Beer Tasting - German Hefeweizen ('5th Element Beer Gerweiss' by Daruvar Brewery)

in #beer7 years ago

Big uncertainty in crypto world! I’d still like some alts and I am looking at a few. I’d love to buy STEEM but the chart isn’t promising! Do you see something there? Other than that, I took some time off to do some drinking in public.


The way I see it, some of those alts are becoming green due to massive BTC dominance and I just need to jump into the right one! Don’t do this at home. If you don’t have a stomach for it just sell everything for BTC, collect those extra coins and keep your peace of mind!

The three top picks! Help me decide!

ARK

Civic

Monero

Not shitcoins but not the big three either. What’ya think?


Good weather should be spent outside. Beer in hand is a bit of extra. Can you drink in public with impunity? We in Croatia sure can. It tastes like freedom! That’s @toniponi still refusing to post. Eh, he’ll come around.

Photo-shoot

5th Element Beer Gerweiss by Daruvar Brewery

StyleGerman Hefeweizen
CountryDaruvar, Croatia
Alcohol4.5%
--------------
AppearancePale gold to ochre. Hazy. Pillowy head.
AromaWeak aroma of wheat. Distant banana and grain.
TasteLacks that wheat sweetness. Quite plain. Just toned down in every aspect. A bit like diluted wheat with water. No taste comes to the front all that much.
PalateMedium carbonation. Watery. Nothing terrible here but no shining qualities. Modest aftertaste.
--------------
OverallI don't really like this one. If I'm drinking wheat it has to be really good. I can get Paulaner in almost every shop at a low price. No reason for anyone to buy this. On the bright side, it's nice to see the team experimenting!
Score (subjective)9/20

Price: 11 kuna (1.75$) for 0.5 ml. Supermarket. Mid-range.

This review was improved by RateBeer!



Nearing the bottom. Bearish!
Please drink with style and responsibility!

Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @rynow @detlev @professorbromide @costopher - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Need some post visibility and promotion? Use @bellyrub bot! Still not enough? Trade or earn BUILDTEAM tokens! Better Steemit future right now. By @buildteam.

Buy BTC with Coinbase. Don’t want to spend money and you don’t like writing posts? How about a daily FREE sports betting by @sportsncoffee?


I don’t usually do referrals but this ICO is pretty new. Maybe check it out, maybe invest. Do tell me if you have a good hunch! It’s called Refind and you get some coins if you register. Link in the blue word!

There are other Steemians who wrote about it already. Links:

https://steemit.com/ico/@dawidrams/get-20-free-refind-tokens-new-ico

https://steemit.com/steemit/@andreolf/20-refind-coins-giveaway-who-will-be-the-lucky-one-challenge-1

https://steemit.com/kr-coin/@bogarti/refind-20

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@zonacoins/unete-a-refind-y-obten-20-tokens-gratis


I offer good curation rewards if you’d like to follow my trail! Find me in chat or discord. Same username. Earn while you sleep! Expect @professorbromide, @cheftony, @anejosua’s vote and many more when I upvote!

Sort:  

That is one cloudy wheat beer. I am long ARK. I think this token has big potential. Plus I voted for a delegate who pays out, so it's like I'm getting a dividend to hold ARK.

I really can't understand what's happening with Steem my friend! We are all hoping for it to rise...but still waiting! Time will tell us what's really happening! or maybe the rise will happen only after the launch of SMTs!
Seeing your note on this beer says it all mate! To be avoided at any cost! Lol!
Wish you a great Sunday ahead!

It is keeping $$ value at 1$ at least. Heh.

What’ya think?

I think that Hefeweizen done right is one of my all time favorites, some of the best ones I've ever had, had a very faint minty flavor that made it exotically delicious. It's always sad when it misses the mark....oh, whoops, you were asking about the crypto weren't you... :) (I'll ask my husband's opinion on that tomorrow for you, he has an excellent track record on making the right calls, as for me, I'll stick to beer recommendations, lol ;)

I should really just follow some good trader. Every alt I pick lately just dumps on me. He'll probably tell you I should keep to BTC, lol.

I always find share charts look far more appealing after a few beers, and of course what goes down must come up. That looks like a superb beer, and great weather to enjoy it. In the UK we are restricted to our own gardens or the outside areas of pubs for our outdoor tipple.

Good post.

