You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Ask Me What’s Happening with Bitcoin. Here’s Why I’m Dreaming Bigger.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

The distribution of voting power has always been a big issue on Steemit. Steem Power has been concentrated in the hands of a few people, like most monetary systems are, and yet everyne has a chance to earn as it is slowly re-distributed here. The situation has been getting better consistently over time and after HF 19, smaller accounts have more relative power than they did. Much of my work since I came here has involved trying to connect voting power with good content and people who were working hard and deserving better. There's no question it's been a hole that we've had to dig out of, but I think we're getting there as a broader group of content creators are getting more of the redistribution.

As far as all of the selling and renting of voting power, I guess it's an evolution of the free market here and I'm watching it like everyone else. Rather than rent out my voting power, I spend most of my votes these days to reward content from underserved regions, such as Indonesia, Nigeria, and other countries that are showing incredible growth and yet have few people voting on their posts. I'm interesting in building a Steem ecosystem, not just Steemit. I'm also investing in good people, community builders who have plans and take actions to share Steem/it with many more people. As a stakeholder in Steem, I feel that is a far better use of my votes than renting them out.

Sort:  

@donkeypong I must say you have been exceptional in this regard but I must say alot of people misunderstand the concept of Nigeria as a country. I will equally advice you not to be misled by few people parading to be more nigerians than others.

Nigeria is a great country. However, it is a country held down from growth by the interest of a few. It is not difficult to see such playing out in anything her people are involved in even here in steemit.

I will sincerely advice you to be noncommital to events. Treat everyone as equals so that you do not end up managing a moral burden in future. I spoke in quite some parables here.

I know you mean well for our people but please pause and watch so as not to soil your hands unwittenly.

That said, I will keep my non-commital approach with anything that has to do with my country here.

I wil support new people and encourage new people to join without any hype. Thanks

Excellent points. We need to have a broad base of people helping others to empower themselves.

Thanks you very much ,Tom. if you ever consider about Myanmar steemit community , please guide us in better way as we don't have higher Steem Power to support our community.

I'll send you a message and we can chat more.

Million thanks , you can leave the message in my steemit chat box..

I love your dedication to this project, @donkeypong. Supporting growing local communities is a great way to make them spread the word like a hayfire.

I was wondering if Steem could be used to pay people to learn new information. I am a memory coach and using a learning app could create valuable content for the education market and push the user to new frontiers while paying him for doing so. His information could be used to improve the learning experience for the next student even more. I have many ideas about that topic.

Nicely said. Renting out SP seems cheesy, at least in comparison to doing the real work of curation for newcomers. Renting is easier of course.