Status report on my new computer (not going so well but I'm still hopeful)

in #blog6 years ago

image.png

Image taken from Pixabay

So as some of you may know due to a post I made before, I had a couple laptops but they broke down and now I only have one that is very slow. After that time, I got the very, very kind help from a couple friends, special heads up to @eonwarped who was the main enabler. I was able to buy a new computer.

It cost me around $240, it has a 3rd generation i5 processor. I think it has an Nvidia motherboard and also another Nvidia part. The RAM is 8 GB (DDR3). I don't know much else. I'm not very good with hardware.

The good part is that it's really fast. Especially compared to my other laptops, of which one cost even more, though the other ones I bought for 80 and 60 dollars respectively. I'm particularly happy because it being fast allows me to have Windows and have Photoshop installed, which is probably my favourite program ever.

The bad part is that there is a problem that I don't understand (and neither do the sellers) where my keyboard doesn't work sometimes. The computer detects the key-pressing only sometimes, and other times it either misses some letters or simply pretends that there is no keyboard sending key signals. I was told it probably had something to do with RAM, but I took the computer today to the repair shop and they exchanged the RAM cards for others that supposedly are verifiably functional. It still has the same problem, so I don't know. It might be something else.

I'm hopeful because I know that this can be solved. I'm not able to make as many posts as before because I'm usually inspired when the computer is not detecting the keyboard (hard to write with no keyboard). I know that we can overcome this. I can change some things, perhaps even change the motherboard someday or other things.

The keyboard works properly when I have an Ubuntu Live DVD in. I can probably have another OS installed, another version of Windows (hopefully; I want my Photoshop :D) and have my keyboard work properly on that one (if the hardware part cannot be solved). I'll also look into reinstalling the drivers as the seller told me to do.

I don't know, it's bad but I'm not sad. I'm a bit stressed because it's hard to take a PC to another area of the city given the high crime rates. I don't want to get robbed on the way. But I'm not in a bad mood.

Meanwhile, I've been watching videos all the time, checking reddit, reading books, things that don't require a keyboard. I wish I could solve it a bit sooner than I imagine, but it's going to take a few weeks at most, probably. But despite everything, I'm really happy these days. I got a new computer, I got a lot of help. I was feeling isolated but now I feel like I can make it through all of this. Warm fuzzy feelings in my stomach. Thank you all for all the hope, the help and the love.

<3

Sort:  

@eonwarped to the rescue one's again! He's like superman! I do hope that the keyboard problem get sorted out. ^^

<3 It is :)

It could be the keyboard's fault, even if you install the required drivers. I suggest if you can find a cheap keyboard try plugging that in and see if it works, if not you can try updating the software.

If the keyboard is old, you may not find the drivers for the particular version of the OS you are using so keep that in mind.

I tried with another keyboard and the problem was there too. But I haven't had the problem these last two days. I hope it's resolved. Thanks for the suggestions. I'll try some of them if I keep having problems.

But if people can't help you sometimes, don't be afraid to fall back onto google, it's helped me more times than I can count on hardware issues (if you know what to search for)

I found that it was probably a RAM issue, so I had the cards changed and it worked. Now I haven't had any keyboard problems anymore. :D

I came over to your blog, because I have missed your comments and I was also hoping you would consider applying for a delegation I am offering. It seems you need to fix your equipment first.

I see that you are engaged in trying to get your computer fixed. Once you are back up to full ability ping me on discord sometime! Good luck.

My computer seems to be working well now :) Now I need to get some energy but I'm planning on posting everyday. I still have to get up to the rhythm and check the content other people make like yours. :) I'll ping you once I'm back on Discord! Thanks for passing by. <3

Inform me if you can solve it, I have not even managed to solve the similar problem of my keyboard, which exchanges the letter 'T' for the number '5' and the Y for the 6, but I also do not lose hope ... although sometimes I think that could be the N, SA or some body of intelligence to know what we write, but bueh ... I do not care, they only know a drop in the sea. Hahaha

That may be a problem with the keyboard display. My problem was that the RAM had broken spots but your issue can be solved with Microsoft Keyboard Layour Creator (MKLC). Download it here and play with it: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=22339

If you have any doubts when using it, google them and if you can't find anything, tell me on Discord and I'll help you :)

this makes my heart warm to hear. @eonwarped and @nomadicsoul - good for you <3

ive been reading your posts lately but just not commenting or interacting much on steemit. but still following along and so happy to see this post <3

i hope the keyboard issues gets resolved. definitely check out youtube and blogs on it, ive fixed a lot of things myself that way !

I think it's fixed already! For a couple days it hasn't had any problems after they changed the RAM. I think it was a RAM issue! It's so weird but I'm very, very happy that I'm now the joyful owner of a working computer!

I have to thank my dearest friends for helping me in times of need. I promise that if I can ever help any of you I will without a doubt.