Pathway To Joy.....

in #art2 years ago (edited)

Hello !

Today we are back in the paints. I haven't been painting as frequently as I use too and I really want to get back to it, but something is wrong with me..... I dunno what.... but it has to be if I'm not painting enough.

This past week Michael's had a huge sale on canvasses... the good ones! They were a third of what they normally sell for . They do this about twice a year normally. So I ordered a huge amount of them in many sizes and now I am really stocked up. If I don't start painting more, I have just wasted a LOT of money. LOL !

I haven't started on any of the fresh canvasses yet, but last night I did pull out a couple I have started on before that did not come out to my satisfaction, so like always, those get painted over and reused.

I admit this one has been 50 shades of a hot mess since I started it.

Final cropped close.jpg

A couple of weeks ago I had pulled this old one out for a new life ... ha.... and started in a totally different directly.

1 old.jpg

During that session, it ended up like this. Now in hindsight, I believe this should have been the final, but..... no.... my mind didn't think so at the time....

2 should have called it done.jpg

....so it started to go in this very wrong direction.

3 heading in the wrong directly.jpg

Which in the wee hours of the morning, stopped at this version... yuck. I knew this wasn't a final, but I was sleepy. It stayed like this a couple weeks till last night.

4 ended not to happy that night.jpg

...then this happent....

😆

...and I thought I was going to leave it. I took some photos (I always do along the way even when I know it is not complete)..... and I thought THERE !!....

....but no I just couldn't like it.

5 last night errrrk.jpg

I decided it needed to go backwards to a version more in the range of my third photo above when it should have been called "done". I started adding paint using only my fingers. Then I thought this was the final with the exception of adding another white flying thing in the upper left for balance.

6 almost done.jpg

but no !.... the flying thing went on and a couple of big yellow swishes on top of the red too. I was somehow compelled to go back to the yellow as dominant on the focal point.

This is how it ended. Although there could have been two above versions that might should have been the final, once you add more, going back on some parts might be possible, but getting anything back exact can never happen.

I almost, kinda, sorta think this is it !

final not cropped close.jpg

No matter how many directions a painting goes, it still brings me joy to get in there and splash some paint around, so if it goes wrong a few times, I just get to play more !

It's Saturday ! I worked a little OT this morning, wasted some time doing nothing much at all and then painted some. Now it's onto the next canvas that I have started a few times already, but that needs a total makeover.

Hope that you are all doing well and having a happy weekend.

Love you ! Mean it !

Jacey

Sort:  

Very cool! I really like how you take pics along the way. Would be easier if it was digital like on a computer so you could instantly reset to any saved iteration lol. But real life isnt so easy and is a bit more messy I suppose.

In the beginning I use to take them because it helped me take a different view of where I was on the painting, it was kind of like being able to take a step back to get a different view. I still use it for the same thing, but it is fun to look back and see all the changes that happen as I go along. I can't imagine why I would ever need it, but having proof of process could prove ownership as well if there was ever a need.

Real life can be quite messy too, that is for sure.

Thanks for stopping over !

Sometimes we just need to leave well enough alone, yes? Actually, I think you usually recover pretty well, from what I can see.

Whenever

Since I take photos along the way, even if I paint over something, I still have the "before" photos and a time or two a long time later, I come across some of them and I think "why didn't I think this was good ?"..... but alas, they are already gone.

It's funny sometimes.

It didnt post my entire comment!

That made me laugh !

Whenever !

Dear @jacey.boldart,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!