AskHive: What are you doing with your Steem?

in #askhive4 years ago

Man, this decade sure started with a bang, huh? Some crazy, crazy times behind us and probably even more interesting times ahead of us.

Now with the migration of ocd and ocdb being over and a lot of curation in our community being taken care of I'm finding some more time to get back to posting and one of my favorite kind of posts I liked to do where the "asksteem" ones after the popular r/askreddit which I always enjoyed reading. The engagements that went on there were always really fun and entertaining and I'm hoping to see that happening more on hive in the near future with more consumers existing.

Without getting too much into the history in the past few months of what occurred on the now database Steem, I wanted to check what people's plans were with their points they're liquidating on there. Now don't get me wrong, this is not a post to judge anyone wanting to keep their Steem and see where it goes, during a fork a lot of investors usually keep both coins although I can't really say that I've ever seen anything like what's going on over there right now. Crypto is unpredictable, though.

Me personally I am a little bit in debt at the moment so I might be looking at a small pump here or there to get rid of that but am appreciating this opportunity of a new start here on Hive and looking to grow my stake back to do what I've always wanted to do and have been for a very long time - curating. Hive feels great right now, there's always been this feeling of unfairness on Steem that no matter how much work you put into it there was always a centralized entity over your shoulders who would benefit more from the value you're bringing to the chain. Now that that is gone though I think the psychology has changed a lot, I've talked with a lot of investors who see this is a great opportunity to finally own and power up more of the "steem" the way it should have been from the start. The enthusiasm from old developers that used to work and build things on Steem seems to be back now on Hive and it feels great to see them back and the same goes for other old Steemians that left a long time ago. Have been seeing many return, some because of covid-19 while many others because of Hive and the opportunities that presents.

Once I'm debt free again and have a certain safety-net of USDT in case more chaos were to occur in the markets and the world in the near future I'm very much looking forward to start powering up even more than I have lately as I have this feeling of already valuing Hive way more than I did with Steem by the end.

So anyway, to get back to the question of this post, what are your plans with Steem?

Keeping it powered up,
selling it for fiat or another crypto,
powering it up onto hive
or just taking a break from all of it temporarily?

bonus question, how are you feeling on this chain in general? What would you say the biggest difference is?

PS! I may need a new footer so for now I'll just add a random photo I've taken a long time ago. :D

PPS! Would anyone be interested in a curated and moderated "AskHive" community if I were to create and run one?


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Thinking I'll go 50:50 Games:Hive, until STEEM price hits ATL (7c), then I'll just hodl in case of a pump.
Really feeling dcity, as well as nextcolony, and obviously Splinterlands (so many Alpha flesh golems I don't own yet; I hear them calling to me.)
All this 'free' money is a fantastic opportunity to support/speculate on, quality DPOS games.

Power Down and I buy Splinterlands Cards 😍

Oh that's more complicated to answer than I realized:

First off, powering down steem, partly taking some profit (since I brought a big chunk at 14 cents) and the rest I will probably reinvest into something like Eth. Maybe keeping it in usdt until I know if the market wanna find new lows. Regardless I will have 0 steem in the end.

My hive stays where they are, no powering down there!

What changed?
Well, for me things seems the same, but maybe with a bit better overall vibe. I do enjoy that the concept of it being a 100% community driven and not this steemit we all were "waiting for" to develop core features.

I'm super excited to see what this year will bring!

Powering down so I can get hookers, blow, and maybe some hotdogs.

Finally after scrolling forever I see a reply that makes sense!

I can't believe these people don't like hotdogs.

classic

You can never have enough hotdogs

That's what I keep sayin!

Tacos would be better

For now I finally decided to act anticyclical and keep my STEEM powered up. If everybody wants to sell STEEM, I would be probably too slow and sell very cheap, and then later, when the price rises again, I would be too slow again to get some new STEEM.
But why should/could the STEEM price rise again? Because STEEM obviously is getting a place for Asian users, which (in average) care less about decentralization, blockchain and censorship resistance. Many of them just want to communicate with friends and besides of that earn some money. It is well possible that STEEM may serve this purpose well. (I do care about 'blockchain values', I just think that many Asian users, and also many typical European/US facebook users don't.)
I may concentrate to post on HIVE (if I find time at all) and use STEEM only as kind of a 'money machine' (for example by delegating to any useful project, like the really great Chinese mobile app of @wherein and getting some rewards for delegating).
So far I used all liquid STEEM to buy gold foil Splinterlands cards. In future I may have to use them to 'survive' in real life.

bonus question, how are you feeling on this chain in general? What would you say the biggest difference is?

