The Creature that Looked Like...

in #art6 years ago (edited)

giraffeMonsterRender.jpg

“Here, Cedric, now what does this creature remind you of?” The butler shrugged, but the Lord of Quaintmarsh insisted. "Come, man, give it some thought, don't be a flaccid mind."

“I can’t say, sire. Er, will you have the suckling pig for supper today, sire? Or perhaps a nice quail basted in that malt butter you so like?”

“Mm? Oh, I’m not sure. Whichever.” The Lord Quaintmarsh tapped his boot. He was distracted. A strange creature was just then craning its long neck over the hedge just between the two stone cherubs. It was staring at him as he stood there in the garden, as if it were waiting for some sort of permission. Or perhaps it was wondering how a man could be so round, just as the Lord was wondering how something might be so tall.

He clicked his tongue. “I swear I know it, it just circles around and around my tongue. It reminds me of something. This long neck it has, those eyes like fists and those nostrils. You could carry Old Widow Heather’s apples in its nostrils.”

giraffeMonsterRender4.jpg

“We do have apples, sire, would you like those as well, perhaps baked and sweetened with some treacle?”

“Ghastly thing, look at it.”

The genial butler cleared his throat. “Sire?” The Lord turned around a little, and with a spot of irritation. “What about peas, sire?" pressed the butler. He said 'peas' with a mousy smile. "The kitchen can make you a nice pea soup to go with the quail. Peas go nicely with malt butter. And with sheep cheese, if you have it with a warm, rye loaf. And the apples we can bake along with some rhubarb and mince in a pie for afters.”

giraffeMonsterSculpt6.png

The Lord turned now, fully enough that the strange herbivore was free to do whatever it wished, which was to eat this lesser Lord’s roses. It should also be said there was nothing lesser about the Lord’s body. In fact he was quite fat, which is why he said:

“What are you doing, Cedric?” asked the Lord, in that way that a house cat might ask why you bothered to come home after work.

“Sire?”

“All these questions about food,” said the Lord, pivoting on one leg and bringing the other forward, his entire person pointed at the butler. “All those questions, Cedric, what are you doing?”

giraffeMonsterSculpt5.png

The strange, languid creature proceeded to put a rose in its mouth and chew, and then another. It breathed in their scent with its large nostrils and licked them with its long tongue. The butler on the other hand stood very still. This Lord of Quaintmarsh had a way of teasing, if it was teasing. It was his voice. One never quite knew if it meant your last day alive. “I’m, er… asking what My Lord would like to sup on for the evening meal, sire.”

giraffeMonsterSculpt3.png

"No. You’re trying to fatten me up.” The fat Lord squinted down to a line. “You’re trying to fatten me up, aren’t you, Cedric?”

“Wha-? My Lord, no, of course not! Never!” Cedric even curled his lips for effect.

“Was that a sneer, Cedric? It was, wasn't it? I see you now. You stand there accusing your Lordship of afflicting himself with hog lard and fried birds, and sauces and puddings, and every ripened cheese in the region. You dare insinuate that your Lordship is a cul-de-sac for every roasted and battered pleasure? You dare say I did this to myself??” He stepped forward and his weight followed in waves.

Cedric the butler had turned pale. “My Lord, of course not!”

The strange, tall creature watched them and ate another rose.

“Then, you admit it. There is only you and I, and that blasted kitchen, and if it wasn't me, then it's you. YOU have been fattening me up all this time.” The Lord’s cheek started that quiver which happened when he ground his teeth and took shallow breaths.

“No, My Lord, please -- ggakk!“ The Lord’s fist had snatched out and grabbed the young man’s collar tight as a scout's knot. It cut the blood to his brain, and some of the air, which, incidentally, is when Cedric did his best thinking.

“WELL WHICH IS IT, CEDRIC? I DID THIS TO MYSELF, OR YOU’VE BEEN FATTENING ME UP! WHICH IS IT??”

giraffeMonsterSculpt2.png

“My L-l-l-l-lord, please. I… I… A GIRAFFE!” Cedric suddenly pointed at the long-necked beast. His voice was strained as if through a straw. “It reminds me,” he said, sputtered, coughed, and straightened a lose lock of hair that had fallen on his face with the sweat. A well groomed man through any fire, that Cedric. “It reminds me of a giraffe, sire!”

The Lord loosened his grip on the butler’s collar. He still held it, but he stared instead at the creature quietly eating the flowers. “Like a giraffe. Great crumbs, Cedric! I do believe you cracked it.”

