No Shame - using my imperfect are to share another little update on my life

in #art3 years ago (edited)

IMG_0267.JPG

Sometimes you just want to upload your 'ugly' spontaneous art. The result didn't necessarily satisfy me ( I set out to draw dino art with the word contrast as a theme ). It ended up becoming some kind of mix between contrast and balance, two worlds merging and I mainly made use of what were - I learnt this from my art teacher in the first year of high school - the most contrasting colors: red and green or orange and green.

My hands now have orange and green paint on them and it feels good. It also felt good to just put some paint on paper and make a mess. I have been very busy in the last week or so, cleaning two houses ( see my previous writing ) and spending loads of time with other people. Today this pretty social introvert needed a day off. The day off wasn't as relaxed as planned for reasons I won't go into ( don't want to make it bigger than it is or jinx things ) so some painting, just before sunset, was exactly what it needed.

As some of you might have heard, I manifested a house with a painter's easel in the attic and an amazingly picturesque view all around. The next thing I need is some empty canvasses and more professional paint but for now paper and some amateur paint from the supermarket had to make do.

The imperfectionist in me said I had to make a similar digital drawing that would certainly look better but I silenced it as this was exactly what I needed. It was all about the process and the latter gave me what I needed. It distracted me from some stuff that bothered me a little throughout the day and made me wind down a couple of hours before bed.

Tomorrow I will spend half of the day with my niece and nephew or - to be more precise - my twin sister will drop them off at my place around 10am. A little later we will go to our new neighbors down the hill ( the people who moved in the house that I left only days ago ), where Miko (7) and Yumi (5) can play with the 6 year old twins of these friends of my twin sister and I. I will definitely spend some time with the kids too - might even swim in the river - but probably also talk loads with their mother. The twin boys' father will be away ( I know what you're thinking and no I won't but she and I have loads of stuff in common ) for the day.

Long story short, these days, I am living a lot in the now again. And it's, once again, about finding balance between the introvert and the extrovert in me, between being social in what my buddy @selfhelp4trolls would call 3D and the online world and not forgetting my much needed moments of alone time, to charge my batteries.

Talking about charging my batteries... I am still without electricity in my new place but, since yesterday night, I am borrowing a portable solar powered battery that charges my laptop, phone and even a lamp, so I don't need to go to bed at sunset any longer. I should turn on that lamp now. It's getting too dark for my eyes to feel comfortable staring at screens and I plan to do some more screen staring before bed.

That battery belongs to those new friends / neighbors that I just mentioned. They are awesome and will even provide me with an E-bike in the near future!

Anyhow, this ended up becoming another kind of ramble/ diary entry.

I am really trying to get back into creative mode and want to focus on my dino writing once again. The quick painting was an attempt in the right direction. It's just that my brain needs some more time to find that switch. Meanwhile you will need to make do with these kind of posts. Feel free to not read them haha!

Also, sorry @inuke , I can't really get myself to write that XTRO trilogy review. The movies are still kind of in my memory though so it might still happen soonish.

Bye for now and much love and good vibes to who-ever needs it!

Sort:  

Don't feel bad man. It is not a work or assignment for credit.
Moreover, I have a feeling that Xtro is something that cannot be covered in a simple review.
:D

Congratulations on your new home Brother.
And I am glad that you are comfortable with your art direction.

Don't feel bad man

I prefer to feel like bat man!

Let's ketchup soon and talk about tomato sauce or movies ;<)

I have a feeling that Xtro is something that cannot be covered in a simple review.

Luckily I don't do simple reviews haha

Thank you for your kind words buddy!

Sometimes you just want to upload your 'ugly' spontaneous art.

I don't think I've done much spontaneously for a long time, everything has been either deliberate or a hilarious accident.

The imperfectionist in me said I had to make a similar digital drawing that would certainly look better

Then you ask yourself "but why" XD

this usually helps if I'm getting a bit over the top with something, but not with buildings as despite my best efforts to design them from the outside, I need to work inside out with them

( I know what you're thinking and no I won't but she and I have loads of stuff in common )

...I'm glad one of us does, I'm so confused, but not like that's hard to do.

Day with kids and friend sounds like it's going to be a really nice one :) Not long til you get all the houses sorted and can concentrate on art and dino stories again :D

I don't think I've done much spontaneously for a long time, everything has been either deliberate or a hilarious accident.

Hahaha! I like that contrast, if I can call it that. Especially the latter.

Day with kids and friend sounds like it's going to be a really nice one :) Not long til you get all the houses sorted and can concentrate on art and dino stories again :D

Today I am recovering from all the social time. Rainy weather helps. Today's main mission is to slow down and find my way back to creative mode. And yes, I really wanna get back to my dino writing. Would be pleasantly surprised if I manage to already make it there today :<)

How could I miss this post of yours? Shame on me lol. The art could be mine as well 😄. Btw I like your remote living, even though it comes with challenges.

Belated hugs on this one ;)

How could I miss this post of yours? Shame on me lol.

Easily but I get the joke haha!

Btw I like your remote living, even though it comes with challenges.

It's pretty awesome... although I have quite a lot of people around me now:

  • Families with kids who are visiting the circus next to my place on Thursday's and Saturdays.

  • New neighbors down hill ( with two kids ), who are friends of my sister and I

  • And - because of the latter - my sister and my niece and nephew ( who are around the same ages as those neighbor's kids ) are around even more often.

Long story short, I am way less of a hermit here than I was in my house in Monte Frio ( Cold Mountain ), which is, in many ways, a good thing. But, to regain my creativity and not drain all my energy, I need to make sure to make time and create space for myself once again.

Big hug

xx

I hear you. Being in Germany I get drained a lot. This country is so overcrowded and with the damn Corona insanity it's becoming even worse. Plus I can't stand the German mentality. That's the worst lol.

Anyways gotta find a way or at least gotta decide for myself to not let it bother me too much. Hard though lol.

Hugs :)

I hope and trust that you will a find way to either feel better there or change to another place.

Big hug!

I let life happen right now 😂 for the good or the worse, not so sure lol.

I'll figure sth out in the end, umm if anything I come to Portugal lol, just kidding.

🤗

umm if anything I come to Portugal lol, just kidding.

Just leave out the last two words or the Universe won't take you seriously ;<)

I think when we are stuck in the logical mode, ie the move and all that is going with it, it can kick our brains out of creative mode. I like that you made the picture to get you back into it and I think once you are a little more settled your creative juices will be flowing and your book will be finished in no time.

It's lovely that you have made some good friends and isn't funny how we feel a little uncomfortable about having a good friendship connection with the opposite sex, especially when they are married. I say enjoy it and celebrate it.

I am glad that you have some source of power and really hope that the electrician can get your main system working again.

Much love and big hugs to you

💚🤗