People Ask Me What’s Happening with Bitcoin. Here’s Why I’m Dreaming Bigger.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

DreamBig.jpg

Recently, my family and I went to an IMAX theater and my older daughter got to select the movie. She chose Dream Big, which turned out to be an amazing choice. If you are a parent and have not seen the movie yet, it is one of the best documentary films you will ever see. Civil engineers are the heroes and heroines who will give your kids fresh inspiration as they think ahead to future careers.

The movie profiles several engineers as they dream and design structures that save lives and solve real human problems. These include earthquake-safe buildings, bridges that span rivers, and underwater robots. The movie encourages children to think big and aim high, all the while appreciating the basic building blocks that education provides.

Here is the trailer (narrated by The Dude - can't beat that):

And it works. My kids left the movie realizing why they study so much math and science. For several days afterwards, they were building more patiently with LEGOs than I’d seen them do before. Without any help from me, they also made a functioning model car from a kit. And the two of them were working on these projects together as a team for hours at a time, which is far better than the fighting that often occurs. Given the timing, I attribute a lot of this to the movie.

I had a different reaction to Dream Big. I went home and sold all my Bitcoin.

Now you’re wondering two things. (1) What do I know about Bitcoin that you don’t? And (2) What did I put that money in, if not Bitcoin? But if you’re looking for technical analysis or inside information for short term gain, then you can close this post right now, because that isn’t me. I have much deeper reasons and I tend to think longer term than many people who invest in cryptocurrencies. I don’t care about next week; I’m thinking about next year.

I have been inspired to think bigger than Bitcoin. The bottom line is that Bitcoin is stuck in 2013 and the recent updates do nothing to improve its long term outlook. With all due respect to Satoshi and the great innovation that he created, it was a first generation prototype technology. Bitcoin was never designed for large-scale use.

DeadEnd.jpg

If you need a good primer on why Bitcoin’s recent changes/updates/forks/bandages/whocaresanymore do nothing to make it any better, then look no further than this great post from @modprobe , who understands the technology better than I ever will. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@modprobe/i-looked-into-segwit-and-here-s-what-i-saw

@modprobe ’s conclusions from that post include:

  1. Segwit, the main set of changes, addresses the malleability issue, which isn’t the main problem with Bitcoin.

  2. Slow confirmation times and transaction fees are the bigger problems. Bitcoin does not seem to have a fix for these looming obstacles.

  3. It remains to be seen how the changes in the fee structure will affect the Bitcoin economy.

  4. Witness data with rules and spending instructions are moved out of the main block, leaving an “anyone can spend me, there are no rules and no proofs” instruction.

  5. Therefore, the burden of honesty lies with miners to apply the rules from the witness data. As @modprobe explains, “miners could collude to steal everyone's segwit balances, but more likely, a government could force mining organizations to allow their transactions to steal bitcoins, reverse transactions, or whatever else…” With Bitcoin’s latest changes, “theft by miner collusion is a first class feature.”

Basically, my interpretation is that Bitcoin’s proponents (you could think of them the system’s “owners” or “controllers” at this point) are re-arranging deck chairs on its ship to nowhere. They are giving themselves handouts, jumping through hoops and creating crazy schemes to try and fix a prototype currency when those same problems have already been solved by later generation cryptocurrencies. And now they are splitting Bitcoin into multiple directions, diluting its strength and undermining any remaining confidence I would have in the power of its scale or dominance as a market leader.

Thinking Bigger

After seeing Dream Big, I don’t feel like settling for less, so I’m not going to hold and promote Bitcoin any longer. I wouldn’t settle for a job flipping burgers at McDonald’s either, so why should I bother to own a coin that often takes 40 minutes to confirm a transaction, which gets lost in perpetuity for two weeks if I forget to pay the miners’ fee? Is that the coin that’s going to achieve mass adoption? I think not; it’s ripe for disruption. The faster people recognize this instead of clinging on to yesterday’s news, the faster we’ll be able to build mass adoption for something better.

