SteemFest art workshop preview

in #art7 years ago

walkingdronethumb.jpg

Doing the legwork

I'll be making STEEMpunk drone collages at SteemFest Lisbon in my art workshop. I've been working this week on some of my collage examples for the workshop, and I started off the process with this particularly leggy drone!



The idea for this recent collage work is inspired by The HardFork Series and the concept of a “Follower”, a micro or nano-drone dispatched to follow targets. I embellished the concept a bit further by adding my own style and sense of whimsy to the drones. The surveillance drones are from a dystopian future, but I looked to the vintage cameras of the past and steampunk for inspiration. As creating these collages will be part of the SteemFest art workshop though we need to change that steampunk to STEEMpunk.

I'm sharing with you today the first collage piece I made for this project, I previously made a pencil drawing of a STEEMpunk drone too.


walkingdrone.gif

The process


In my recent post Camera Surveillance I made a pencil drawing of a vintage camera. I combined this image with other drone parts I had drawn and made into parts sheets to cut out and use as collage in my workshop.

I will also be sharing this and the other collage sheets on Steemit in a future post so those who can't make it to SteemFest Lisbon can also join in with the activity.

drone legssml.png

A preview of one of the sheets

Snip, snip!

dronemaking.jpg

For this particular piece I decided to make a surveillance drone that had propellers but also long legs to bounce between the buildings of a city as it looked through the windows. When it needed to take flight the legs would fold up closer to its body.

STEEMpunk drone-model number CFS-1b

walkingdronesml.jpg

Collage on paper

I hope to share a few more SteemFest preparation snippets with you soon!

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I have no doubt that your exhibition in the art workshop will be amazing, it is a true privilege for us to enjoy the advance of these works, thank you very much for including us in the image of these advances.
Congratulations dear friend @opheliafu for these beautiful works

It's a pleasure to share these with you and others, which is why i am keen to share my resources during/after SteemFest so more people can join in too.

Wow

Always detailed and perfect dear @opheliafu

great idea!

@opheliafu hi there, isnt this just amazing, my! Keep doing this. You are way up
💝💝💝🙌🙌🙌🙌

Thank you very much for your enthusiasm @josediccus!

Excellent I invite you to go through my profile so you can look at my content and if you LIKE TO VOTE .. GREETINGS

Oh thats fab, I think collages are my favourite thing

A great piece of work !! Wonderfully put together

me gusta gracias por compartirlo

Thats really Cool, very nicely done really like your Steempunk drone idea. Good luck with your workshops, t look forward to seeing some photos from them .Thanks for sharing.

Heyyy, nice drones....

Creativity level: top notch

I hereby salute you for doing such a nice job with those

nice.. thank you for sharing

Love your art. Cant wait to see more at sf 😁

Oh my! This is awesome! I love looking at your creations you are so diverse! Hope your Friday is lovely :)

How I wish I could attend the steemfest to meet some great art steemians as you. Last year I couldn't attend too but seemed like such a blass on Amsterdam. This sure won't be the exception.
Next year I definetly have to go!
Can't wait to see much more of how this gonna be. :)

Excellent work, thank you for sharing your process.

Love that concept of using "vintage" elements for future technology. Big steempunk fan of course :-) I actually still have a camera like that!

Awesome 💖💖💖💖

It's wonderful. You are not just an artist, you are real creator! Follow you, until the end of time.

Looking forward to meeting you at Steem Fest @opheliafu! I'm excited to see some fantastic art!

I know this is a little off topic but on your one red pencil, you have your username there on it.

Is that actually on the pencil IRL, or did you artsy it up and just do that on the image???

I have my own stickers for pencils. That's how i roll @barrydutton!

I think that is super awesome.

Have a good week Miss O.

That is so cool! I'm really liking these machines you are creating.

Yes! Steampunk is pretty awesome. Love to see more :)

I'll be posting a bit more over the next week or so :D

Interesting work @opheliafu, who knows maybe in some future you can see your creation materialized.

You never know...

This is absolutely fantastic! I can't wait to attend your workshop, Ophelia! See you in a few days! We arrive later in the day on 11/2.

I will see you then! Have a great journey.

great drone! :-)
thanks for hosting art events and all of your legwork at Steemfest. I won't be there but I did submit an art piece for the exhibit.
Have a fantastic festival!