Oh my word what is this place

in #autism8 years ago (edited)

So, I have just found steemit and not really sure what goes on here but looking at some of the weird and wonderful posts I hope to fit in quite well.

My name is James and having just turned 40 I fel like it's time I came out of my shell. Being of the shy type it's often hard to write let alone talk to people.

I am the father of three daughterrs 2 of which have autism and to be honest I think it came from both sides of the family. Every day is a long had slog and a battle that must be won. Unless you know someone or are in the same position I guess you wouldn't really understand but people with autism are just wired a little different to the rest of the world and see things in a different way to the rest of the world. Things that most would consider simple or every day tasks can send someone with needs into a blind panic and cause anxiety beyond belief but hey ho that's just life for some.

Now I didn't actually to come here to talk about my children it just sort of happened so sorry if I go on a little.



I guess that it's the first time in a long time I have started to write about myself and with my eldest two being 13 and 11 they are a part of me too. Of course my 8 year old is too but she is "neuro typical" as they would label it. she goes through a lot having to put up with sudden changes due to her sisters sensory and anxiety issues and she neer complains. She already understands they her older sisters find the world had to cope with at times and does the best she can for them.

Anyway enough of boring old me, time to explore this site and find out more about all of you.


Sort:  

Good luck with your exploration. Steemit is a great sight and I am sure you will enjoy writing here. I noticed that you talk about your daughter with autism. I have a friend working with autistic children, and she loves it! Don't know you, but you might be interested in reading the following article: http://www.collective-evolution.com/2015/02/17/what-happened-when-they-treated-autistic-children-with-medical-cannabis/

Thanks for the link I will take a look

@tee-em thanks for the link to your post although you do say in it about adding value if you are going to leave a comment (not just a link) lol.
Good post though and have followed you and happy to leave your link on this page.

As a father of two boys (6 and 10) currently seeking diagnose for suspected Aspergers' I can somewhat relate to your story. It can't be easy. Cheers and lots of strength to your parenting!

Every days is a battle just changes wha it's about every day lol. Could be anything from the wrong spoon to just asking them to take their dishes out that starts a meltdown and the two are completely different it what sets them off. My sister-law has boys on the spectrum and in boys they tend to get more hyper than the girls from what I have seen.
They see the world in a different way and I sometimes wish that we could have a glimps of what it's like have to deal with things and see things as they do as it would help us to help them.
Good luck.

Ahh... these are so familiar issues. Spoons especially tend to trigger all kinds of tantrums if it's not the actual "special" kind of spoon. You are right, it would be nice to know, and especially to understand what goes inside those brains of theirs sometimes.