Speaking of miners, does anyone who cares about freedom and liberty still believe that Bitcoin is any less centralized than a central bank-controlled currency? Bitcoin has become controlled by a handful of huge miners, exchanges, and big money gateways. Segwit may buy the blockchain a little more time (mainly because that notion has been sold to us), but ultimately it makes the centralization problem worse and does nothing to prevent Bitcoin from hitting two big walls in the very near future: transaction fees and confirmation times. In contrast, Steem offers instant transactions and is free for most people to use, which it has accomplished with superior technology, not with smoke and mirrors.

Other crypto projects still rely on Bitcoin because we all need it as a layer to get in and out of an economy like Steem, which lacks its own gateways and ramps. But those will come along with mass adoption. I’m no longer going to hold and promote and help to prop up Bitcoin in an effort to receive some short-term gain. I’m squarely focused on building something better.

STEEM provides instant transactions, security, the ability to process tens of thousands of transactions per second and an ability to scale up much more. It is completely free for most people to use.

Steem is on track to have millions of users in the coming months. It is backed by a growing community centered around Steemit.com, a hub site that allows people to mine digital currency simply through their posting and social activity on this Reddit-style site. With all of those people building a growing use case for STEEM and Steem Dollars (SBD), the world will start to take notice of this cryptocurrency that is far better built than Bitcoin. We have already seen Steem’s growth begin to spiral virally in places like Korea, Indonesia, Nigeria, and in some urban and rural pockets of the United States and Europe. With some merchants in each of these places beginning to accept Steem or SBD, we will see the beginnings of a real economy in the coming months.

Let’s dream big and put our best foot forward. With all due respect to Bitcoin, it was a first generation prototype and I no longer feel the need to explain it to new people. I’ll be explaining only Steem along with some of the great sites and apps that use its blockchain, including Steemit, eSteem, Busy, and ChainBB, which are the first among many. Steem is the disruptive technology that will not only replace Bitcoin, but will help millions of new people realize the benefits of the blockchain. Every one of them makes us stronger and that’s why I’m investing in the people. Let’s build this.

Note: As an ode to Satoshi and his brilliant creation, I have an original physical Bitcoin from Casascius Mint, which I will keep as a historical relic. So technically, I still hold one Bitcoin. But I have sold my other BTC and won’t look back. Where have I put my money instead? I’ll give you one guess and I’m all in. Of course, none of the above should be construed as investment advice. I don’t trade; I believe.

Image credits
Top: McGillivray Freeman Films.
Steem video, courtesy of @the-alien
Other images not subject to copyright.

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

That's right, Steemit is the short / mid-term future. Don't want to be a killjoy, but Steemit's mid-/longterm future may be not so bright as we all wish it would be. What do I mean?

First, let's have a look at Bitshares: BitShares is built to be fast, efficient and scalable to handle the tens of thousands of transactions per second that go with being a decentralized exchange: Openledger.io.

Now, Dan Larimer, the visionary programmer of BitShares AND Steemit is now developing EOS.

And he has announced in interviews, that he sees his work with Bitshares and Steemit finished. So he is currently putting all his "steam" into EOS :). He has also stated, that with EOS, everybody (meaning developers) will be able to create platforms like STEEM/Steemit and Bitshares/Openledger.io easily and even much more. And let's be honest, Steemit is still in Beta and needs a ton of improvement. So what speaks against another platform overtaking Steemit? Especially with a really good marketing (Steemit still has no marketing).

This post won't get much likes as usual, as we won't smear honey around people's mouth and tell them what they want to hear, we'll continue to tell you the truth, no matter what, that's our mission.

I've been a loyal follower of Dan for more than three years and through BitShares, Steem, and EOS. I think EOS is great and I hope it will have some great synergies with other projects.

I'm still all in on Steem.

Hope for the best for Steemit, but could you at least take a position on our arguments? Why should people go all in on Steem, but not in EOS? Just because they "believe" in it?

Anybody can fork it now if they want to. I don't see many doing that. When you have a community of millions of users, that doesn't get replicated overnight by someone's code.