Well, HIVE is just great! :-) Haha, come on, you know me, that's not my style.
To really know what I think you may read here (and I guess you already did). HIVE has much potential, but big stake holders, witnesses, programmers, 'VIPs' should understand that the value of a network increases with the number of it's users ...
Therefore, in my eyes, it would be very important, that the 'average' user got attracted by enough posts on trending about topics which could be of interest for him. That again means we all should create and upvote these kind of posts and not only circle around HIVE, crypto, blockchain and how great we all are. :-)

O yes, I would love a Ask Hive community. I also ran Ask Steemit for almost 2 years. Love the engagement and interesting answers you get through these questions. O and I need to get a new image to replace the old one too.

As for what I’m doing with my Steem. Planning to diversify it a little into Bitcoin and maybe a few other cryptos. Haven’t really decided yet.

Well i gotta thank many comments here for suggesting leveling up spl decks. since i was already powering down my steem i just transfered whats already liquid to steem and then transformed them into DECs. I'll be using a bunch to buy orbs, packs or cards and since they now also support Hive, maybe also trade some for hive. Just did that, nothing to get excited about but oh well...

Idk if that last idea has been put out but if not, it could be a nice way to turn steem into hive without too much hustle

Js definitely shot himself in the foot today, normally I was planning on keeping my steem liquid just in case, but after today, no way hoze! And I'm sure I'm not the only one who was planning on doing that.

The power down has been very handy in this corona mess, I've been splitting though, half to hive power, half to fiat. I plan to do more hive power ups, I've been manually curating here and its been really cool, I need to get the power way up.

Well, everything is still super new, seeing a lot of apps coming over has been satisfying, even GINA bot is coming soon, I hate that steemit has given blocktrades and other frozen accounts another thing to worry about. The whole situation is like when super man said " You won't let me die, yet you wont let me live". Its high time we focus on us, but Justin wont let us be, I wonder what the outcome of the accounts freezing will be.

My Steem story is a little complicated ... I had a goodly amount of liquid Steem piled up and pulled all of that to Hive, but I left 1,000 SP delegated to @project.hope, which has been LITERALLY feeding people in Venezuela with Steem. I left that one curation trail on as well. I feel like in the struggle with Justin Sun, people overlooked the fact that real people depend on Steem and have very little else in terms of a lifeline -- the switch to Hive is going to take some time for all exchanges. So, that I will leave in place as long as @project.hope runs on Steem as well as Hive. That decision left me relatively little to power down, and a tiny bit of Steem/SP coming in as well. Now that @blocktrades is no longer supporting Steem, and provided my account is not frozen, I probably will use @ionomy to keep pulling liquid Steem off weekly, and wait and see on the rest...

I feel safe on Hive. I am one of those people who can put their head down and get through difficulties, but the vibe on Steemit toward the end was truly poisonous. People are hopeful here, and the proverbial air is fresh -- it's a relief in the tragedy of this pandemic. I'm happy to be here in a way I could never be on Steem, which was dying in the minds of many even when I arrived a year ago (although I think Steem may surprise many).

I have not been able to change the few Steem that I have in my wallet, they are few but it is the result of my work in my publications. There is no one to change and I do not know how I can buy #hive which would be a good option.

Hive is working fine, but you should have people make the changes to the fiat currency by now. For everything else I love the platform. Greetings @acidyo

you can use bittrex, ionomy or probit to purchase hive. the latter only has usdt and krw pairings, though.

I believe a few months from now, the blockchain manuals will show Steem/hive blockchain as a case study of how decentralized resilience overcame centralization. The nice thing is that no matter what you end up doing with your Steem. Just having Hive is a win.

Honestly, I was hoping to use it for passive income, but with the soft fork today it's all getting powered down as I have no guarantee it will be safe.

Buying bitcoin with the upcoming halvening, buying some Eth because Eth and possibly God's Unchained one day, buying Bitcoin, buying splinterland packs and DEC for upcoming land purchases, and have I mentioned buying some Bitcoin.

Also, selling for USDC in hopes of possibly buying some Magic Cards and maybe Stocks if I can find an easy way to use Paypal to deposit money to buy stock with.

I've had two power down cycles so far. The first went to Bittrex, where I exchanged it for BTC. The second went to @blocktrades for some Hive, which I immediately powered up.

Don't think I'll be able to do that again, what with this new soft fork...

And I think an Ask Hive community is a great idea. I was just thinking that, too.

