Art Heals

in #art4 years ago

It's been quite an intense few weeks, I'm sure most would agree that things are a bit chaotic out there right now. A lot is being uncovered in the world. A lot are panicking and a lot are turning inwards for peace and answers.

Recently, my 9 year wedding anniversary brought back memories of some of the insane and challenging moments we've had since being married. It was a hell of a lot to reflect on.

I was feeling very heavy, and something in me just wanted to paint it all out.

I had only just started making Art again over the lockdown, and have hardly ever painted freely. So for (basically) the first time ever, I did.

I'd done an Art Therapy session once before, but this time felt very different, it felt even deeper.

I had fun with it. Didn't overthink or over analyze anything.

It took maybe 1.5 hours, and the whole time, I was blasting my favourite Music therapy band, Tool. It was quite an intense experience, but so so fun. And I was amazed with how much lighter I felt after all of it.

For me, this is big.

For many years, I have felt like I have been neglecting my artist self. So in these last few months of tending to my inner artist again, I feel like I've actually reconnected with my creativity in an even deeper way, than ever before.

Amazingly I actually love what I painted.

I had absolutely no vision of what it would look like, so it was completely organic and free form. Utilizing some basic skills I learnt from joining in on @ultravioletmag's Abstract Art Painting Zoom Workshop once, during the lockdown.

Now I finally know what Art Therapy really feels like, and it really did feel great.

So if your heart is calling you to create something or try something like this out, please do it. Who knows how much it could help you.

And here it is..
" 9 years..."

redrica 9 years painting.jpg

Art heals :)

Love from Red

Sort:  

Your work spoke to me very closely. The colours and the way they are "crushed" and "scratched" on the canvas, creating some deep cracks between the luminous areas, produce a somewhat labyrinthine effect, which makes you keep looking.
For those who see it, it is also an experience, in a way, therapeutic.
I liked it very much.

Thank you for taking the time to leave this insightful comment. This painting means a lot to me, and I appreciate all the encouraging comments about it and to just keep creating and making Art :)

Looks beautiful :)
Good to hear from you.

Thanks Shani! Nice to hear from you. How have you been?? :)

I'm very good, thanks :)
Life is very good, I'm very well, and today is dry but not sunny, so perfect for painting the balcony door :)
Hope to see you soon, miss your energy!

Congratulations @redrica! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 69000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Love it, Enrica. You explained this process so well. I'll be curious if I ever allow myself to express myself through physical art. I think what you've done this way I do through poetry and dance. But maybe, one day, I'll pick up a paint brush and see what happens when I let my emotions paint through me.