The current userbase of Steemit is 500k, golos.io is a fork of Steemit that has been done in cooperation with steem ink (the company behind steemit) and has already tens of thousands of users. It has been created solely for the Russian community, and since then you don't see much Russians on Steemit anymore. Wait for the Korean/Japanese/Chinese/German/French fork and several others. That's just proving how easily it can be forked. And when you take the story of myspace and FB into consideration, it is much much more possible for some company to overtake steemit with a more user-friendly interface. That's not a hating or trolling, but just looking straight into the facts, without emotions.

I actually think forks are better for some communities, but sidechains will enable more synergy.

I also believe in Steem but .. yes, there's a but - the reality that bites is that most cryptos are dependent on BTC's performance.

However, you are so right - we should focus more on promoting Steem! More noise on it could pump the market - some whale in the chat told me before and I've seen it happen so - it was during the whale wars when the Steem price went up. I don't like that 3 letter word but I guess making more noise about Steem would indeed make it more famous so guess what - the past few days I've been spreading the word to almost all of my social media and fingers crossed we're going to get more user influx than before - the next question is - would we be able to sustain it?

great to follow this post and your comments @donkeypong and @cryptocentral. I wish I would have been here earlier. Thanks for all the infos.

I see EOS as complimentary to STEEM, not a replacement for it.

Good frank analysis. Dan moving on to EOS may mean STEEM has a top end limit. Where would Amazon be if Bezos had left after 2 years? Where would Apple be if Jobs left after a couple of years? OK, that was a trick question wit a complex answer, but it still proves my point of concern

STEEM On!!
DaveB

I'm mostly out of Bitcoin too. I'm betting on Dan's projects - Bitshares, Steem, and now EOS. I'm dreaming big about all three! The underlying tech is very similar for each of these, and each has a great use case - distributed exchange, social network, smart contract platform. All stand a good chance for major dream fulfillment!

Dan is one of the smartest people, not only as a coder, but in the way he is constantly a few steps ahead of others (certainly ahead of me) in seeing how everything fits in the bigger picture.

Graphene is revolutionary. We finally have something that scales.

I have learnt through the hard way that our reality is shaped by what goes on in the mind. I was ignorant of this fact until i learnt it the hard way confining me to crutches today.

Weeks before my accident, for some unknown reasons, i was entertaining the thought of being involved in a fatal accident. I complained to my brother who advised me against entertaining such thoughts...i however continued be i couldn't control the thought.

I was in his state of mind until i had a fatal accident, and i had to gibfir total hip replacement surgery. Today, i depend on crutches for mobility. This opened my eyes to powers of our minds

I have since learnt how to control what goes on in my thought.

So i believe in your theory of dream big for what you continuously thought about most of the time is what you will become.

@eurogee

Amazing story and I believe you are right about that.

I love reading your posts and that includes this one.

We are in a MAJOR transition right now and after reading @modprobes post (of which is one of the most valuable posts I have EVER read) I feel on a similar path to you and him. I Like that you based this post in a way on his truly magnificent post but also put your steemit twist on it.

I have LOVED steemit since I first heard about it and never even knew who Dan was nor do I still know to much about eos or bitshares.

There is of course always plenty of possibilities for Steemit to NOT succeed like we hope but out of all the projects I feel most confident and secure with Steem.

I have invested SO much to this community and feel I am ready to invest EVEN more now!

I am with you!

SteemON∞§∞

Right on. I could not have said it better than you just did.

I am super grateful to be here on Steemit and a lot of that is because of people like you.
I haven't had to many exchanges with you really but I have read so many of your posts and seen how you are as a real life being. It is because of the very intelligent, high integrity and PROGRESSIVE people like you that make this community so valuable.

I feel like there are many here including your self who are ahead of the game and constantly sharing cutting edge potential with the community.

Gratitude and Respect!

SteemON∞§∞

I disagree as I think Bitcoin can still serve as the 'gold' of cryptocurrencies. Rather than transact in Bitcoin, it can serve as a long term store of value.

Thats a nice view of the future. And it sounds good :-). Who know my friends.
That's why life is beautiful... we can't know what will happen. Hope it remains that way.

I would love to see steem being a powerful trading coin. Hope that will not be overtaken by big companies. As Microsoft said (or is already... i don't remember) that will invest in ethereum. It can be a good thing but also bad.