Not a fan of weizen, think I prefer altcoins.
I may just stick to altbier from Duesseldorf, a good middle ground

Hehe. Good one!

Great pictures, and I specially liked the one with you on the bench cool 😆 you are tight in nice weather you should enjoy it outside.
Hope the beer was good.. Lol
Have a wonderful weekend. Cheers beers

Yummy looking beer. I was watching eth, but it seems to have hit a resistance

Hey @buzzbeergeek, your posts always makes me so peckish for a good beer but today I'm all out of luck as "Systembolaget" closes at 3pm on saturdays unfortunately. I'll join you next week! 👍😀

Sverige_reko

What's your opinion on Stratis? It took a few serious hits, but I still believe in that coin.

I'd say it's hit the rock bottom but these are uncertain times. Look for signs of reversal if you are planning on buying. If you hodld... Well no sense in selling now I guess.

Haha nope, no point in selling now. But it could become my sick kid between the healthy others who seem to be holding up pretty well, despite the whole Bitcoin rally. We'll see what it brings in the long run.

4.5 % ahan German Hefeweizen looks cool :)

hey @buzzbeergeek....nice view
images (1).jpg

Wow my dear @buzzbeergeek, I really love to beer before I told you from previous comment. Beer gives some of advantage for our life. Use little bit some limit of beer can be romantic, sexy, kindly, enjoyable and talented man or woman.
Your photography showing me beer is wonders of the world.
Upvoted/ Resteemed

Such a fantastic post you sharing @buzzbeergeek

download (1).jpg

CHEERS!~~~~~~~~~

This post received a 5.68% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @buzzbeergeek! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Great post with a precious pictures. I love hefeweizen and when i travel in Germany i drink em almost everyday. during my visit in Germany i learn the recipe of Hefeweizen , i would like to share it with you.
Developing a hefeweizen recipe is straightforward, and it’s a lovely beginner style. Aim for an original gravity around 1.050 (12.3° P), or a couple of ticks on either side, using a grist of anywhere from 50 to 70 percent malted wheat. The remainder can be Pilsner malt, or use light Munich malt for a little extra bready character. Some acidulated malt may be called for to get the mash pH into the sweet spot. Extract brewers can simply use liquid or dried wheat malt extract, which is usually 65 percent wheat and 35 percent pale malt. Steeping a bit of dextrin malt can add fresh malt character.

Tettnang hops are intimately associated with this beer style, but any noble (or noble-ish) variety will do. You only need a bittering charge to the tune of 12 IBU or so, and truth be told, you can achieve that with just about any hop you happen to have on hand. Stay away from hops that deliver a harsh bitterness, though. We’re after a soft, inviting sort of bitter.

The mash can be as simple as a single infusion at 150° F (66° C), but a traditional decoction mash with rests in the mid to upper 140s °F (mid 60s °C) and the upper 150s to low 160s °F (low 70s °C) can promote a more attenuative wort with enhanced malt character. An optional mash rest at 110° F (43° C) promotes the development of ferulic acid, which hefeweizen yeast later converts to 4-vinyl guaiacol, the compound responsible for the style’s signature clove character. Once you’ve collected your wort, an hour’s boil with a single hop addition at the beginning is all that’s needed.

Fermentation temperature is fairly forgiving, and great hefeweizen can be made just about anywhere in the 60 to 66° F (16 to 19° C) range, but a relatively cool fermentation around 62 to 64° F (17 to 18° C) tends to produce the best results. This is a beer style that benefits greatly from an open fermentation, so if your sanitation is good, consider simply covering your bucket or carboy with loose sanitized foil. If you’re unsure, just use your usual sealed fermentation protocol, but leave plenty of headspace and use a blowoff tube. Hefeweizen yeast is aggressive!

When fermentation is complete, package and enjoy your hefeweizen as soon as possible. It’s meant to be consumed young, and it’s entirely possible to go from grain to glass in two weeks if you keg your beer. Aim for 3 to 3.5 volumes (6 to 7 g/L) of carbon dioxide, but beware—this level of carbonation can cause many “normal” beer bottles to explode. If you bottle, use a thicker glass that can handle the elevated pressure, or go with plastic PET bottles to be totally safe.

Hey @buzzbeergeek, your posts always makes me so peckish for a good beer but today I'm all out of luck as

good informative post
my friend
thank you so much