You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beer Review [5]: Gluten-Free Beer? With Lentils? Olallie Blackberry Rose Hip Ale from Ground Breaker Brewing in Portland, OR

in #beer6 years ago

Lentils which I used to love and ate far too many of do not agree with me. Last summer I tried Mead and that was amazing. Have you tried Mead?

Sort:  

Is it something like this?

I've never made it. I don't have the wardrobe but this is the brand that I have had. Given so many are getting into the apiary hobby, maybe mead could have a resurgence. Unknown.jpeg

Despite all the panic over the death of bees, it sure seems to be a glut of honey in the market.
Everywhere you go there are gallons of honey for sale. People also seem to avoid it more due to the reluctance to eat anything resembling sugar.

Maybe mead will save the honey market.

I am one of those sugar phobes but a nice dry mead is divine:)

That looks like an interesting set of flavors!

If you are ever in Vancouver during the summer months, it is sold at the West End's Farmers Market.

That's pretty simple ingredients!

Too bad about your lentil overload! I wonder if you would have a reaction from the beer. I have never tried mead. I'm not big on the cider-like beers that are sweet. Is mead more like wine or does it still taste like beer? I'll have to check out some mead! :D

I really don't like sweet alcohol. Mead I guess can be sweet but these guys have aimed for the dry. They put hops into one and so it is very similar to beer in that way and the citrus one too overs balance. To the lentil beer ... it would depend if the phytates and lectins have been neutralized in the fermentation. I would have to do research to find out. Chances are the phytates aren't there because they are a fiber but some of the lectin protein probably remains. Lectins makes my skin itch something fierce. Depends if there is any residual protein content left in the beer? I don't think alcohol companies have to supply nutritional information.

Wow! That's the same sort of issue all the gluten-free beer industry is dealing with. Some places "remove" the gluten, but there are still traces left. Others brew in places where gluten-bearing ingredients could have been in a container. And others are in a completely gluten-free facility. I'm always amazed by the variety of foods that people are sensitive or allergic to. It's good that there are requirements to include ingredient labels! I'm glad you can enjoy the mead! : )