Not a Microsoft hater but if there is company that has figured out how to turn sugar to sh*t it's Microsoft, if that is true I'd be running from Eth. And again, I am a noob but the way Dan went about EOS, he has successfully placed a trojan horse inside Eth with the ICO. Vitalik cannot be happy about this as he realizes that after a year EOS will be able to dump millions on Eth with one fell swoop.

I'm not a hater also, neither a fanboy!
Don't think Microsoft is the only one to do that, hehe. EA with Origin do same thing with s**t :-).

When i saw what means to own a console, how much you must pay to have free PC content :-)), how much you must wait to see if you can use modding on your game (lot of times impossible), how many times can't play because network down or not available... etc i said no to that choice.
But who loves it loves it, that's good for them.

The problem is that all over the road we walk these days, everybody try to squeeze money from you and keep you blocked in sh**y connections with their interface, or whateva and in fact not let you live life.

So, they can do that if we all pay and accept them.
And seeing how many sheeps comes around... huh. Please understand what i say and not come with arguing for sustaining corporations... Just see how many complains are all over the place about what happens now.

It is a transition world and it will pass long time till things will chill down a bit with some reasonable platforms and solutions for all.

That's why i hoped here will find a new way. And still do.

Here i found an article about steem blockchain power which is showing its weakeness. Maybe you can read that posts from:

@elfspice

He has a good point of what is going on here and with steem.

And regarding ETH and Microsoft, i'm sure i read it in my first days of crypto news, almost 2 weeks ago.

I will make a simple article with links to details, to just point that out if you are interested and we can speak there.

Let me know when you're done. I'd like to see that, it wouldn't surprise me at all if Microsoft got involved in another failing project.

True. As we don't transact in gold on a day to day basis the way we do with fiat. So Bitcoin will have a place as a store of value but it's hard to see it being a fiat replacement or as a coin to be used for fast and everyday transactions. Bitcoin can be seen as digital gold even though there will be other currencies that are much faster with fewer transaction fees to come along and do what bitcoin can't do. Steem is one of those much faster and highly scalable currencies.

The trailer got me interested looks good not that I would go into engineering now but I can see already why it would inspire children, interesting move with the selling of bitcoin @donkeypong and thanks for sharing @modprobe notes they were definitely interesting.

*Where have I put my money instead? I’ll give you one guess and I’m all in. *

Soooooo ... you put it all in Dash then? LOL


I am of course kidding. Still, no matter how awesome Steem is (and it is!), the egg to basket ratio should never be 1:1 in my opinion.

To an outside user BTC has the recognition and ma y merchants now accept it for payment, but other currencies do seem to make more sense. As you pointed out, why would people stick with BTC when these newer currencies offer faster transaction times and zero (or minimal) fees? It's like Netscape Navigator saying why would anyone ever use a different browser? IDK. Sometimes markets act in irrational ways longer than you can stay solvent.

Netscape and Altavista. That's how I see it also.

Wait, you guys don't use Netscape Navigator anymore??? :)~

Great read Tom. Steemit was my intro to the crypto-world, and I've gone deep in the months since then into other projects and currencies, but I'm probably most excited about Steemit because there is an actual community of users here that are doing amazing things with it. There really is people power behind this technology, and that's what's going to drive it farther into the mainstream.

This comment has received a 3.75 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @theabsolute. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Here here. Yep totally agree 👍🏻

you are right sir , bitcoin has become a big headache :) and nice intro ,i am also making one intro of steemit post in upcoming days
followed and upvoted!!
appreciate if you a have a view on my recent post

https://steemit.com/photography/@mady27/the-magnificent-view-of-taj-mahal-in-the-moonlight

What an awesome community this is! Steemit Rocks, great article! I just got approved here on Steemit and I'm going to do a Youtube video on it today @ Http://www.youtube.com/matthewtimothy

As far as the content of this article. I think Bitcoin was a great platform and it still is. However the transaction speed needs to go up ASAP!

After reading your praises for that movie, I had to click on the trailer's play button immediately, and man, the movie looks great. When I get some free time, I may watch the full movie as I like motivational stuff.

