Sort:  

Anybody can fork it now if they want to. I don't see many doing that. When you have a community of millions of users, that doesn't get replicated overnight by someone's code.

The current userbase of Steemit is 500k, golos.io is a fork of Steemit that has been done in cooperation with steem ink (the company behind steemit) and has already tens of thousands of users. It has been created solely for the Russian community, and since then you don't see much Russians on Steemit anymore. Wait for the Korean/Japanese/Chinese/German/French fork and several others. That's just proving how easily it can be forked. And when you take the story of myspace and FB into consideration, it is much much more possible for some company to overtake steemit with a more user-friendly interface. That's not a hating or trolling, but just looking straight into the facts, without emotions.

I actually think forks are better for some communities, but sidechains will enable more synergy.

I also believe in Steem but .. yes, there's a but - the reality that bites is that most cryptos are dependent on BTC's performance.

However, you are so right - we should focus more on promoting Steem! More noise on it could pump the market - some whale in the chat told me before and I've seen it happen so - it was during the whale wars when the Steem price went up. I don't like that 3 letter word but I guess making more noise about Steem would indeed make it more famous so guess what - the past few days I've been spreading the word to almost all of my social media and fingers crossed we're going to get more user influx than before - the next question is - would we be able to sustain it?

great to follow this post and your comments @donkeypong and @cryptocentral. I wish I would have been here earlier. Thanks for all the infos.