How To- Decorate All Of Your Keys!

in #art7 years ago (edited)


I was at a key place, And I saw a bunch of colorful, cool looking keys. I kinda wanted to get a fancy one that was shiny and pretty. But I couldn't justify the cost of paying more than double. So that I could have a colorful key. So I decided to make my own "decorated" keys at home.
Here are my keys before decorating. One of them has an orange tint from when I did it years ago.

It's super easy, I'm just applying a thick coat of white nail polish

I try to apply only a thin coat of polish at the bottom because I don't want to have trouble unlocking doors, Or to cram "nail polish" into the lock.

Pink and green


I don't have a huge variety of colors to pick from so I'm using pink and green.

Adding Polka dots

Which is easy, you can even use masking tape for fancy stripes or use little nail stickers for the top of the key.

I just want to do these relatively quick, So I'm not going into too much detail with coloring them.

Swirls

For the green one.

I also put a coat of glitter polish over the pink and green so my keys will sparkle.

The Colors I used

The Clear Coat


If you don't want your key to now have a rough feel, you can add a couple layers of clear coat, To make them smooth. If you decide to use nail stickers I highly recommend doing this.
Again, I avoided the bottom of the key, so I don't scrape the nail polish off when I go to unlock the doors.

Let them dry!

You can always put them on something heavy hanging off of something to try. Otherwise, you'll have to work on one side at a time. But look at how cool my keys look! Overtime when the nail polish starts to chip and come off, you may have to repaint some of it. But for the most part it will stay for a while.

()U5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.pngU5dsNpZzTkSdUzcjVGTR3RdFY1SBMmJ_1680x8400.png
Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

Interesting idea.
So you put a few coats. Did you try to open a door with the keys.
Pease give us an update after a few days on how durable the decoration is.

Thank you.

I did :) I used both keys already and they work just as good as before :) thats why I recommend only applying a very thin coat to the bottom part of the key :)

That's an inexpensive way to personalize your keys. I only carry two keys, but I don't know how some people can tell all of theirs apart. This is a beautiful way to solve that problem.

Thanks :) It's true! When I was a janitor I had at least 20 different keys. And I painted those too, Which really helped me know what was what.

Nail polish is a good idea, I didn't think about that! And most people have some laying around anyway

Exactly :) So you don't have to run to the store for anything.

Right? Heheh :) Nail polish comes in handy! And you don't have to go to the store.

the key looks very special with a very sweet color. you are very credible, thanks for sharing @kaylinart 😀

Thank you hehe :)

You are welcome @kaylinart 😊

That's a creative way to decorate your keys. It does make for a fancy keychain ^.^

Right? And for not much money at all.

very creative idea and I see it very cute :D

Thank you :)

An interesting way of refurbishing old keys!

Aw I love he polka dots :) this is so cute ! Thankyou for sharing ! I definitely need to spice up my key chain for sure ;)

Thank you :) you could! You could even make them not pink if you wanted hahahah!!

That's bloody brilliant.

Thank you :)

In every success th3re is an key and that key is colorful :D

Thank you very beautiful information

OHHH love this DIY!

This is a really cute idea, I might try it with some sparkly nail polish I bought! I was just thinking the other day how I should color code my keys...

Wow. That is super cool. Colourful keys May just help people uplift their mood as they leave for work pr return home after work to an empty house. The method is super easy too. I May try (of course I will use some other colour than Pink. LoL).
Thanks for this innovative method Upvoted

I am missing our visits to my wildlife blogs. :(

Clear coat is very important... any design under the clear coat... any nail art would be great! Fantastic idea.

beautiful coloring art. thanks for sharing. if you are not busy visit my blog for a look around :)

To differentiate by the color is more easy. The keys will nevel be lost again and recheck to unlock again and again.

Great idea,those keys look a lot better now and different keys being different colours makes them a lot easier to identify,thanks for sharing.

hehe that's a creative idea indeed :D

The Idea & the themes are pretty cool and as it seems they do even look cool
nice work by the way :)

Haha such a fancy idea!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

OK bring me back my nail polish before you paint my keychains too.

This is such a great idea. Especially since all my keys look the same and I have to try each one before finding the right one. Of course, I <3 that you used the pink color!

hi, nice to read about you.
i am, sajedul ahmed, from bangladesh,am also new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.
i have followed you. so, can also follow me plz.and plz upvoted my post.
best of luck...

Looks pretty good ) do you think acryllic paint will also work out?