I am glad that it worked for your children. They must be of some great technical mind if they study mostly maths and science, because I try to spend less time there as I consider myself weak and lazy on those areas. But hey! Guess I should "Dream Big" ;)

As for bitcoin, I'm really curious and expecting a big drop in BTC because BTC is having hard-time due to $3000 resistance level which is pushing it to down-side again and again, which proves that people don't think BTC worth more than 3,000 dollars. So, considering these situations, I prefer to withdraw all big sums and turn them from BTC into fiat asap. Although there is an opportunity to get some rewards, but I don't want to increase my risks level. And well, that's what I did! (Just like you)

If I have any huge sum in crypto, that's in Steem because I believe that there is a huge room for the price to go up. I am expecting to see $4 worth once again by the end of this year.

Grow up guys, dream big. What a great post by @donkeypong

I'm liking the direction you are headed with this article. I certainly hope Steem has serious growth potential--because I'm all in on it.

Same here. I've obviously just jumped in but from what I've seen so far, this is how social media should be done. Not only that, but major news outlets could stand to be blockchain based. With all the fake news thrown around, it seems as though it won't fly around here. I'm excited!

Soon, news outlets can have their own communities on Steemit. They'll be able to manage the content, monetize, and pay their writers, all without selling ads to big corporations.

Do you have any word on how soon? I've already started paying writers. Will be nice when the process can be more automated.

You inspired me a lot here on steemit @donkeypong I'm a newbie here, and learning more about steem and SBD. Thank you so much!

Blockchain news outlets? That's a brilliant idea. Make it happen!

"Bitcoin was never designed for large-scale use." Couldn't agree more with this statement. There are much better coins, in terms of speed and transaction costs...

However, I think BTC will always be the gold bullion of the market. It is an end, to justify the means.

_Rob

I think you took a very large leap by implying that STEEM is going to be the next BTC. I also believe that you took the leap a few years too early. It's like you're the guy who spent 10,000 BTC on 2 pizzas in 2010. You should have held those BTC for another 3 years, minimum!

BTC is not done growing. BTC is established, and BTC isn't going anywhere in the near-term. Think about how much of an infrastructural investment has been made with the world-wide BTC (and other crypto) ATM machines.

Also, STEEM is not built to have a comparable value to what we've seen of BTC. In addition, STEEM was not built to be a global de-centralized currency that will replace fiat.

In any case, I still respect your opinion, and you have every right to do what you wish with your own money (or crypto). I think that STEEM will be revolutionary (which is part of the reason why I'm investing so much of my time on here; the other part is how many amazing people I've met in such a short time!).

Maybe I just don't see the same endless possibilities that you see just yet. I arrived on STEEM only 1.5 months ago, so I'm still learning :)

Thanks for your post!

Aw, stick around and have some Kool-Aid, you'll feel differently soon enough! :) Sure, Bitcoin will keep growing. I have little doubt of that. It may double or triple. But then it will run into the same problems that have plagued it so far and a world that sees it as a flawed solution. We can do better.

Glad to have you on Steemit.

Where do I find this "steem" of which you speak?

Kidding man.

This was the exact post I needed to read today. Even after a year, I'm still a crypto novice... but I'm an Olympic level dreamer. I don't know much about technical analysis... but technical analysis doesn't pay for a community member's operation, or help a community member on dialysis buy the nutritious food they need, or help a woman improve her quality of life by getting a shower suited for her physical needs, or help a single mom stave off eviction.

Steem does that.

You nailed it here @donkeypong! Bitcoin is really a big complication and will lose popularity very soon!
Other cryptos are on the innovating mode to bring in mass adoption, just look at Ethereum latest amazing idea which many people are not aware of, they want to have the first ever Ethereum Island in the world, you can check it here and let me have your views on it!
I too believe in the future rule of Steemit!
Thank you
@progressivechef

Thanks for the Dream Big recommendation. My kids love science so I have to make sure they get to see this over the summer.

I agree with your sentiments on Bitcoin, I also no longer advocate it and haven’t bought any (using fiat) in over 18 months.

However true to the Keynes maxim;

“The Market Can Remain Irrational Longer Than You Can Remain Solvent”,

I’m going to hedge my bets and hold some.

