Study 1 Chapter 2.... Still Practicing....

in #art15 days ago
I'm back !
It's Friday, I just clocked out of work and moved over to my personal computer to check out my net world and make this post.
As I speak, the bottom just fell out, as as the old-timers like to say and it is raining like crazy. It has threatened to rain all day, but didn't and I was hoping it would hold off till I took a trash bag over to the bin, but no. It's ok though, I'll get it one day. I would say tomorrow, but I already knew it was possible that it would rain all day then too.
I told yesterday that I had decided to study some other artists mixed media work to try to focus on learning more styles one at a time. So far, I've looked at many artist's work and most on youtube on how they create their art, but did I choose one of those to start with??? .... no, of course not, I chose a different artist who so far, I have found nothing that shows or describes her process. I'm still stalking her stuff on the net though, so who knows, I might find something yet.
This is the second practice I've done on one of Nancy.Bell.Scott's art pieces(not for sale or use, just practice). I have a copy of hers in the last photo. I am only trying to capture the "spirit of" the work as I am not using the same things she does.

20240516_190303.jpg

After gluing down a book page, I colored it with some light and dark turquoise and blue. Then at the top, I used a stencil that I had that had a design that reminded me of the top of hers, although I am pretty sure she did hers totally freehand with inks and paints.

20240511_234817.jpg

I added a white strip of the edge of another paper.

20240511_235735.jpg

I then added the writing that is not writing 😄 and yellow square with some black outlines and the such.
On the bottom, I had some zero stencils that I used like she did, only mine are bigger and darker, but that's ok. On hers it appears she has some old business stamps that she used with ink or paint and I don't have any of those, so I just scraped and smeared some similar colors around instead. Now I NEED some old stampers. I do like the colors though.

20240516_190303.jpg

Below is her piece that I was using to mimick the essence of. I'm sure it didn't take her as long since she was doing it freehand and doing whatever she wanted, instead of the longer time I'm sure it took me, trying to do things that made mine look similar.....in escence.

hers.jpg

So there it is, the second study practice.
It's that time again, to go to the kitchen and scare up some vittles. I wasn't thinking on a nap, but if it rains all evening, it might happen. You know, when you are young, you think naps are a waste of time and when you are young, they very well might be. I never thought I'd be old enough to like one, but it seems I am. I in no way take one every day, but if I feel like it, it is fun to give into it. I usually end up staying up past my normal bedtime when I do though, so it is kind of just changing the timing around without really getting more sleep in a day than usual
I hope everyone has a fun weekend!
Love you !
Jacey
Sort:  

image.png

Thank you SO much ! 😊

Nice. It looks like you’re having fun. I like the way your orange splotches came out. They remind me a little of Keith Harrington’s figures, and a little of a graphic design style I’ve seen a lot of lately.

Oh yeah, I've seen his figures before, but I didn't know his name. I had to goog him and recognized the figures right away. Who knows? Whoever created that stencil design may have had him in mind at the time.

I really AM having fun, just like when I was a kid.