I Quit Eating for 28 Days [Water Fast] : Day 2 (Weight Loss)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Bitopian-Journey-THO-Cover.jpg

I am going on a 28 day fast :



To Lose Weight
For Better Health
To Attain an Elevated State of Consciousness
To be more like Jesus, for Jesus Fasted for 40 days

I Ran Out Of Money.

Check out Day 1 if you haven't yet seen it : I Quit Eating for 28 Days [Water Fast] : Day 1


Day 2 of 28


Today is day 2 of 28, and as I described yesterday, I am now still going through my transitional phase, am consuming no more foods, except for :

Coffee, Bone Broth, Butter, Coconut Oil, MCT Oil and Himalayan Sea Salts

First thing in the morning I consumed just Bulletproof Beef Marrow Bone Broth with Himalayan Sea Salt, blended with butter and 2 Tablets of Orange Triad.

20171121_105511.jpg

Afterwhich, across the day, I have had 2 more bowls of Bone Broth with Himalayan Sea Salt and one Bulletproof Coffee, which is Coffee, Butter and MCT Oil blended together.

All in all, I estimate that I am still consuming about 1000 calories or so in total. At this point, my focus is more on making sure that I am getting in very high amounts of all the essential vitamins and minerals I need as I am going for a complete water fast which excludes everything short of water and Himalayan Sea Salt.

My mental state today is a little more mellow than usual and a little slower and calmer in thought process. I like this mental state quite abit actuallly.

One notable thing is that I feel way colder than usual and am wearing more layers even in doors.

My rate of hunger is a 4/10 with some craving for food. Overall it’s a very manageable feeling and I expect it to get a little worse first before it gets better. However I am certain it will get better after around day 7 or so, where I expect hunger to be a non-issue for the most part.

I feel quite fine overall, and the fact that I am not eating anything doesn't seem to be affecting me too much. I am even forgetting to have my broth and such, being to focused on whatever it is I am doing.


Even though I am doing am doing this now because of the fact that I ran out of money, I was actually intending to do one regardless of that fact eventually. All the points I crossed out at the beginning of the post are actually all real reasons why I would do a fast.

I will be going through the science and what we know about each point as well. Today, I will cover the most obvious reason to go on a fast.

To Lose Weight


The result I am shamelessly most excited about seeing as a result of this fast, is the weight loss and the tightening of the skin, as I will explain in detail below.

My story, if you have been following, wasn’t exactly the prettiest. I spent the entirety of my teens being morbidly obese, amongst a whole list of health issue which I go into in an earlier post :

Journey of Total Human Optimization : Painful Beginnings

This is a photo I took of myself at 19:

A.w1.JPG
I cringe a little everytime I see this photo, but I am also proud when I see that.

This is a photo I took yesterday :

WhatsApp-Image-2017-11-20-at-14.01.jpg
I would not say I am in “Perfect Shape” by any means, but I went from 3XL to S, which is quite significant I’d say. Though I lost weight during multiple different times across a 5 year period since that photo, the most effective and healthy way I found of burning fat, is through the “Ketogenic Diet” which is what has brought me the most results.

I also have a lot of loose skin

20171121_181804.jpg
The loose skin was quite hard to take a photo of, but in general, I have quite a bit of loose skin under my arms, on my chest, on my stomach and on my thighs.

This images will also serve as a starting benchmark to compare and contrast my progress along this journey. At the end of this fast, I will be in the best shape I have ever been in my life, and from there I intend to continue to build more muscle and work on more fundamental issues my body is facing.

This will be an interesting journey!

Some interesting facts about fasting and weight loss


Of course, this is the most obvious. Though it seems quite straight forward, stop eating, burn fat.

I believe many people would think 2 things :

“If you want to lose weight, why don’t you just go on a diet?”
“Do you really have to torture yourself like this just to lose weight?”

What I have found, actually, that there is good reason to fast for weight loss, if you understand what happens during a fast.

You lose fat way faster on a fast as compared to a diet


Needless to say, if you were looking to lose weight, you want to do it fast, we’ve all seen hundreds of variations of ads selling you a way to lose weight fast :

This guy found a way to lose 14 pounds in 14 days with this one secret sauce! Doctors hate him!

But you always have to pay for something and it often doesn’t seem to work.

