Fresh off the Easel - After Months of Work This Seascape Painting is Finally Finished!!!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I started this painting in March this year and today I have finally finished it, now admittedly I was away in the UK for three months but I have spent a while on this art work. After getting about half way through this painting I felt unmotivated to carry on with it, I was going to try and see if I could get it finished before I left for the UK in July but it never happened.

After having been away from this painting for three months it greeted me as I walked into my studio, I immediately though, it's not that bad and I just need to finish it. So for the last three weeks I have been chipping away at it and now its complete, I'm quite happy with it.

Houghton Bay, 24" x 36", oil on canvas.

I'll show you some of the painting process.

This is my blank canvas with the image sketched out in burnt umber mixed with liquin.

I start my painting by blocking in the sky and then I worked on the background rocks. I make these elements tonally lighter and the colours less saturated so it recedes into the background.

Next I am working on the hero of the painting, the breaking wave.

This is me working on my painting. I painted a small colour study first to make sure that it was going to work. If I am going to paint a large art work, I always paint a colour study first.

After blocking in the painting I let it dry, I designed the composition so the various forms within the painting lead the eye towards the breaking wave.

The real hard part of painting a seascape like this is the time consuming process of building up the detail and repainting and adjusting elements within the art work to make sure the colours and tones coordinate with each other.

This was the point in the painting where I could see the end in site.

I always preserve my lightest tones at the end of my paintings which makes it come alive. This is the finished art work.

Check out my website for more of my art: samuelearp.com

Subscribe to my mailing list for news, new paintings and art tips and receive a FREE digital art print download of one of my seascape paintings suitable for printing an image of any size: https://www.samuelearp.com/subscribe/

Sort:  

Amazing creative paintings. I appreciate your hardwork @samuel-earp-art

fantastic! also an amazing amount of detail you got in

Gorgeous work! Can't stop staring at it.

Thanks @mantishands :)

You're welcome!

Wow, its quite a big one. I love this painting Sam, you did an amazing job 👍👌🎨😊

Beautiful art work , the moment of the day you choose and the soft colors bring a serene atmosphere to the painting , while the braking wave builds up energy. love it !

Thanks. Yeah the evening is a good time to get photo reference especially for seascape paintings as the light is softer.

the golden hour :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @samuel-earp-art to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Great great work Sir! I really appreciate it.. Keep it up... Up voted

beautifull!

I have been reading your post in a very long time. Your posts are very good and you also have a new photo of new ones in steamit. Thank you. Please also give me upvote

@bilaraj thanks for commenting. Can I give you a friendly piece of advice, if you want people to upvote you, write some good content and engage with the Steemit community. Leaving the exact same comment on loads of peoples profiles and asking for upvotes is unlikely to get you upvotes especially as I know you haven't been reading my posts for a long time.

This is nothing personal, my advice is write some good content about something that interests you, something you're passionate about or inspires you...you could even upload some photos and write about where you live, I certainly find travel blogs interest.....just some ideas for you. I wish you every success on Steemit.

this painting is stunning and the step by step of its making one appreciate the work that goes into making one painting , am impressed

Thanks for commenting @joendegz, large art works such as this one definitely take a long time!

Damn Good, I thought it was a photograph catoonified. You very good and a patient painter. I have tried painting before but get discourage whenever a project takes more than 5 hours!. I admire your work. Salute!

Thanks @kryptocoin, you should take up painting again.

You are great artist!
Follow from @dunsky

awesome art presented by you..Thanks for sharing..nice post..

awesome art presented by you..Thanks for sharing..nice post..

You are so good.

Thanks @gailbelga :)

More of this. Thank yooou

Congratulations @samuel-earp-art, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 632 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3260.66. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

That's beautiful! Its almost like a photo capture in real life. Keep up the good work!

'I'm quite happy with it'... We really are our own worst critics, aren't we?

The painting is fantastic. So much depth and movement!

Thank you for process shots.

Ha ha, I am never happy with anything I have painted! Thanks for commenting @deemarshall :)

'I'm quite happy with it'... We really are our own worst critics, aren't we?

The painting is fantastic. So much depth and movement!

Thank you for process shots.

It looks amazing - and I'm surprised it didn't take you longer! :) Great work!

Awesome ...
Great post

wow.wow.wow.
How nise?

This is so beautiful, you are a master with the brush. Very well done!

Great! Fantastic

That was amazing post.
Upped and reestemed.

Thanks for the resteem :)

Left me speechless! Simply beautiful, @samuel-earp-art!

beautiful

Wow! That is an amazing artwork. Thanks for sharing all of the process to get such an amazing result, I learnt a few things while reading :)

Stunning piece of work. It's the movement of the water creating the foam, bringing contrasting texture to the solid looking rock that I really like, and of course that translucent crest. Wow!

Oh wow..awesomeness galore mate. Cheers!

Holy moly! This is stunning!! Thx for sharing also your work in progress shots. Resteemed

Great work! Thank you for sharing!

Love the subject, and the execution! Nice to see the stages of development.

This is stunning. Great piece.

great work bro :)

Sooo beautiful work... thanks a lot...you are great BRAVOO...

Once again you have done it @samuel-earp-art . GORGEOUS . Awesome translucent wave. Great colour tone and very atmospheric. And I love the sense of breeze. It makes the painting so dynamic. Great art, Samuel :) . Super Upvote

Thanks @nehab :)

You are welcome, Samuel :) . My pleasure :)

WOW i am stunned, look at those rocks they look REAL.
painting is my weakness...
upvote resteem and follow :D

A beautiful painting! Great work. For the first half of this year, I live in Swanage on the south coast and it inspired me to get back into painting.

Awesome! breathtaking!

That was amazing post.
Upped and reestemed.

That is one awesome seascape! The wave is so luminous, I feel like I can touch it! It's definitely where the eye goes in this composition. Well done!

Nice work Samuel.

That is really awesome painting of the Houghton Bay. I guess a huge efforts were made for this.

Great work. The colors are amazing.

The way you captured the lighting with those perfect highlights in the foreground really did add a world of depth and life.

Keep it up. I am following.

Hey @samuel-earp-art, @samuel-earp-art, awesome to see your work here! been following your art journey on FB, and now here on steemit on steemit!