Beer Review [5]: Gluten-Free Beer? With Lentils? Olallie Blackberry Rose Hip Ale from Ground Breaker Brewing in Portland, OR

in #beer6 years ago

Lentils in a beer? That's what the label says! Come into my post and find out more about this gluten-free beer from Ground Breaker Brewery in Portland, Oregon. It's Olallie Blackberry Rose Hip Ale!

x gluten free ollalie TN.jpg


Why Make Gluten-Free Beer?

Beer is barley! At least, barley and beer have been synonymous for a long time. Early beer purity laws, like the 1516 Bavarian law said that the only ingredients allowed were barley, water and hops. These days, a lot of other grains are used to make beer. But wheat and rye, and all their hybrids, like spelt, have gluten, too.

Some folks are sensitive to gluten. Folks with Celiac disease can't have any gluten at all! The number of folks wanting to avoid gluten must be huge. Because there are entire breweries that make nothing but gluten-free beer!

x gluten free ollalie 1.jpg
Olallie Blackberry Rose Hip Ale is made by Ground Breaker Brewing in Portland, Oregon. Not only is Olallie certified to be free of gluten, no gluten-grains are even allowed in the brewery. That reduces the risk of cross-contamination that could cause problems for folks that just can't tolerate any gluten at all.

x gluten free ollalie 2.jpg
Look at that list of ingredients. No barley. No wheat. I've seen rice and sorghum in beer before. But not tapioca or lentils! And I was surprised to see one ingredient left out of this list. What is it?

x gluten free ollalie TN.jpg
Rose hips! I think that's an error in the can's design, because this is a Blackberry Rose Hip Ale, after all!


How Does It Taste?

I'm going to start writing down what I think a new beer is going to taste like. It would have been worth doing for this beer. This beer should taste like blackberries. It's even in the name -- Olallie. That's a variety of blackberry developed in the 1930s from crossing blackberries, raspberries, and dewberries.

In @jaybird's recent Steemit Sandwich Challenge, he had a Gluten-free sandwich theme. I made a wild field mustard wrap, complete with gluten-free chips and a gluten-free beer.

x gluten free ollalie 4.jpg
This beer went really well with my wild field mustard wrap, filled with a mix of tofu, wild carrots, home-made pickles and wildflowers. And gluten-free pumpkin seed corn chips. Eating and drinking gluten-free can be mighty tasty!

Olallie is a light-tasting beer. To me, it seems thin -- the complete opposite of a thick stout or porter! And, wow, it's an acidic beer. I'm not against that, but I kept thinking, wow, this is an acidic beer! Maybe that's the rose hips coming through. Maybe it seemed so acidic because it's not a sweet beer. It has a great blackberry flavor, but it's not sweet. If you like fruit beers, but aren't so fond of how they can seem too sweet, you might like Olallie Blackberry Rose Hip Ale!

x gluten free ollalie 3.jpg
In a glass, this is a pretty, pretty beer! The deep rose color makes it worth pouring into a glass, rather than drinking straight from the can! Olallie details: 4.5% ABV, 30 IBU. So that's a low alcohol, low bitterness beer. Made with Olallie blackberries and Crystal hops.


Gluten-Free Beer Resources

If you know folks searching for beer that's gluten free, here are some resources to help.


A Contest!

This is the first beer I've ever had with beans in it! Tell me a joke about beans! I'll pick my favorite one submitted during this post's payout period. And the winner will get a $1 SBD prize.

giphy (34).gif
Lentils! Who knew beans could make a good beer! Let me know if you ever see Pinto beans in a beer!


What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever had an Olallie beer?
  • Have you ever had a gluten-free beer?
  • Do you prefer your beer in a bottle or a can?
  • Do you like fruit beers?

My other beer reviews: An Eclipse Special - The 8.2 Lunar Lager // Helles Belles Helles Lager // Session Premium Lager // Pray for Snow Winter Ale


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

What did Farmer Green Genes mutter to his dirt field of much-too-late blooming plants as he stepped off his tractor for a much-needed gluten-free beer break in the shade?

"Where ya bean?"

To which the little plant hiding under a dirt clod by his boot replied:

"In the ground, where else?!!"

Ha!

Good beer review, as always! Ah! I would love to try this one which is fruit beer, (blackberry), low alcohol and low bitterness beer! And I would prefer drinking beer from a glass to see the color of it, as you did! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo! You and @blacklux would like this, I think. It has such a good blackberry flavor. I have other beers to review that I think you won't like, lol. So enjoy this one! ; )

You're welcome! Ha ha! I think so.... The blackberry flavor is good for me, for sure! ;D

I think that is really cool that they make a specialty brew like that. My son Ben is allergic to nuts as well as dairy, so its important for us to find some pure types of products.

There is so much more specialty food like that around these days. It really is nice. I've got a cousin who has severe nut allergies. As a kid, before all the rules we've got now, he had so many close calls and emergencies. Here's to the specialty foods!

Lentils which I used to love and ate far too many of do not agree with me. Last summer I tried Mead and that was amazing. Have you tried Mead?

Is it something like this?

