Trippy Cake Beer

in #beer4 years ago

1588318572-picsay_20200502121856187_20200620130902828.jpg

It's Saturday again and you know what I could be doing with? A big slice of cake!!

What, you thought I was going to say beer? HA! Maybe I am gonna combine the two! A cake beer! How awesome does that sound? Well, to me at least. I can see some people recoiling in disgust at the idea of a beer that tastes like a cake.

It's like a horse that moos like a cow.

Hopefully, this beer won't be mooing as I tug on its udders!

But this isn't just a cake beer. Oh no. This is more, it is a beer that promises to have a hallucinogenic sweetness. Like we were in the sixties dropping acid baby!!

Yeah, let's peace out and shit and fight the bomb or something.

What was it hippies were always peacing out about? Who knows? Who even cares.

I knew a hippie once. He smelled quite untoward as if he did things with dogs penises. Yuk. Shouldn't be allowed I say. Dogs are for Christmas, not night-time fumblings.

Fuck the hippies and their greasy genitals and let's leave them to their sour lentils that's what I say!

So, to the cake beer. It is the wondrous...

139117-picsay_20200201104054020_20200208161309907_20200404144526360_20200411101038170_20200620131119683.jpg

I don't think I have heard of this brewers before? Ølkymisten... Sounds like an orifice?

They claim that their beer is the equivalent of ‘70s, psychedelic therapy. Which of course, sounds like utter twaddle. But, it is the kind of twaddle I like to hear.

I like it when brands have a bit of pizazz about them. Not scared to front up with some wild claims and the like.

The important thing is though, can they back it up?

Let's see!

20200619_204543.jpg

Raar, look at this little beauty. It pours well, almost thick like treacle. The body is silky black like a penguin's wing, The head is a fizzing frothy caramel coloured devil. The smell of vanilla and bitter malty beer is pouring off it like dry ice at an eighties disco.

I am all a jitter with the excitement of surfing on this slick-looking black sea of a beer!

CAKE! It really is cake like. Almost too sweet at times but the sheer power of the alcohol manages to cut a wedge through that cake-like heavy sweetness. It is a thick, coating mouth beer. I almost worry for my poor teeth but this stuff won't last long enough to rot them.

Down the hatch with a 9/10 booms!! Oh I do like to be beside the seaside!

Looks like I am having my cake and DRINKING it!!

Cheers everyone, stay safe!

20200619_204252.jpg

Sort:  

It's thick... It's bitter... It's very sweet... A little like my first girlfriend.

Two timing harlet, I knew she was 'stepping out' on me... Oh wait nobody has used that expression since that 80's disco dry ice was flowing freely, right?

Oh man, I'm not sure... I mean cakebeer... Beercake, right?

When I wrote a comment to you yesterday, I was thinking, am I sterotyping and being offensive with this Scottish, drinking tired old link ((there may or may not have been Shrek, Braveheart references)) but nope! I see I was entirely justified 😁in fact I may not have gone far enough...

Looks like I am having my cake and DRINKING it!!

Sir that signoff alone deserves a 9/10 booms!!!

You may be wondering if you really carried off the psychedelic element of the whole ensemble... You did... Oh by God you did!

Stay safe, live long and prosper and why am I drinking whisky right now and you are drinking that! It's like the bloody twilight zone! Call yourself a bloody Scotsman, huh?

Haha!! I should be the one drinking whisky and you the beer. Oh but wait, I am right now drinking whisky as or it's the night after the beer night!! Raat too the whisky!!

Yes indeed, I believe there were braveheart/Shrek mentions, I found them very funny! Hehe. I always like Mike Myers impression of a Scotsman. It was at his best inSo I Married and Axe Murderer... I think that was the name. I currently don't have the strength to Google it :0)

The cake beer, it was quite superb. I am quite harsh on ones that promise what they can't believe but this genuinely did. Reminds me of a cinnamon bun beer I once reviewed. It really did taste like a cinnamon bun!

Good times!!! ;0D

I loved ((love and will love... I get confused about past/present/future tense sometimes!!!)) So I married an axe murderer!!!

A workmate and I almost came to blows this week when he didn't rate the film and I stated ((quite reasonably and indubitably correctly)) that he was clearly an idiot... I loved the beatnik poetry shows he used to take part in, all revolving round his ex's. Ahh! Now I remember he played his characters father...

"Oi Heed, get oot the wae of mah telly..." Or some such nonsense.

I am incredibly fascinated by the craft beer scene and some of the independent breweries I read about, maybe I am missing a trick. I should perhaps expand my palate... Nooo not with cinnamon bun flavoured beer, one step at a time lol.

I think you just inspired me to try video content it's a chance to put ones personality across in a new way, right... Although vapid personality vacuum was one of my reviews on TripAdvisor. Three weeks off work... I can do this...

Sleep well BoomyOne 🙂

Hehe, cheers! I did sleep well!!

See, I too am fascinated by the craft beer scene. Although a mere few years ago, I had almost zero interest. It wasn't until I was in wholefoods of all places and I passed their beer section that I was like, what in the world are these!?

It was the branding/logos/artwork that stew me and then I read the flavours and I was like, these are mental. At first I stick to the pales and then I started branching out. Next thing you know I am seeking out the weird and wonderful!!