“We, um," said Cedric, licking his lips just a little, "We do have some a nice crumb custard as well, sire.”

giraffeMonsterSketch.jpg

Original sketch in pen, sculpt done in Sculptris, rendered in Blender!
Hope you like the little nonsense story ;)

Keep it Steeming!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Love finding these little gems on Steemit, it really is a hub for creative folks to let it rip. Love it mate. By the way, wtf is that thing? 😂😂

I have NO idea ;)

It was a sketch I did, while having a beer and chilling out months ago. Then I decided to get back into 3D two nights ago and looked through my sketches to see if there was something I could sculpt. The mice in my head have very strange ideas.

I'm glad you like it! Thanks @goldiemr :)

Lol, let's try local Vietnemese rum and sketch some weird stuff together

Just love the sentance: The mice in my head have very strange ideas. lol!
Same here but I call them my ants (:
the creature is awsome btw. Thnx for sharing!

AAAAHAHAHAHAHA!

i think i need a beer too:))!!! if it makes you see the metamorphosis of zarafa

images.jpg

Seeing your creativity really i am impressed. Your blog is also creative and your beautiful digital art really fascinated me. Thank @oneminja for sharing this post with us.

Thank you so much, @jareen61 :) I'm really glad you're impressed!

I think it looks like squeezed head of an elephant. And the story was really good kept me engaged till the end..

HA!!! You're right! It DOES look like the squeezed head of an elephant. hehehehe. Next story.

I'm glad you like the story! Trying to find ways of sneaking a story into art and vice versa with neither of them really being related. So Im happy you felt engaged @arunchaubey21 :)

amazing art of friends

Thank you @bungaterakhir!

Continue, good luck always friends

@oneminja The animal you wrote was horned like a deer's antlers,
But his face is like a goat,

I know! It's a strange one, isn't it? hehe. Thanks for coming by!

Welcome ,, thank for your vote

Hahaha great post but the question remains unanswered what is that creature!????

@taqi, you'll have to ask the spider in my head. I don't like spiders so I won't ask him. You up for the task? hehehehe.

Glad you like the post!

what is the program did u use?

untitledG - Copy - Copy - Copy.png

For sculpting I used Sculpturis. It's a free software from the guys who make Zbrush. Then for the rendering I used Blender, which is not fun to use at all. But it's free.

Thanks for checking me out!

Success does not lie in results but in efforts. It is not necessary that you will get the result in your first attempt. It is about the efforts that you keep making to achieve what you want in your life. Being the best is not so important; doing the best is all that matters. It is not necessary that someone who is the best will surely succeed but you have to keep doing your best. It is your efforts that keep you going. Fall seven times but stand up eight.

yes I agree with you because if you challenge the obstacles that face you and you be patient sure you will do any thing you want

Yeah y not thank u for supporting me love my followers who support me

I will try to download it thank you for your answer

Yeah you should try it

Wow... good stuff.

Why thank you! :)

I have never seen such post tbh. It is incredible what people can post, the incredible good things they put up on the internet. :)

Hi @oneminja. Nice to meet you.
i am very happy to meet my new friends on steemit

Nice to e-meet you too @chanmaly :)

Thank you for reply me. I will follow you every Post. Welcome my friends 😀😀😀

It looks like a giraffe...

That's what the butler said. I think he's right :)

thanks, very good post !!!!

Thank you! I'm happy you like it!

nice story and good imagination of a strange creation.

I'm glad you like the story and the crazy stuff in my head ;)

Good art, thanks for sharing

Thank you!

wow its amazing :) great post by great man like you :) thanks for sharing with us thanks alot :) @oneminja

Wow, thank you for the very kind words, @khushbahkt :) Really. I'm glad you like it.

you are welcome sir :) @oneminja
kindly visit my blog and upvote my posts if you dont mind :)

Seeing your (ability to create interesting new things) really i am impressed.

thanks for sharing

Hi @blushinggirl :) I'm glad you're impressed. Thanks for checking me out!

Great work dude @oneminja. Watching such great stuff out here is really hard. But people like you are great. Thanks for sharing such great piece of art and also your blog was worth reading. Worth upvoting. Keep it up

Thanks for the very kind words, @aniket26 :) Very happy you like it. I hope to keep it up and keep posting new stuff!

Creature is scary ....are they still in existence?

It and others exist in my head, @kolossus :) It's a fun place, my head.

So creative ....I wish I could be in that head of yours

que bello arte éxito ,siempre te sigo

Gracias para todo! :)

I'm stopping by my Friend! And I am VERY happy that I did! Your posts are always SO MUCH fun and entertaining! I absolutely love the story, post and sketch! You make STEEMIT so VERY GREAT and SPECIAL! I always thought that Dumbo was an Elephant! We have Dumbo the Giraffe hear LOL! Or Dumbo the Horse hear LOL! Misspelling intentional LOL! If only I could make my comments half as entertaining as your posts! GREAT WORK! You are so VERY talented! I always look forward to your posts! I'm VERY proudly resteeming, commenting, upvoting and following! Your Devoted Friend and Fan! @extraterrestrial :):)

Thanks again, my great great extraterrestrial! Much MUCH appreciated! :D:D:D

Speechless!

