My 2018: Achievements and Failures - A Year of Folding

in #blocktradescontest5 years ago (edited)

This year has been a learning curve and some challenges that I have met and others that I have failed.

The start - I joined Steemit at the end of May after failing at posting origami instructions on tumblr and instructibles.

Instructibles especially was a complete failure. Completely incompatible with my phone. I couldn't even resize a picture.

Steemit at first was lonely. The first folder I found was no longer active and didn't respond to my comment. I read the faq and a few of the introduction posts and tried again.

First success: I found @ivan-g who is a lovely folder from him I have learnt or revisited the following models:

pixlr_20181215223627447.jpg

I also started exploring contests and learning where my ethical stand points are. There are a lot of competitions on Steemit to promote start up programs. Some of them just don't have the evidence in their whitepapers to be able to support their aims. I have no desire to bad mouth companies and programs that are struggling to their feet, however I also found that I wasn't willing to add a layer of whitewash to help promote them either even if I could go in the draw to win 5 to 300 steem.

I did find some wonderful competitions:

@Kristyglas held a random-games competition where each week was a different challenge from making bookmarks and secret languages to quilling.
From here I met @cryptocariad and @marblely and now @marblely is holding a weekly competition called Thursday Favourites.

@mermaidvampire continues to hold her guess the colour game.
@jayna continues to hold her fiftywords weekly challenge.
@rentmoney continues to hold an array of easy competitions
@bengy continues to hold a weekly comment competition.

There are many more, but these are the people who helped me move from $0 to $15 Steem which is the hardest leg, harder now with the implemented changes.

Throughout the many weeks I have also been doing what I came here for which is folding and creating new designs.

First major learning point - copyright. It is surprisingly strict when it comes to origami. The final model (Yes even if you've folded it) is copyrighted. The folding sequence is copyrighted. The right to teach it to others is also copyrighted.

This makes sense when you think about it, however when it is your hard work, your photos and you are proud of it. It can be a little tough to accept.

Traditional models are excluded from this requirement.

This is why you see so many crane and pig and boat and box diagrams.

First meeting copyright win - contacting Joseph Hwang and being given permission to create a pictorial tutorial of his bouncy modular ball unit. This was difficult for me as I didn't want to come across as pushy or arrogant to someone I was really impressed by. Thankfully he was quick to respond and quite open to what I wanted to do.

image

So far everyone I have contacted in the origami world has responded positively. I think it is safe to say that origami artists create because they have a passion for the art. They want other people to learn and share their work. They just want people to ask permission first.

The last thing I want to write about as this post is becoming a bit of an epic is being inspired. Most of what I create is inspired by other artists or people or events and sometimes it can be a cascade which can be hard to keep up with. For every model I diagram there are normally two which which have fallen off my table or been packed away into my woefully inadequate origami storage.

A few examples are:

From Philip Shen's omega star I was inspired to create three different models: The sun wreath The flexagon/napkin holder and the fold flat cube/fake five pointed star

image

From @ivan-g modular unit I was inspired to create the spinable picture frame

Along with various letters of the alphabet which I never ended up photographing.

image

From @ivan-g post on Lewis Simon's diamond cube I was inspired to create a three piece modular cube along with a mobius triangle and various little rings. There is also a rose cube and modular chain which I have not recorded.

image

From @deemarshall I was inspired to dive into butterflies https://steemit.com/origami/@gmatthe2/origami-butterflies-and-variations-6ded8a258a0b6

pixlr_20181213205738269.jpg

Lastly the origami forum's monthly competitions have inspired me to create a bunch of new designs:
Sea creature
Hat and masks
Stages of life

image

I am finishing with a blooper reel to entertain myself and you:
image
Five seconds after this image
image

What I should have folded.
image
What I first folded:
image

Happy Holidays everyone, Grace.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner

SB_new.png

Sort:  

I never thought that there would be copyright on origami - now I know. it makes sense, I just never thought about that.

My neighbor is an amazing origami artist!

Copyright on origami! That is a completely new idea for me... I'm not sure how I feel about that, it seems too general to copyright!

Congratulations @gmatthe2! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow! This is a whole new world on Steemit that I wasn't aware of, and a lovely one as well. I bought an origami book a while ago and got stuck at the 5 point star.... Must try to get over that hurdle first

Check your wallet.

Merry Christmas!

copyright. It is surprisingly strict when it comes to origami. The final model (Yes even if you've folded it) is copyrighted. The folding sequence is copyrighted. The right to teach it to others is also copyrighted.

I am not surprised.

Origami is a "manufacturing process" and should be patented instead although the U. S patent or other patent offices might not agree with me.

As a patented process, the inventor (yes, it is an invention) should be paid a royalty.

===============

after failing at posting origami instructions on tumblr and instructibles.
Instructibles especially was a complete failure. Completely incompatible with my phone. I couldn't even resize a picture.

You did not fail. The app or platform did. You just gave up trying.

==============

From here I met @cryptocariad and @marblely and now @marblely is holding a weekly competition called Thursday Favourites.

I'll continue to support you if you would continue to host a contest.

Hosting a contest is a great learning experience. It's somewhat like hosting a real party or like herding cats as it is difficult to know what motivates people to join or not.

It's always difficult in the beginning.

This post received an upvote with x2.0bid.
Follow @haccolong to get randomly free upvote every day.
Thanks for using the service and Merry Christmas @team-ccc !

A bit late on the reply, wonderful post, thank you for the mention. There are a lot of things I don't consider in the copyright department considering origami. In my opinion, which might not be a popular one, if an artist is openly sharing instructions of their works, it should be considered fine to post resulting works if you include the folder and designer in the title/description. asking for permission is always nice but sometimes it can be worrisome for more popular designers who suspect ulterior motives or have a language barrier leading to misunderstanding. Seeing the end result and asking to take something down if not appropriate seems like a better option.

ps. I'm working on something you might enjoy, here's a preview :D
Untitled.jpg