I've never made it. I don't have the wardrobe but this is the brand that I have had. Given so many are getting into the apiary hobby, maybe mead could have a resurgence. Unknown.jpeg

Despite all the panic over the death of bees, it sure seems to be a glut of honey in the market.
Everywhere you go there are gallons of honey for sale. People also seem to avoid it more due to the reluctance to eat anything resembling sugar.

Maybe mead will save the honey market.

I am one of those sugar phobes but a nice dry mead is divine:)

That looks like an interesting set of flavors!

If you are ever in Vancouver during the summer months, it is sold at the West End's Farmers Market.

That's pretty simple ingredients!

Too bad about your lentil overload! I wonder if you would have a reaction from the beer. I have never tried mead. I'm not big on the cider-like beers that are sweet. Is mead more like wine or does it still taste like beer? I'll have to check out some mead! :D

I really don't like sweet alcohol. Mead I guess can be sweet but these guys have aimed for the dry. They put hops into one and so it is very similar to beer in that way and the citrus one too overs balance. To the lentil beer ... it would depend if the phytates and lectins have been neutralized in the fermentation. I would have to do research to find out. Chances are the phytates aren't there because they are a fiber but some of the lectin protein probably remains. Lectins makes my skin itch something fierce. Depends if there is any residual protein content left in the beer? I don't think alcohol companies have to supply nutritional information.

Wow! That's the same sort of issue all the gluten-free beer industry is dealing with. Some places "remove" the gluten, but there are still traces left. Others brew in places where gluten-bearing ingredients could have been in a container. And others are in a completely gluten-free facility. I'm always amazed by the variety of foods that people are sensitive or allergic to. It's good that there are requirements to include ingredient labels! I'm glad you can enjoy the mead! : )

Lentils beer... didn't see that coming! I tasted once an indian coriander beer.... didn't like the taste... maybe because I hate coriander. 😅

I'm not a beer fan but I like the ones with fruit or rose taste. Im not really into alcohol, I'm more a water lover ha!

I was surprised about the lentils, too. Bean beer, lol. I like water, too. But sometimes a cold beer hits the spot! This had a good blackberry flavor. I'm not sure what I'd think about an Indian coriander beer, though. I have a couple spiced beers waiting for me to try -- maybe there will be coriander... I'll find a beer you will like, yet -- it's my challenge! : )

This is so far the only beer I like. It have a light framboise taste, also smell good. There's a grocery store near my house with an international beer section. So from time to time I pick one different. I already tasted beers from India, Belgium, Germany, USA, Rusia, Mexico and Finland. I think my problem is that I really hate the flavor of beer, you know, the basic flavor that every beer have. So if the beer don't taste like beer and have a fruity flavor its a win for me 😅

image

haha -- I'm glad you found one beer that doesn't taste like beer! This one does look good! My trouble is the opposite -- I really like the taste of beer. More than wine or soda. I'll have to keep my eyes open for your Raspberry Framboise!

You'll love it!! I wanna taste the rose beer. Im curious about it! 😅

Joke/riddle number two:

Beans beans,
the musical fruit.
The more you eat,
the more you toot.
The more you toot,
the better you feel.
So eat your beans,
for every meal!
Especially if it's added to a liquid-only diet of Olallie lentil beer. Then you will REALLY have something to TOOOT about...
( :

I wondered if somebody would post that old chestnut! I hope nobody is drinking their beans for every meal! ; )

It is a rather old nut, that's for sure. But fun none the less, in a 3rd grade sort of 'pench'.*

*(Non possessive? version of penchant)(If I have my English explanational vernacular down??)

This same brewery makes some of their beer with chestnuts. But I don't think they use old ones... ; )

I suppose a nut is a nut is a nut, unless it's just an everyday nut, then I suppose we're all nuts...and not really that old a one either (What IS he talking about???)

My favorite gluten free beer is DAURA

It’s made in Spain. I don’t drink American beers for the same reason I don’t drink tap water – Fluoride.
Also, I avoid aluminum cans.

Here’s the beans joke:
I like refried beans. That's why I wanna try fried beans, because maybe they're just as good and we're just wasting time. You don't have to fry them again after all.

Mitch Hedberg

Thanks for adding that beer! Here in Oregon, there aren't many places that use fluoride in their water. You can check whether your utility puts fluoride in your water at this site from the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: here. I can see that in my county, Lane County, Oregon, only 1 out of 69 utilities puts fluoride in their water.

Thanks for the joke, too! It would be nice to have 1-step fried beans, lol. : )

Unfortunately, my tap water is fluoridated. I haven’t had any in 5 years. But there is no way to avoid breathing it when taking a shower. The only filters I found that work on removing fluoride seem to use aluminum oxide. The thought of ingesting aluminum salts is equally displeasing.

I can appreciate your plight!

056E55E7-91F1-485C-B93E-C17B40E3669C.jpeg

Your post has been featured in this week's earth-centered curation @the-hearth.

Thanks for writing such fantastic and inspiring content!

Wow, I've gotta try this!

I hope you find some Olallie Blackberry Rose Hip Ale in your area. I'm not sure how widely their beer is distributed.

Outstanding post dear @haphazard-hstead your all post is very prosperous thank you for shere with us ...

Congratulations @haphazard-hstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!