Artist Study 1.... Chapter 4

in #art14 days ago
Happy Sunday !
We've had a lot of rain over the last week. It is not supposed to rain today, but it looks like it might still be cloudy all day. Boooooo ! .....for that ! I think it will probably still be a good day. I'm claiming that anyway, even though I have a solar powered body.
Here I am again with another practice piece inspired by the art of Nancy.Bell.Scott. I believe it will be the last direct study of a specific piece of hers (a photo of hers at the bottom)...but you really can't trust me exactly when I say this, because I am making this journey up as I go along and sometimes the agenda changes. Ok, I admit, there is really barely any agenda. 😄
I believe out of the 4, this is my favorite. I'm not sure why. Do I HAVE to know why??

20240518_123213.jpg

I started by painting the edges of the canvas white and gluing on an old book page for the bottom layer.

20240514_223245.jpg

Then I painted over the edges and bottom of the book page to add another piece of book page that I had previously torn and painted.

20240514_225619.jpg

Once the second piece of book page was added, I added smudgings of black around the background white and edges of the aqua paper.

20240514_231758.jpg

White strip of paper added and red orbs painted on.

20240514_232812.jpg

Then I began to put in other details in the center and around the outer edges.

20240514_235558.jpg

After adding a little paint in the center part, that's where I was at bedtime the night I first started this. I swished the leftover wet paint onto a coloring book page to start another "leftover" paper that will one day be a piece of collage paper later after I use it some more for more left over paint.

20240515_000441.jpg

Some of my pieces are completed in one long evening, but this one took me parts of 3 evenings. I can't devote as much time to it on evenings where I need to work the next day. At the end of the second evening, I was at this point and here it was, waiting for me the next morning.

20240517_074524.jpg

So that night I worked on it again ! I have been using paint and doodle pens for the black line details, but I'm pretty sure that the artist is using the India ink with some unknown to me tool.

20240517_215854.jpg

I had previously bought some of these empty bottles with very tiny metal tips to use one day for something. I thought this might be it and I filled it with some black ink to try to use instead of my pins. The tip is really tiny.

20240517_233908.jpg

Unfortunately as soon as I turned it upside down to test it on my palette plate, the ink just flowed right out without me pressing the bottle at all. Although it would still be usable for some abstract marks, you would have to work really fast to keep it from pooling in spots and it was too uncontrollable for what I needed so I found that this particular bottle would not work.
It did make for a neat artsy looking plate though.

20240517_233357.jpg

So I went back to my pens and carried on. This is how it ended. I thought it turned out pretty fun.

20240517_221349.jpg

Here it is at a small distance.

20240518_123342.jpg

..... and here is her piece that I was using for the study.

hers.jpg

Now a black and white version, just for the fun of it.

b and w.jpg

Like happens most Sundays, I will be slowly getting ready to go for a visit with Mom. I didn't cook anything this week, so I will be stopping somewhere on the way to pick up some lunch for us to share. I don't know what that will be at this moment, but I'll be thinking on it while I get ready.
I hope you will have a wonderful day or evening, whatever time of day it is where you are.
Love you !
Jacey
Sort:  

Hi Jacey, I just love mixed media art, you did a very good job with this study, it turned out beautifully!
I need to start some form of craft again, am having a little more time...at times...
Or go back to crafting in the kitchen.
Have a wonderful Sunday dear Jacey <3

Thank you !

I had a long, almost dry spell in my art and I have no good excuse. I guess my head just wasn't in the right place for it, but I have finally started trying to learn new art things again and I am really loving having it to look forward too on nearly a daily basis. I got so stuck on not knowing what I needed to do or what I should be doing, till I just did nothing ! That sounds ridiculous I know, but it's still the truth I know doing anything is better than doing nothing.

I have seen your kitchen crafting over time and you certainly have a gift with that, but trying something new too, has a great way of giving something happy to look forward too.

Whatever you choose to do, I'm sure it will turn out great.

Hi Jacey,
We all have our dry spells in not doing what we would normally enjoy, a kind of hibernation. But we always go back!
I've been so wrapped up in just getting a blog out now and then in between dealing with legal stuff that goes with losing a partner, and a new kind of life, so my engagement has been very low here on Hive. I sat looking at your other blogs, your artwork is just gorgeous, I would love to try my hand at this!

I can only try to imagine all the things that must be taken care of when losing a partner. You would think we as the human race would have figured out long ago, how to make such things a bit simpler.

I think I say this at least once in every post, but this mixed media / collage journey has been so much fun. I'm a little surprised and amazed and how much I enjoy playing in it. I don't know if it is just me or just the right time or whatever, but every day, I can't wait till I can play in it some more. I have enjoyed trying out new papers to see how they react and which ones are easier to paint or glue down and the such. There are so many styles out there to explore, something for nearly every taste or style.

No reason not to try it when you start having a little time.

Oh, what a wonderful creation, probably the best I've seen in that changer. You don't mind trying. I express a lot when I paint.

Thank you !

I've been trying a lot of new things in the past few months and it has been a lot of fun. I am definitely learning new things.

Thanks for stopping over.

It is pretty cool. Like the witches of Eastwick!!

I'm solar powered too, that's why I get excited at the slightest hint of sun😀

I tried to look at it as if it were not people and then again if it were. In hers, the second from the right almost looked like it had hands in a position as if someone were going to swing a golf club, but in mine, I thought it kind of looked like if it was a person, it was holding itself as if it needed the nearest bathroom ! 😂 Once that crossed my mind, I keep trying not to see that.

Haha, now you say it I can see that! I thought it looked like a group being concerned for someone and standing over them with clasped hands!

Uh oh... now I'll have to go back and take a RE-look ! ha ha ....

OK.... I looked and.... if that is the friend at the bottom, I think they're a goner as it appears they are just a squished blob now. RIP squished up friend. ✝️

image.png

Thanks 💜 !