff! I know it sounds wimpy, and I’m not sure if you use that word in your country, but it means “muscular.” Americans also love to use the word “ripped”. Do you guys use that one?

Haha thanks!
To my understanding buff = big and strong. Ripped = good amounts of musscle + low body fat. So they mean different thing, but both are generally positive :).

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment