Beer Saturday 220 - Return to Redline Part 1!

#BeerSaturday is at week 219 and I am checking in for a quick one before heading on the road.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I make a stop on a road trip and visit an old favourite to stock up for a camping trip.


image.png

Pint of the Week!

IMG_2112.jpg

Before we get going, I have to shine a spotlight on a beer enjoyed over business and pleasure during the past week. This week, it is a discussion over the latest brewery network we are building, and a crypto discussion revolving around the Helium Network https://www.helium.com/ This tasty beverage is one of a pair of tasty Buggy Whip IPAs https://untappd.com/b/abe-erb-brewing-company-buggywhip/869753from Abe Erb Brewery https://abeerb.com/, the original Waterloo location.

This is a beer I was happy to discover while helping with the computing network and point of sale system. What do you have for IPA? This. Immediately fell in love with the bold hoppy taste and full body. A brief scare came from the closing of the brewery a couple years ago but they are back in business and I love me some Buggy Whip.


image.png

Redline Brewery


IMG_2061.jpg

I was on my yearly pilgrimage to Magfest, a cottage-based music festival thrown by 100 of the coolest people you would ever want to camp with, and I had to make a detour to visit an old friend. Later on this week, I will have to share with you the Magfest adventure but let's stick to the Redline Brewhouse http://www.redlinebrewhouse.com/ for this post.


IMG_2060.jpg

You never know what you are going to get when you stumble into the bottle shop at your small-town craft brewery. I usually hope for full fridges, a fresh regular IPA, and a one-off playground brew I have no hope of getting back home. The first fridge looked a little like this without one of the special beers.


IMG_2059.jpg

The second fridge looked way more promising with the 650ml bottles, some familiar labels and others that were completely new. This might be good!

image.png

Single Hop Series


IMG_2107.jpg

The first pleasure I discovered was a pair of single hop experimental limited run brews. Truth be told, I am take it or leave it with single hops IPAs as I really enjoy the special combo of hops to create unique brews. With a single hop series, you get to really taste what a hop brings individually as far as taste and dryness/sweetness goes, and it is generally a fresh new taste.


IMG_2108.jpg

Being a playground brew, Spark: Ella http://www.redlinebrewhouse.com/the-beers/spark-ella/ doesn't have a second panel on the label to describe the ideas behind the brew or the specific ingredients. The website (which needs an SSL certificate and we would love to help that happen!) has a good write up which is encouraging before even sampling:
Our second ‘Spark’ series release of the year features Ella hops. Bold and complex flavours of grapefruit and peach lead into a tropical finish. A genetic sister-hop to Galaxy (one of our all-time favourites), Ella’s flavour profile is unique and yet pleasantly familiar. Using a similar grain bill as our previous ‘Spark’ release, Ella has the same soft mouthfeel and just the right amount of haze.

Seeing that I LOVE Galaxy hops in an IPA, I am pleased to learn of Ella hops as a genetic sister hop, and discover it in an ale where it is not crowded with a symphony of other hops. I do enjoy the well done ales that are lighter in alcohol than the typical IPA and have enjoyed Clutch APA from Redline as a perfect example of this.

Simply fine beer and I am looking forward to more in this series!

text16.png

5 Across the Lips!


IMG_2126.jpg

Next up is a beer that, for those who follow this blog know, would likely jump off the crowded shelf right into my hand. IPA really is for folks who like a frothy/hoppy punch in the mouth. Colourful and fun designs, good impact, hops sprinkled on the can as a purposeful afterthought, and a kangaroo which is considered exotic in these parts. You damn right I picked a few of these up!


IMG_2127.jpg

Here is that second label panel I love so much with the details of what to expect in Punch in the Mouth - Australian Hopped IPA http://www.redlinebrewhouse.com/the-beers/punch-in-the-mouth/ 6.9% ABV means you are in for a ride and theoretical IBU of 55 suggests that the wet-hopping and then combo punch of dry hopping with the same hops will make this one a battle not to be taken lightly.

It does smell serious and I was looking forward to Ella dancing with the rest of the uniquely Australian hops. There was a touch of dry and a hint of malt sweetness but the lack of a dry hop made it smooth to the finish though not timid. I pictured sampling this with some friends down under, raising my eyebrows in wonder and hearing Ozzie man saying something like "Fair dinkum really gits ya in tha wallabies doesn't it?!?" Now that is a really bad impression but it shows I need to get my ass to Australia for some beer and culture.....after they overcome the latest lockdown, rationing and control measures.

text16.png

'Til Next Time


IMG_2128.jpg

Feeling a little hazy after sampling a few of these, and I have another few to review in the next chapter of my love affair with Redline Breweries. Well done mates!

beerologistapproved.png

text16.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

220 straight weeks of raising a glass with @detlev and our global crew of beer lovers! Talk about consistency and, most likely, a smattering of functional alcoholism! Here is your chance to add your beer story and become an official beer blogger https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/220-weeks-of-damn-thirsty-beersaturday-time-to-join

This week, I am inviting my old friend @borjan in for a beer as I would love to kick back over a pint wherever he is currently adventuring.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Any beer long weekend plans??

Sort:  

Oh, you really do #BeerSaturday (on Sunday) justice! I say we just make it for the weekend, I enjoy it so much!

I raise my brew to you @zekepickleman !! I look forward to #221!

Hive on!

I would have a drink with you any day of the week old friend. Cheers!

Hi I've been asking around the community. I bought some beer tokens and I staked 24 on hive engine. Yet I think I did something wrong. Any pointers

What's the issue?

In order to give !BEER away, I think you may have to have more than that staked. For https://friends.beersaturday.com/hive, you may have to have liquid (unstaked) beer tokens to contribute to the case for the draw each week.

I think I just didn't realize that I needed to wait 24 hours before using it.

So that's a game tied to the beer token. I've never downloaded the hive key chain

Yes it is a must as a plugin for folks using the many different applications and front ends built for Hive. I hear they have the beer game on WAX too. Cheers!


Hey @dreamingirwin, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Here is some !PIZZA for your Saturday too.

Haha I will have to check into the Pizza tokens because I am a fan.

In the meantime, !BEER from the #beerologist!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

@zekepickleman! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dkid14.

Did you know PIZZA team has a curation trail with 29 followers? (5/10)


Hey @dkid14, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It's interesting but I'm realizing, that I'm the guy that marketing spent so much time designing their cans for. I worked grab a beer just because of the pictures on it. I love the punch in the face. Lol

Agreed.
I think the branding is a whole industry grasping at dumb straws because the craft beer space is so crowded. That and they are small time operators without a legitimate branding department.

Still, gotta be bold and eye-catching when you want new customers and are on a shelf that looks like this:

IMG_0827.jpg

The facepunch is legit!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7