As much as I love Steem, I’m resisting the urge to go all in on it. I’ve made the mistake in the past of thinking superior technology and common sense would prevail always in crypto. Marketing, money and bullshit also play a big part unfortunately. So I also make sure I hold some coins that I think are all smoke and mirrors, as they go up I use the profit to either cash out or put into Steem at the right price.

As a beginner, I think have not been able to comment on this topic, just want to say this is a great post ... happy to look around and learn in this post @donkeypong

Welcome to Steemit and I hope you enjoy it here!

It's true. Bitcoin is just a prototype, the first coin that wasn't designed for mass adoption. It can't be the main crypto in the future because as more people start using it, more problems will come up with bitcoin. Steem is going to rise, I'm sure of it :)

More fiat gateways into crypto will open up eventually which will take some of the pressure of the mem pool and make bitcoin useable again, but only by the few who stick with it.

How can you say "Slow confirmation times and transaction fees are the bigger problems. Bitcoin does not seem to have a fix for these looming obstacles."? Did you not read the article you are using as a reference.

From @modprobe very own article that you quoted: "There are some who think the fees are set up the way they are to subsidize Lightning Networks, which probably will solve the scaling issues". Lightning Network is exactly that: a (very probable) fix to scalability issues.

I agree that Steem is better than Bitcoin on so many levels, but some of the things you are saying here are completely wrong

So they add a third party patch and have to pay off people to run it? How does that make anything cheaper or more efficient? Listen, I give those guys credit for creating a fix, but it's messy and I don't see how adding more layers and costs ultimately makes this any better.

Wow great story. I think you are one of the few that sold all Btc for the reasons that you mention... as most that sold this period did it because of fear...fear or panic of loosing money. I dont have Btc, but i agree that Steem is the future and it will grow to millions users in the near future!
At the end of the day its a great place to enjoy and have fun so let's Steem on!

Fear is gone for me. I have been involved in many projects in crypto and for every single one of them, I've had that questioning feeling in the pit of my stomach, "Is this really going to work?" That's something that Steem has eliminated for me. I have no more doubt or fear.

You never know which one will kick off. Steem is a definite. The Tangle-based cryptos such as IOTA and Byteball will make massive gains due to their quick and low to no-fee transactions.

Well this words : "Fear is gone for me... Steem has eliminated for me. I have no more doubt or fear." coming from somebody of your caliber makes me extremely happy as i am here to stay!!!

You are right.. Bitcoin takes way to long to make the transaction!!
Let's keep promoting Steem to the world!! :)

Amazing news, a movie starring engineers!

I must take my granddaughter to see it; we both need the inspiration. Thank you for bringing "Dream Big" to my attention.

Thanks, also, for your astute observations about the future of Bitcoin and Steemit... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

The movie is great for any kid, but it's even better for girls. Several of the engineers it follows are women. So inspiring.

Good to hear, especially for my granddaughter's sake!

The recent "Hidden Figures" movie was also an excellent showcase of female engineering talent, just in case your kids didn't see that... ;)

I was thinking about this today. Trying to peer into the future I wondered if the default digital currency would be bitcoin. The answer came almost immediately: NO.
It is not likely and if it is, it will be the same only in name as the structure will have changed drastically. The odds of a better functioning cryptocurrency being developed are much higher than bitcoin being able to change directions fast enough to keep up with innovation.

I left Bitcoin in 2013 because the mining seemed a waste, which led me to other projects like Dan Larimer's BitShares. But I've always held some Bitcoin and rooted for it to succeed, using it to help explain something like Steem to others. I'm done with that now. Bitcoin may grow for a while longer, but it won't be the one.

What an inspiring post!

Yeah Bitcoin is certainly starting to look like a first gen of its kind, and the centralization risks stand in strong contrast to maybe what it was designed to be.

I don't know what the next gen is, but I hope it's steem :)

P.S: It's amazing that your kids spend time thinking and building, you should be so proud! My friend's children spend most their time on the phone :P I think you have some awesome kids!

Well, my kids do that also, but I can't brag about that part. :)

What a great post Tom. My biggest takeaway... does that mean the money you made from selling Bitcoin is going to be coming into Steem? ;)

I thought you were going to ask me about the movie.