Where is the ad that goes:

Lose 14 Pounds in 14 Days! Just Stop Eating! It works better than any diet pill in existence, isn’t actually unhealthy to do, as a matter of fact, it has a whole host of health benefits, and does not cost you anything!

Advertisers Hate Him!


It wouldn't be crazy to think that not eating would end up looking like a skeleton at the end of 28 days. However, the science behind what goes on when you fast and how it affects your body when it comes to fats and muscles is actually very interesting.

We often think of our bodies as just machines, but our bodies are actually interestingly intelligent.

You do not lose muscle when you fast

In times of famine and lack of food, your body doesn’t think “I’m dying” and starts using whatever is available for energy, instead, it thinks “I need to hunt for food”. As such, your body chooses to prioritize the use of fat and to protects your muscles from deteriorating, because your muscles is what is going to provide the next meal!

More so than that, your body will help you hunt.

The opposite happens when you still eat something, but in a deficit, which then makes your body rely on your stomach and glycogen stores primarily for energy, and when it doesn’t get enough, it doesn’t turn straight to consuming stored fat on your body, because it is not used to doing so. As such, your body goes in a catabolic state, which also consumes muscle tissue for energy use, which is terrible. This is not the case when you on a fast, especially if you do it right.

Your body produces more Human Growth Hormones when you fast

Human Growth Hormones, is the thing that allows you to grow muscles and get stronger. Steroids, are basically synthetically produced Human Growth Hormone.
HGH.jpg
During a fast, your body releases more HGH than it usually does, which actually allows you to grow muscle and strength during this period of famine and be better able to hunt for food. Through our evolution, our bodies have learned that it is especially during time of famine, that muscles and strength are most needed.

As such, our bodies produces high amounts of Human Growth Hormones when you are fasting, which actually allows you to build strength and muscles effectively during a fast!

Your body uses not only fats, also loose skin for energy

Funnily enough, your body is wise enough to know, that excess skin is pretty useless and converts loose skin into energy. This is somehow, not the case with almost any diet at it is very clear that there are very many cases of people losing a lot of weight and end up with ridiculous amount of loose skin.

There are people who are going surgery just to remove excess loose skin after losing to much weight. What’s funny is that, rather than spending so much money and going under an intrusive procedure with undoubtedly some pain, they could have saved some money from not eating, go through some equivalent amount of pain as going through surgery and end up with the same result.

As such, I conclude that fasting for weight loss isn’t a really crazy thing to do to lose weight at all. When I weigh all factors, I feel that it is well worth it to:

  • Save money
  • Lose Weight and Loose Skin
  • Become healthier

All by simply not eating. It’s actually crazy how simple it is.

That is all I have for today!


Follow me on this journey

I intend to continue this format for my posts everyday, where I share the progress of my fast what I am experiencing, as well as delving into the science behind what is happening.

So if this is interesting to you, please stay tuned, as I will be posting once a day for the next 28 days!

God Speed Brethren.

Some of my earlier posts you may like :





Join the Bitopia community on the Highest Profitability Bitcoin Faucet


Sort:  

Again, a very well written post. i appreciate the time and effort you are putting in this content. Ive been thinking about this for quite some time as i think spending time cooking is not very productive nor very economic. I did not have knowledge what is going on in the body during fast. Thank you for this information !

I'm very glad you like my post! Thank you for your very kind comment!

I'd say jumping into a fast immediately from a regular diet can be quit painful and sometimes dangerous if you are not well prepared..

Ive been thinking about this for quite some time as i think spending time cooking is not very productive nor very economic.

If this is a problem you want to counteract, maybe instead first try eating once a day! It's much easier to do, and has a whole host of the benefits you are looking for and alot more!

Check out this video which explains it perfectly :

I find this really interesting. I heard somthing about this on the joe rogan experience before about an overweight man went on a water fast for 6 months or so ( I can't remember the exact time it could be more) He lost loads of weight and had no sagging skin afterwards. It's remarkable what your body can do.

I've watched that exact JRE episode! Well, actually it was over year! Check out this video which covers what happened with that case very well!

Cool stuff!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 7.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bitopia.

This post has received a 3.82 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bitopia. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

if you love food please follow me.....

If you had actually read the post man... If you actually did..