---> 70/75% converting to HIVE

---> 30/25% to keep "in case of" lol

Just keeping it ready on exchange - may be Justin just pumps steem, and give us a good opportunity to sell it. I thought initially to power up for hive, but holding that for some time.

I am selling my Steem and buying 50% Hive and 50% BTC. My goal is to reach 25k HP by the end of the year.

I am interrsted in the AskHive community! 😊😊

I started a powerdown on STEEM not long after the Steemit purchase as I realised it wasn't going to play out well. Just taking a bit of a break from it all while the drama continues but expect I will be back to support HIVE when the dust settles, the hype is over and the rebuilding can really begin.

Powerdown to Hive and maybe something else. Not sure with Blocktades blocked now as I need to find another avenue.

my steem is being sold. and waiting for hive dip to buy more hive i want to reach 10k hive that's my target.

ASK-HIVE is a must, i would love to be involved

good call on that hive dip ^^

will create askhive community shortly and announce it :)

Option 3
powering it up onto hive after powering down from Steem.

Personally, I feel great on this Chain. The difference is a whole new feel to it;
i.e like we are not enslaved to some central entity

I'm not sure what I'm going to do with 100% of it, but I do plan on cashing out some and finishing off my first aid kit that I've been crowdfunding for with #upfundme! I will be so excited to get that project completed! :)

I really like the "Ask Hive" idea. I am hoping that @nickyhavey will start his bluffer series, here, too.

As for my steem, like you, it's going to go on life stuff. It just must. Little though there is. Power down started a couple of days ago.

We'll see about the Bluffer's Guide and if there's any topics people specifically want me to cover.

However, I'm focusing on other things at the moment, mainly music as there's far less drama in my music studio on my own to contend with 🤐

I'd wanna read content specifically about how awesome I am, please cover that.

Also been meaning to check with you if you'd be interested in nominating a music post for the OCD compilation posts. Doesn't matter if it belongs to a certain community or not as long as it's not posted in the OCD community. Let me know in Discord if you're interested and I can invite you and give you the curation role so you can see how we do things~

I'd wanna read content specifically about how awesome I am, please cover that

You'll have to wait until I get the never ending blog series about how awesome I am out the way first 😃

Have you got any more details about that and how much you'd need from me? I'm already operating at near max capacity with the EMA community and label, DJ shows and my own music (that's just the music projects I'm involved with haha) but would like to help in some way if I can.

tl;dr, you promote one of the best music content of that day in the communities you're active in to our daily compilation post with a short description and if it gets voted through by other curators it ends up on the daily comp post of @ocd where you earn a share of the post rewards and the nominated post gets votes from us.

Hmm, I could give the whole back story about various music communities and crypto but I won't bore you there!

Thank you, I appreciate you reaching out and ask but the long and short of it is, I just can't commit to the daily research of music that's posted on HIVE on top of running the EMA community, label and curating tracks for my live shows (let alone making my own music and living that 3D life too - your boy has to switch off as well haha) - sorry.

I've been doing my best to convince the EMA community and other co-founders to start considering crypto sites again and get them to post on HIVE (we did have @emalliance going regularly before the community voted against staying on the crypto platforms) - not easy to do when the conversation gets shutdown in seconds as soon as crypto gets mentioned! Que sera sera...

Absolutely - and only if the urge takes you.

https://media.tenor.com/images/c24427e49ebd3d333b5c214daf727d7d/tenor.gif

🤣🤣🤣

Probably power it all down and buy this awesome crypto I heard of called Tron.

Powering all down, it's gonna take some time!
Some HIVE, some LTC, looking for that 100,000 HIVE though.

Good luck! Hoping I get up there this year again. :)

Liquidating Steem, and converting it to Hive and powering it up.

AskHive seems like a great idea!

I've been mostly powering down, but it's interesting to occasionally read how Steem is doing. Not too good!

One important thing has been some shitposts. Not 100% shitposts, but you know.. short posts, making fun of Steem and probably promoting Hive a bit. Just in case someone joins after a long pause.

I'm Powering all but about 1000 Steem down (what had delegated out when I started the PD) I've got a rough plan of...

25% on Splinterlands cards/ DEC
50% BTC/ LTC/ ETH
25% HIVE conversion.

I did actually buy some STEEM today - someone dumped some at 1400, which I promptly sold for 2700.

NICE!

Just a shame it was only 800 Steem!

Ooh was that on iomomy? Saw the dump the other day.

Yes, handy little exchange that!