This is a shocker but with the explanation you have provided, is a logical outcome of the inherent weaknesses in the 'prototype' bitcoin technology, as you address it. I think you make very valid points about mass acceptance facing issues because of ever increasing mining fees and confirmation times. Even more than that, the issue of feasibility of miner collusion bothers me. I would rather put my faith in Steem ( as I have so far).
I am working hard to produce good quality content. Not only mere pictures of wildlife but also thoughts accompanying them. Many of my posts go unnoticed but whatever meager earnings I have from the posts are all being powered up as Steem because I have faith in Steemit platform. Steemit users and number of posts are increasing and therefore, as you point our, it is logical to assume that demand for Steem will progressively go up. Thank you for sharing your decision - I believe it will be an eye opener for many Steemians. By the way - I have not seen Dream big yet but am sure I will appreciate it since I am an engineer. Thanks. Cheers. Wish you a great day. Upvoted

Engineers are my heroes now. Wish I'd studied more math and science. Much respect.

Thoughtful article. Though I want to point out that any currency is only really useful when it is traded for another currency or when it is invested in some useful venture. Hoarding anything is just self-limiting as you have implied in your post.

Absolutely. It must be invested back into the people and the content that are making this place so much better.

OoOO "Segwit, the main set of changes, addresses the malleability issue, which isn’t the main problem with Bitcoin." my friend @xaero1 was just explaining that too me! I just thought it was funny that I read it on your post like 30 minutes later. I guess it is such a hot topic!

Really cool to see that you believe in Steemit. Glad you made your choice!

Maybe your friend read the same articles I did (or is just smarter than me)!

Haha y'all are both smarties for knowing what it is all about! 🤓

Great article. It really made me think about Bitcoin. I am new to the crypto scene and I have been learning so much about it as of late. I have experienced so extremely long wait times with some of my Bitcoin transactions so I get what your saying. The instant transactions through Steem and Steemit and hopefully with whats to come this is just he beginning for Steemit.

Welcome to crypto! It's quite ugly having to deal with BTC transactions for anyone who has experienced something much better here. You've come to the right place.

Thanks, I like it so far. The community has been great for the most part. And if I earn a little that's just a added bonus.

Good to see that our whales are motivated and believe in the future of Steem. What do you think about all the current problems we see like Pay-for-Vote Bots, Bot armies up- and downvoting things, article visability for Minnows, much less upvoting since hf19 and so on? Something we can conquer soon or rather lasting problems we have to deal with?

The distribution of voting power has always been a big issue on Steemit. Steem Power has been concentrated in the hands of a few people, like most monetary systems are, and yet everyne has a chance to earn as it is slowly re-distributed here. The situation has been getting better consistently over time and after HF 19, smaller accounts have more relative power than they did. Much of my work since I came here has involved trying to connect voting power with good content and people who were working hard and deserving better. There's no question it's been a hole that we've had to dig out of, but I think we're getting there as a broader group of content creators are getting more of the redistribution.

As far as all of the selling and renting of voting power, I guess it's an evolution of the free market here and I'm watching it like everyone else. Rather than rent out my voting power, I spend most of my votes these days to reward content from underserved regions, such as Indonesia, Nigeria, and other countries that are showing incredible growth and yet have few people voting on their posts. I'm interesting in building a Steem ecosystem, not just Steemit. I'm also investing in good people, community builders who have plans and take actions to share Steem/it with many more people. As a stakeholder in Steem, I feel that is a far better use of my votes than renting them out.

@donkeypong I must say you have been exceptional in this regard but I must say alot of people misunderstand the concept of Nigeria as a country. I will equally advice you not to be misled by few people parading to be more nigerians than others.

Nigeria is a great country. However, it is a country held down from growth by the interest of a few. It is not difficult to see such playing out in anything her people are involved in even here in steemit.

I will sincerely advice you to be noncommital to events. Treat everyone as equals so that you do not end up managing a moral burden in future. I spoke in quite some parables here.

I know you mean well for our people but please pause and watch so as not to soil your hands unwittenly.

That said, I will keep my non-commital approach with anything that has to do with my country here.