I would say go for it and go for video too!! It's quite fun if you just totally relax!

When I was skimming with esteem or whatever they've changed their name to this morning I initially read the title as "tripe cake beer" and I was like wtaf crazy people xD

Lol. That works be one I would definitely have to try but it works be a challenge!!!!

You had me at Cake, @meesterboom and, again, I'm eating it and drinking the beer as ALL digital carbs do nothing to one's figure, so the A.I. controlling my robot brain plant tells me... :)

There were a lot of bands in that one I would fancy but yes, digital one are zero!!! Or perhaps a collection of 1's and zeros!! :0D

Oooo I think I would try this because I like dark beer. If it would be overly sweet maybe I would pass😂😂 I love your accent it's so cool. Glad you did not throw this into the bushes😂As sweet as it is, your garden would have become a Lord of the Flies place. And insects. Sticky chocolately insects. 😂😂

It would be great to see a full video with you opening the can, pouring it into to mug to achieve perfect foam and have a taste. That's the geek side of me. Anddd checking the label and the ingredients. Ooo that would be cherry on the top😂😂

I would be more than happy to do such a video but then I look at the viewing stats on YouTube and I am like yeek :0D

I am glad that I didn't have to throw this one away, two weeks of throwing away world have had me questioning the gods of beer!! Hehe

I am not very popular yet either. But never know. You'll keep drinking beer and make awesome videos anyway. And I'll watch it, together with other fans of yours. Beerniac😂

Yes indeed, the only way is to and you have to keep on plugging away!!

Amazing that they were able to pull that off. I was giving it a 50 - 50 of it going south. I like Chinese food coz they can pull off spicy and sour and still taste great. I have to say I enjoy the clips. Video really conveys it all so well.

Video is magic. I would do longer clips but the stats don't give me the urge :0)

Hello dear friend @meesterboom good afternoon
I have to admit I had no faith in this beer, who would want a beer pie conviction.
You really surprised me with the 9/10 rating for that sweetness. Excellent.
It is a learning not to prejudge antipathy.

Enjoy your beer day

Or is definitely a thing not to get in the habit of, in thought it would be a bit trickier myself and was so very happy when it wasn't!!

Cheers mate!

That you enjoy your beer in the company of your beautiful family.
Happy night and a good rest

If I could get those pesky kids to bed earlier I might be able to enjoy it myself in peace ;0)

you are very right, children are annoying, but they are also the things we love and give meaning to our lives.

Nice swift one,

That sounds delicious I must say!

Especially when I has been on just the lagers!

It's a summer thing!

I know that summer thing well. I have more often than not been on the IPAs! This made a nice meaty change! :0)

Sounds pretty impressive - I love the can design and big sweet beers can work as long as they are balanced with a bit of alcohol which this one sounds like it is.

Yeah, if it didn't have that big alcohol kick then it world never have been able to pull it off!

Was only when I saw the pictures I see you were serious!
10% abv ffs I’d be flat on my back after 2

I felt a bit iffy after 2 I must say. I go by a rule of always getting 2 just in case they are really good. It backfires when they are shit and it backfires when they are super strong, lol!

One day I will learn

Love that idea

I do more often than not, hehe

😂 👍 🍺

Ølkymisten.
Remember having had one about a year ago in Sweden.
But believe it's from Norway originally.
Was a bit "different" but still a good beer indeed.

It's the first I have tried from them and I was impressed!!!

I knew they had the sound of a Nordic sorry of country!! I will keep my eye out for more by them!

Sounds lush, I am a fan of sweet and strong! Will the good lady be sampling this one?

I had enough ale last night, wine for me this eve!

Shes right now sipping on a jalapeno IPA! I will be moving on to them next!

Was it a rough one this morning then?

A what now?! Can we get a snap review?!

A bit fuzzy this morning yeah, still a bit fuzzy but I'm hoping this glass of red and the pizza will help :D

Hehe, a glass of red is a great curative for all ailments but particularly those of the night before.

The stuff is magic!!

20200620_180545.jpg

Zingy with lime and really spicy with the jalapeno!! I love it!

Sounds awesome!

I hear 4th July is pub opening day and hopefully my local will have some new stuff to try. I also hope to still be Furloughed so I can try lots :D

Hehe, I hope the furlough lasts for it then!!

That will be awesome. Will still be a bit nerve wracking in a pub but the soonest things go back to normalish the better!

Cheers :)

I'll be sitting outside if possible, and perhaps collecting takeouts!

You surprised me at first and then you said you make cake flavored beer...Actually it looks great but I wondered taste of it...I generally like orange lemon flavored beer...Anyway...Cheers...

And have a nice weekend...

Tasted like vanilla and chocolate!! It is very nice!!

Cheers mate, have a good weekend yourself!!

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh, you really got your cake and ate it! Seriously, you really have the luck of the Irish for a Scot!

Cheers!!!

I'm on to wine now!

!tip

image.png

That looks like a fine red!!

It was brilliant! :)

Woot woot!! Successful wine is always good!

🎁 Hi @meesterboom! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

A cake with 10% kick, sounds like a good cake!!
!BEER
Cheers!!


Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.