Started power down when hive went live but only my stake that was not delegated. Withdrew delegation and that is not powered down.
I was planning to exchange Steem for Hive and power up to Hive but now that blocktrades is halted, that remains to be seen.
Anyway the plan was to keep some Steem to curate those who remained on Steem and deserves to be curated but after what's happened today ... 🤔 I'm not sure there's anyone to curate.
I guess it remains to be seen. The only sure thing is that everything is uncertain 😁

Using blocktrades to liquidate the steem as soon as possible into Hive and other alts I leverage while blogging about them.

@blocktrades is down right now for steem deposits because they froze his account.

I'm powering up my Hive with the Steem. First I thought about converting to fiat but Hive feels so great that I feel need to own a bigger stake, so power up all the way!

Finally I just convinced of the same. Recently started my power down of STEEM

I'm holding on exchange. Yeah stupid, I know. But I feel safer weirdly, than to have it on my account. You might just wake up one day and see everything frozen for something as simple as a meme you made trolling justin sun (i've done quite a few of those lol).

I will sell on a pump and either invest in ETH (i've wanted eth for a while now) or I'll cash out and hold fiat till the corona settles down. Once the lockdown is over I'm gonna order a Perfume I've been eyeing for a month, never dared to make the purchase seeing the price tag!

About the AskHive community, would definitely be interested!

It is definitely weird how exchanges feel safe compared to Steem lately. XD

Crazy times huh!

I'm going to put half into BTC and half into HIVE. I'm already powering down.

I have the exact same plan. I'm waiting for a certain stability in the cryptos before reinjecting all my funds. But it seems to me more judicious and relevant to do 50% BTC and 50% Hive.

Now after Steem's soft fork is there any way of selling steem without blocktrades?

bittrex, ionomy, probit or binance

thanks for your reply! I know it's a stupid question, but how do I even get Steem out of Steemit? I can just send steem to steem accounts, right? So how do I send it to e.g. binance?

They have their own account and then you use a deposit memo so they know which binance account to credit the steem. :) Check their deposit page when you register!

thank you so much!

The truth is I do not want to leave even Steem, because it is a platform that oriented me to what I am now. However, I have seen many injustices and I want to see how Hive will treat me in these moments, it is like an experiment of who is better. I hope I can keep both accounts active but I have seen improvements for my talented friends who are being voted perfectly!

I was forced to power down and liquidate to help my family (Venezuela), as my sister became infected and had difficulty contributing to family expenses.

Some other time, I'll make investments to make money.

i bought land !!!! well .. virtual land from sandbox.game =P

heard they sold a lot in a very short amount of time, reminded me of the [MANA] decentraland hype. good luck with your purchase! :)

yeap .. it was sold out within hours of phase 3 presale i guess with Atari's partnership announcement that really rocked the boat. it does have a good potential to grow, and its just the start .. looking forward to seeing more progress in it

I'm in a wait and see mode right now..

but with what's been going on today.. might switch it to a dump it and invest in hive

powering down and losing it. I am trying to win more steem in steem slot games so I could buy more hive but so far I was not able to stop while I was still winning.

I like the AskHive idea.

I power down all my STEEM since this is already a profit to me and looking to buy new investment out of it. My first collection was used to buy some ethereum and closed it to 50, perhaps the second collection will all go with either Hive or sim city.

Bailing before they are frozen I guess. Lol

still haven't totally decided though power down a bit but I think will change some to SBD to keep some liquid to pay for the renewal to use steemsql for a while at least.

Pwer doen, sell for btc. Trading hive-btc, but not stacking anything except btc for now.

Good luck with your community its a good question.

How do you go about sending your Steem to Hive?

steem to bittrex/ionomy then exchange it for btc then for hive

Strapped for cash over, here, too & trying to take the long view re: crypto and all else.

Meantime, posting daily on Hive; is #posh still on?

yeah but just within the OCD community and still not guaranteed a vote but if it's content we would have voted anyway it gets a slightly bigger vote cause of #posh

Cool... 99% of my posts are within OCD community :)

I'm going to be powering down everything on steem once delegations get back and then I'm selling up until I get my initial amount back in to fiat. Will see what I have left over to play around with once that's done and dusted 😁

I powered down a few months back and moved everything into BTC. I am researching Hive and will buy some.

Powering down and moving to multiple other cryptos and some fiat.

powering down with hope, justin waits abou 11 weeks to finaly destroy steem.

Powering down and, so far at least, mostly converting to Hive and powering up.

But since I’ve only had two power down conversions so far, that might change. Maybe I’ll add a bit of BTC to my holding?

For now though, my gut says to power up Hive.

There are 2 pages
Pages