Life Drawing - Art/Fine Art/Charcoal Sketch

in #art4 years ago (edited)

Life Drawing Edit 1 small - robbieallenartist.jpg

Hello everyone,

I hope you are having an enjoyable weekend so far.

This was one of my very quick 2 minute pose sketches of a life model from Brazil, in Brighton, England before the lockdown.

You can see more of my charcoal drawings here; https://hive.blog/art/@robbieallenart/charcoal-life-drawing-of-dave-art-drawing-fine-art

And here; https://hive.blog/art/@robbieallenart/life-drawing-gesture-sketch-art-charcoal

I don't usually use charcoal, but in this instance I used my finger to make the marks in the shadow areas from some of the remaining charcoal powder I had left from sharpening my pencil.

I hope I can get back to it sometime soon, it's a practice which is, in my opinion, far better than working from a flat photo of a model on a screen.

Sort:  

I remember liking charcoal though I only ended up using it a couple of times (once in primary school art class and a couple of times in high school art class when we had to draw the same still life using a bunch of different media and ideally using different styles as well). We had sticks though not a pencil so I kind of sharpened it by shading, and the hardest part was keeping my hand up XD

Are you still in lockdown?

It's so easy to smudge charcoal! I actually want to get back to drawing with it soon. There is an online portrait drawing course with charcoal that I really want to take!

Yeah we are still in lockdown here in the U.K, even though it's not as strict over the last 2 weeks, but suddenly Leceister City has gone back to full lockdown. This whole thing is crazy

What's stopping you? :D

Did you get new cases? D: