Deep-Fried Mars Bar Beers!

in #beer4 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20200328184118931.jpg

Excuse me, good sir. Could you cover that Mars Bar in batter and deep fry it?

Are you fucking insane? That is the maddest thing I have ever heard. But fuck it, alright then.

And thus, the Scottish (probably Glaswegian) legend of the deep-fried Mars Bar was born.

To paraphrase Wikipedia...

A deep-fried Mars bar is a Mars bar dipped in batter normally used for deep-frying fish and shit like that and then fried in a deep fat fryer also normally used for frying fish, sausages and other shit.

I mean it's bloody nuts. Is it true though you ask? I would like to say no. I have never met anyone from Glasgow who has tried one or knows someone who has tried one. There are also very few places that claim to make them as it can make their oil a bit funny.

So, no. It's a fucking myth.

But to celebrate that myth, what do we have on the menu tonight? We have a Deep-fried Mars Bar Stout!

It's crazy but it might just work.

To accompany that we have a Spiced Blueberry stout.

Sounds fabby to me.

As they say in the Northern Marches of England, my mouth is dribbling like an old Labrador's banjingo!

Let's go!

139117-picsay_20200201104054020_20200208161309907_20200328184814514.jpg

Spiced Blueberry... Sounds as if it would be quite nice in a tart?

It claims to be a Stout brewed with lots of oats for smoothness then blueberry juice for a fruity patooty and cardamom for the spice.

It could be said that this is a beer that doesn't know if it is Arthur or Martha!

20200328_200040.jpg

I think we should find out if its gib is worth the cutting.

Blueberries don't sound like they belong in beer and cardamom even less so. And you know what? They don't, this is vile. Absolutely vile. 2/10 booms and that's generous because I'm going a little lockdown crazy.

Next!

139117-picsay_20200201104054020_20200208161309907_20200328185251267.jpg

And the alleged star of the show. The deep-fried fucking nonsense.

I wonder if it will smell slightly of fish. I mean, it's not ideal but if the odd manky bahjeen can get away with it?

Tally ho!

20200328_201508.jpg

Looky look, no fishy smell but a delicious sweet caramel wafting from it. Promising! Inky black with just a little fizz like an otter's piss.

Hot damn, it really really smells amazing though!!

Let's get down and dirty.

Well, this is a delight! It is so sticky, so sweet and yet such a delicious beery tang cutting through it all, hops and barley then vanilla.

It's like eating a big caramel cake directly from the many breasts of Kali, God of Death.

Reminds me of the time I fought a herd of giant bats and after a terrible battle in which I slew half of them the leader made parley with me and I ended up marrying his daughter and becoming King of the BATS!

Good times. 9/10 booms!!

20200328_202107_20200328202230163.jpg

That was an awesome beering and no mistake! Cheers everyone, stay safe!

Sort:  

Dude it's not a myth!! I've had one before in America. Portland actually. It was quite a few years ago but my wife and I were in the city and there was a carnival type thingy that we walked past. It looked fun so we went in and played some games, rode on some rides, and ate carnival food. Turns out one of the stalls was selling deep fried mars bars so we got one!! It was pretty intense, kinda weird but good at the same time. Good in that way that you feel very bad afterwards. I felt shame for sure, and guilt. But I also enjoyed it, and that made me feel more shame. Anyhow, they are real, I swear it.

No way!!! That's awesome! In a totally shameful way. Lol

I always thought it was something invented by the English to taunt us Scots with. But if it's over there and someone else said Canada too,I don't feel quite so bad.

Still not trying one though. You are a brave man!!

hahaha, yeah it's a real thing for sure. Leave it to the Americans, they'll deep fry anything haha. I'm not gonna lie I didn't mind it, but after two bites I honestly couldn't handle another. you're not missing much

I am happy enough to know that some other soul was brave enough!!

Not had a sinker in a while! Blueberries sounds good, but feet does not!

On to the Mars bar! On paper I would have selected this one over many a beer, glad it fits the bill!

Cheers! Oh wait, it's Monday morning, wrong vessel :D

It seems like so long ago now! I fair enjoyed that second one. I had an idea that it might be good. I would have been very annoyed if it was guff!

Another weekend with one really good and one hella dodgy? XD Looks like the can was the only good thing about the big blue? (it is a very impressive looking can)

Has that giraffe always been there or is it a new friend? XD

The can was a lovely looking thing so yes it was the best bit!

The lockdown means that the house is becoming a stramash. Toys everywhere!! :0)

That blueberry beer looks disgusting!! It almost looks like mud in a glass! I have 0 beers at home during this quarantine... not sure what to do or how I'm going to survive!

Zero!!! That is not a good number to have right now!

It did look like mud, a most displeasing colour for a stout!

'ground up feet' - hahaha.., I guess you downed more than one King of the Bats, or you would be able to handle hiveconnect.. :)

IT took a few goes but I am on it. I can't be bothered setting up a stack of rules so for the moment, there is just you!

You can use the copy function, set the rules.. for one of them and then copy it. It makes a dupe and you then need to adjust the name and weight.

image.png

I just noticed the copy bit. Iwill get onto it in the morning I think!!

They fry the mars bar here in the Canada, eh. I don't know why and I never had one either. I could probably make that brew with a beer, a bar, and a blender. Maybe throw some flour in there. Yeah. That's what I'll do today...

Jings, really? It is a mental concept. One I have no wish of trying. I prefer my fried food to be savoury.

I think you should go for it, then drink it and repeat many times to make sure you have it right!

Can't find the blender blade. Might have to whip it by hand. I'm not even kidding.

But I only have three beers left and a mars bar I wanted to actually eat at some point. I've been putting it off for days. This is hard.

That is hard, hold fire on the blending!

Shit, what to do, what to do?

Burn something?

Burn something. That's a good idea but I just smoked a big one maybe half hour ago, with a cop.

Burn the cop! OR smoke him or something! It's the only way!

That second one sounds amazeballs!! Mouth is watering!

It really was, corps have been a wee bit stronger but that's hardly a fault!

Ha, we're getting spoiled with the high alcohol stouts!

We are, I saw that dragon milk one you had as well shortly before Lockdown. Can't wait to get it!

Cool nice :-)

I just want say Hi to you. 🤜🤛

One out of two is a success these days. I thought everyday would be a Saturday now you are all locked up. It just doesn't feel right being at home so much with no escape routes. Deep fried or boiled is what I was asked when I ordered a burger once. You just know you are not safe and that type should be nowhere near a kitchen.

Yikes, that would have been a bad sign!! I am trying to imagine boiled!

I have tried to keep it for the weekends so that there is some difference between the endless days inside!!

I know what you mean. This ain't fun as I think 1 week is ok but 3 is going to be a struggle.

I don't know what it's like there but our cases are still going up and up. I am thinking the three weeks might not be enough!

We are two weeks in and it is damned hard

If our lot don't stay inside it is just going to spread even more. This lot see it as a party time and are drinking on the streets. I am dreading the idea of an extension as I need to get back to my business as soon as possible. I know the country can't afford this right now and it is worrying.

It is worrying. I read our for shopping today and loads of people weren't caring and just acting normal. Fucking dicks.

They are just going to keep us in doors that much longer. Just don't understand the mentality of everyone as they don't get it. I think the idea of it as just flu was a bad thing really as it effects people differently. Not only the old and week, but anyone can get this as healthy people have died as well. I need to get back to making money as soon as possible now that our currency was down graded. Hive is more valuable than my currency right now and hadn't looked at it that way. Bloody scary if you ask me.

Oh, what were you thinking with the first? Even if you were three weeks under house arrest, that stuff wouldn't be good.

LOL

On the other hand, I think I will just make some hot butter. :)

Upped and Reposted

!tip

🎁 Hi @meesterboom! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.