@oneminja I was taken aback by the write-up. Nice photograhic and artistry display. @arunchaubey21 Very funny tho.
preview.jpg
@jareen61 true talk

hahahaha THAAANKS @egheprincez! That's a biiiiiig smile!

WOW, I just thought that it is something dragged from the deepest part of ocean

Thanks! It was dragged from the deepest part of the ocean of my mind. There some scary things there ;)

You got a 78.27% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @oneminja! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

Genial. Me encanta tu creatividad. Yo veo algo como una Jirafa con unos cuernos. Muy buen personaje. Por cierto un poquito aterrador.
Saludos

Its like an old reindeer. XD loving your blogs. Hoping that I could learn through it. 😍

Thanks again! Hehe. We'll all learn from each other :)

Your creativity is impressive. Your digital art is shocking, thanks for sharing.

Thank you very much, @ordosjc :) Haha. Happy to shock!

This is such a fun read, it wasn't nonsense at all! 😂 The sketch was great too! Looking forward to more stories from you.

Hehe. Oh I'm glad you like the read. I enjoy writing and reading little stories like these, @chinitacharmer

Wow! It's quite confusing on what really it is yet it is very creative. Good job @oneminja

No one knows! Not even me 😂 Ask the mice in my head ;) Thanks! I'm glad you like it!

Hmmmm amazing

It reminds me of a donkey whose neck is like of a giraffe, the ears of elephant and the beak of a crane

Haha. You know if you read descriptions of mythical creatures from old cultures, that's exactly how they describe them :)

This might just be the trippiest post I've ever seen on steemit 😂. You're talented kabisa!!

I'd hope I can trip you out even more ;) Hehe... Just you wait. Utashangaa mpaka kishangazo nacho kitashangaa kimeshangaa.

😂, definitely didn't expect that, are you east african?

awesome story and CGI !!! great medium combination! and the sketch at the end is great too !

Thank you, @hrissm! I'm glad you like them all :D

This looks wonderful and has shear class. The sculpt work is extraordinary. Nice job mate.

Thanks so much for the kind words, @faizan07 :) I'm glad you like it!

It always feels great to appreciate some great work.

I'm seeing a giraffe x ant eater kinda thing - killer work!

Thanks, @pixelprince! Yesss, anteater. I've always loved those things. Imagine being evolved to be able to drink bubble tea without need for a straw. :)

Wow! it's impressive and interesting, from the sketch to the render

Thank you very much for the kind words, @angeldecuir! :)

It looks like a very large land-loving sea horse. Good story, thank you.

Lovely story, the creature reminds me of a very large sea horse. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @jodiharrison :) Yes it does look like a seahorse from a haunted coral house, doesn't it?

Wooo! Its rlly great! i too use Scultris and this is not easy to make work like this. Good job bro!

Hey, good to hear you use the same software! I like it, not as nice as zbrush but, Hey, it's free! Thanks for the compliments!

It looks like some kind of an alien from somewhere outer space. Creepy!

It could be! Maybe those aliens eat some sort of alien roses?

Congratulations @oneminja, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1554 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $10588.77. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Amazing, interesting and nice. Really creative and a good work. it's art, mate, it's a great idea. Congratulations! You've a new follower!

Thank you @alcoholisedbsoul! I appreciate the love!

It scare me when I first see the picture but later strong in mind.. But this animal where can someone find it

It can be found in my head :)

Looks like you reached down someone's throat to pull out their spine and this is what you got 😶

HAAAAHAHAHA! Now there's a good description ;) Well now, someone after my own heart. Nice one, @meditateonthat!

Hmmp. Looks like a sea horse with bsard. Haha. But sea hirse do not have horns. Gosh!.

hehe There might be a seahorse we haven't found yet that does. You never know :)

well, a writer and an artist, a person of many talents. I have no idea what that creature might be, but I wouldn't want to meet it in the dark!

Haha, me neither @skiponline. Thanks for the compliments!

The fat Lord squinted down to a line.

Hehehe... I think you like that sentence :)

beautiful . . you know imagination is Art. and nothing is possible without imagination. some people have lots of it and some people just have enough to think about their future and think about it. you have lots of it . . congrats

Thank you @poy1920. I appreciate it. I can't go a day without imagining several things. Always creating in my head :)

WELL IT LOOKS LIKE AN ALEIN FROM ANOTHER PLANET LOL.

I think it does also. I wonder what it eats in that planet?

There are 2 pages
Pages