My New Small Art Buy....

in #artlast year (edited)

I never know what causes me to see a piece of art and be highly attracted to it immediately, but this piece of art was one of those that did. I saw it first on a site called DPW (Daily Paint Works) and it was from an artist I was not familiar with. Something about the shape of the lower bare tree branches and the light of the very bright full moon falling across the wildflowers on the hill and branches.

It immediately had two big faults in my mind though. It is small 5X7 and the majority of the painting is dark colors. Why would this matter you say? I'll tell you why. Small paintings have to be put in a place where you see them closely frequently in order to enjoy them. From any amount of distance away from them, your eye loses all of the wonderful detail that make it such a great painting to begin with. Add to that the darkness of most of the painting and you have to realize that if the colors are dark on the computer monitor, then when you take the actual piece of art into your real world, it is even darker than that, because there is no longer any backlighting. This means that wherever you display it in your home, you have to make sure it has very good lighting in order to see the details, whether the painting is small or even a bit larger.

I already knew all this and on a normal basis it would make me mentally acknowledge that I liked a particular painting and then proceed to pass it by.

So... with all that in mind, something in me didn't let me pass this one by.

johnpeercropped.jpg

Since I have had this one, I put it in a little frame I already had here and I display it on a little stand that was made to hold your cell phone. This actually works great for small art, better than most small easels in my opinion. When I am at my work desk, I have it behind my phone since I can telescope it up a few inches and it is at a place that catches the light from my desk lamp. After work, I move it to a table beside my personal computer where another lamp gives it the light it needs so that I can see the happy details as I play at my desk.

There is so much to see in this small painting. I don't even know how people paint so small ha ha.. no really, that would become tedious to me and yet a lot of folks can do it. Like I said before, I loved the tree itself, the bottom 2/3rds more than the top. There is water in the background, a lake or river and you can see small lights from the houses across the river. There is a red house or barn or boathouse in the bottom left and a white fence behind the tree. Besides the tree though, I love the way it makes it look like there are so many wildflowers scattered through the grass, although in the bottom right corner I suppose that could be a blooming bush. You do get to use your imagination a little. Last, but certainly not least, the moon ! I have a great affection for the moon. I don't know why. We like what we like and we don't like what we don't like and who can explain all that? I can't ! The artist really crammed a lot in this small space and I thought he did it very well for the overall look. It is true that when the moon is full and the sky is clear, sometimes you can see things outside as if it is not truly quite night time

20230429_111325 (1).jpg

Oh ! ...and this artist goes by "Bumo", Douglas "Bumo" Johnpeer out of California. What little I could find indicated that he is a self taught artist who when young, saw Bob Ross on TV and when his grandmother realized he was interested, gave him a few small paints and canvasses and brushes and he began to teach himself to paint. Even knowing that was his first influence, he has certainly honed his talent further as to me, although you may see bits and pieces of the Ross influence, most of Bumo's paintings wouldn't make you think of Bob Ross, or they don't me. I had seen some of his paintings before I read that and before I read it, I didn't relate the style at all. You may be able to see a little of it in some trees in other paintings, but not in most of them. Also, in most of his paintings I have seen, the majority of them are at night with bright moons. Although I like some of the others too, most are great on the computer and would be great as a photo if displayed in a photo light box maybe, but are dark enough that in the real, they will still need to be displayed with great lighting in order to be enjoyed.

As I like to do, here it is in B & W. I would have liked for the filter to show more detail on the strokes, but none of my filter options seemed to do that for this painting.

b and w.jpg

Of course, all that I've had to say is totally just in my humble opinion. I am only a valid art critic to myself.

It's Saturday. It is sunny now, but his morning it was gray and cloudy and my body was resisting getting going, so I ate breakfast and took some advil. I was going to watch TV till it kicked in good and proper, but then decided to post instead while waiting.

I hope you are having a good day or night or whatever it is where you are now.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

It is indeed a very nice one. Such detail for the size. Must need quite the patient painter!

Patience I don't have for sure !

If I ever use canvas or anything this small, I am usually using it to test some kind of affect I want to add to a bigger painting. For some reason, many artists are making small paintings, some even a lot smaller than this. I could see it if you are using them like trading cards with other artists or some such as that. Some seem to sell well, but I'd be curious what buyers are doing with such small paintings display-wise, that lets them get any visual benefit out of them at all.

Like I said, they all look great on the net with the light behind them, but some of them are like, 2 1/2 X 3 inches ! Too small... too small ! 😄

I have seen a lot of small ones as you say. I was at an asset fair recently and there were lots of tiny little framed ones. Sometimes the frames were quite deep and it must be hard to see in and get the detail when they are like that when they are hanging up. Madness!

I find the arc of the tree trunk and shadow very appealing.

The tree kind of looks like something you may have seen before, not in that setting, but the tree really attracted me.

I love the painting, but, to be honest, the texture reminded me of a cross stitch or some kind of needlework, or perhaps that is just me.

That is great, a self-taught artist. I am always intrigued by them!

The texture of the canvas is not really smooth, sometimes it looks more like linen and of course the different brands are different too. If the paint is thinner or sometimes it can depend on the lighting, you can see the texture of the canvas on the surface. I don't always love that either, depending on the painting. When I look at it with my real eyes and since it is not backlit in the real, I can't really see that.

Linen!! That is what I was trying to think of. Still, I like it !

There is something kind of awesome about the limbs all dark and pointing downwards. I mean, I know a tree is a tree, but he got nice moon light on them and the such. It did appeal to me. If only it were LARGE ! The bark starting from about halfway down and going to the bottom looks so real for an old tree. You would think if you touched it, it would feel like that fat bark you've touched on trees before.