I wil support new people and encourage new people to join without any hype. Thanks

Excellent points. We need to have a broad base of people helping others to empower themselves.

Thanks you very much ,Tom. if you ever consider about Myanmar steemit community , please guide us in better way as we don't have higher Steem Power to support our community.

I'll send you a message and we can chat more.

Million thanks , you can leave the message in my steemit chat box..

I love your dedication to this project, @donkeypong. Supporting growing local communities is a great way to make them spread the word like a hayfire.

I was wondering if Steem could be used to pay people to learn new information. I am a memory coach and using a learning app could create valuable content for the education market and push the user to new frontiers while paying him for doing so. His information could be used to improve the learning experience for the next student even more. I have many ideas about that topic.

Nicely said. Renting out SP seems cheesy, at least in comparison to doing the real work of curation for newcomers. Renting is easier of course.

I like it when people make a decision based on what they believe in and not based on the hype and trend. I agree with you that steem is for the people. I agree with you that the headache with bitcoin is too many

However, I have a slightly different thinking. I do not believe that bitcoin will die anytime soon. Though I believe that bitcoin is being pushed for use in a way that it may not succeed.

Bitcoin should be used as gold for reserve. Instead of propping it up for mass adoption where it will fail over time. It should be a currency people will buy and keep as gold not a currency for micro-payment and everyday transactions.

We can push steem for micropayments and everyday transactions with everyday people.

as a mechanical engineer i would like to make it known that civil engineers are lame as f**k and they know it. cant even get a job with a civil engineering degree, still have to take the FE cuz no one trusts them lol

Haha. That makes me feel even dumber than f**k!

its cool, its more of an inside joke among engineers " there's nothing civil about civil engineers"

i just take any opportunity to remind them of their lowly status

I looked over a couple of your articles so far and I can say that each of them has good content , but the current article is by far one of the best that I've seen on your blog. First you make me curious to see the Dream Big Documentary, maybe because you described it quite good or maybe because the topic seems to attract me a lot, but that does not matter.
Secondly the passing from the documentary to the Bitcoin thoughts is well done and last but not least, the opinion around Bitcoin seams really legitimate and well-founded and honestly I share your opinion. That is why I do not have any Bitcoin holdings at the moment. This opinion can be most probably contrary to popular belief, but again it does not matter. Great post !

I said something simlar in my post 'The First One Through The Door Always Gets Shot'. Bitcoin is a marvelous invention which showed us a new way of doing things but we have to move on to better coins. Bitcoin won't scale much further, and there are other coins which work much better. IOTA and Byteball and Graphenes for the win.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@kriskabiru/the-first-one-through-the-door-always-gets-shot

I think you should expand your portfolio

Globejerk lol. Seems like we were inspired around the same time to write something similar lol. A few steps later though as I'm still in the process of moving crapcoins into more SP ;)

hahahahaha just like that bitcoins are now referred to as "crapcoins" by those on the cutting edge!
hahahahahhahaha wouldn't have predicted that a couple months ago!
Great minds think alike~*~

I had to up up vote this comment with atleast a little bit, was sad to see you sitting down there with all the spammer comments no one reads ;-)>

What an awesome community this is! Steemit Rocks, great article! I just got approved here on Steemit and I'm going to do a Youtube video on it today @ Http://www.youtube.com/matthewtimothy

As far as the content of this article. I think Bitcoin was a great platform and it still is. However the transaction speed needs to go up ASAP!

Right. Dream Big.Thanks for your effort and thanks for posting.

Upvoted and resteemed, thank you for this post. I am in a process of learning about cryptocurrencies and you have opened my eyes little bit more :) I am really starting to believe that the STEEM is a real thing and have a potential

It's so helpful and I need similar information like that because Steemit is still new in my mind. Thanks

I like your point of view. Good article

There will be moments of new historical maxims for bitcoin, after all these problems

Very nice information. I resteem now

"Bitcoin has become controlled by a handful of huge miners, exchanges, and big money gateways." Interesting... going to be a very intriguing fall, peace / upvoted

Very interesting point of view. Thanks for your post.

There are 3 pages
Pages