World Building - Designs for a Sci-fi story

in #art7 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemians,

I'd like to share with you my thoughts about a future comic project.
Thinking of the right story takes time. Building a world... even more.

That why I've been taking my time, crafting the world of my next series.

I'm currently working on Shades Of Men which is set in a modern world. It is a blast creating this but I'm always bound to realistic designs. World building is for me the next step in creativity. My next project is probably gonna be a Sci-fi/Fantasy story.

Project IN/SYS:

tumblr_nb3yun71nn1tgl0gzo6_1280.jpg

It's a story of Revolution.

It all takes place in a vertical world. A strange mix of organic and technology layered with different stages. It is filled with human-like creatures and various others.

People are all specialized in classes.
Everyone has their tasks. Workers from the bottom, Command at the top.

A few classes get to travel throughout the system.
The Control units (Cops) and the Com crew (Messengers).
There is no access to phones or internet for most people.
But a system of dispatch from command is accessible by these two last classes.

tumblr_nb3yun71nn1tgl0gzo1_1280.jpg

The disruptive element occurs with a strange earth quake leaving everyone floating, gravityless, for a short instant.
These kind of things had happened before but not as powerful.
A breach formed like a scratch in the sky, letting a flow of strangers in.

The "Hero" of our adventure called Sureev enters at this moment, learning about the habits of the system he is in. Tracked by the Control units, they never manage to stop him. He teaches workers about the hard life he lived and the differences he noticed. The freedom he experienced.

tumblr_nb3yun71nn1tgl0gzo5_1280.jpg

From that time on, Sureev will be climbing to the top, rallying people to his cause.
Aiming to face and ultimately crash the Command for freedom.

tumblr_nb3yun71nn1tgl0gzo3_1280.jpg

He will be face with Armored troops, Unexpected allies, and epic landscape along the way.

tumblr_nb3yun71nn1tgl0gzo4_1280.jpg

Crazy action scenes in the works (In this head of mine...)

tumblr_nb3yun71nn1tgl0gzo2_1280.jpg

Now what do you think of the story so far? Help me work on my world building by asking ANY question below!

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Congratulations @jrej!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 7 with 246 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 2 with $ 334,34

Hey that's amazing news! Thanks for letting me know. The extra exposure to a noobie like myself is definitely appreciated. Your posts are great to discover other dedicated steemians!

What you have shared sounds like a great start to a scifi series. I appreciate the rough sketches that give us a feel for this universe. What age range of readers are you targeting?

Hehe Thanks for the feedback. Writing about it makes me realize it follows most of the tropes of a Sci-fi plot in a dystopian future. Hope I can still remain original, bringing my own take on it. I did the sketches a while back. I'll have to revisit those now that my style has evolved. I aim at teenagers I suppose. With violence but not too graphic...

Great finally see some stuff like this on #Art. I'm a world builder myself and I'm also working on a webcomic.

I am not alone! Thanks for your comment. I had a lot at your profile. Great blogs. I look forward to see progress on your webcomic. What kind of universe are you into?

same here. I am working on a new definition of money (wether paper plastic or crypto is not related to what I designed)

Oh and also I have a new economic system prototype I really hope to see being used one day. So awesome that much time later I found that ethereum enabled me to do this beyond theory and activism.

The new model for money is a spinoff of a physics principal. There you go I just found the idea of my next article...my first day...must go to bed...zzzzz

Congratulations @jrej! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, this was a great treat to start my day. Your artwork is evocative and really reflects the story world you're building.

My question right now would be Where does Sureev come from? They seem to be badass and come from a hard background, but from where and how did they manage not to get snagged by the tracking units?

Basically, it's already got mystery enough right there for me. I'm following you and will keep up, as I'm a huge sci-fi/fantasy fan.

Thanks for the kind words. Your comment makes me want to develop this universe even more.
As I mentioned below Sureev comes from a place he calls "the outside". People he encounters are having a hard time grasping the concept as most of them never thought about something else than work. Some even found his stories captivating. "The outside" seems dry and apparently presents unstable gravity. Creatures still manage to survive this harsh environment. Sureev did.

Having such experience gives him an edge on the control units. He knows well how to hide, to dodge and to hit right on spot. He's still pretty young when the story starts. Probably a teenager but we'd follow him as he matures.

Nice looking!

Where does the hero come from, what is his motivation? How happy are the people with the structure?

Thanks for the questions.
Makes me explore the theme a little more.

Sureev comes from what he calls "The outside". He talks to the workers about desertic landscapes with gravity fluctuating. These lands are filled with thieves and beasts. Surieev claims that surviving there is not that hard once you get used to it and control your surroundings.

People from the structure don't really question their happiness until Sureev comes around. They do fear "The outside" but realise their lives could be so much more!

The hero's motives seem pure, making people aware of how life could be better.
It does turn obsessive and leads to a revolution and quest to destroy the Command.

you drawings and story are so interesting .. keep going

Oh that's very nice of you to say! I like the format of webcomics. It allows me to interact directly with you guys and work all by myself on a whole project. I actually started with short films but gathering all my friends was getting harder and harder...

If you decide to do films again you can post wherever there are actors, like the university, etc. They want the experience. But you are right, what you are doing seems fun.

That's a good idea. I'm sure tons of students in film are looking for original content. That's a nice thing to try out to but I like the fact that with drawing there are no limitations. (Except time... ;-) )

I love the dark drawings you made for your story. Great vibe.

Thanks a lot. A lot of it comes from these brush pens I used. I liked the rust color. Makes it a little more organic. I wonder if I'll use the same techniques in the final spreads...