“Wash Yo’ Gotdamn Hands!” A Look Back At The Worst Year Of Our Lives.

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

365 days.

12 months.

One trip around the sun.

For many of us it’s now been close to an entire year that we’ve been in some form of quarantine and/or lockdown due to the ravages of Covid-19.

It’s going to take a very long time for us to collectively heal from this. The losses and disruptions are many-layered. Few have been untouched by hardship. We've had people we love taken from us, incomes vaporized or drastically reduced, dreams and social lives put on indefinite hold. I don’t think we quite realize yet all the ways in which this event has changed our future.

What’s the last fun thing you did before lockdown?

For us, it was a road trip out west. We were just returning from a few weeks in Sedona, Arizona. It was lovely. We did nothing but eat, relax, and hike the red rock trails.

As we made our way home through a succession of tiny towns time had wonderfully forgotten in places like Kansas, Texas, and Missouri we began to hear increasingly grim news coverage about this mysterious virus. The night after we got home and unpacked we went to a friend’s birthday party at a local restaurant with about a hundred other people. That was the very last thing we did socially.

In my opinion, the origins of this virus and the initial handling of the spread of it are highly suspect but it's difficult to deny the fact that it’s here and it’s damned dangerous to a segment of our population. The most difficult thing for me has been watching so many people deny science and the threat this virus poses. It’s been equally as surprising to witness otherwise kind people refuse to wear a strip of fabric over their faces to insure the safety of those vulnerable people around them under the guise of freedom.


“ Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” - Confucius


Living through this ordeal has demonstrated to me how two groups of people can so easily hold diametrically opposed viewpoints when presented with the very same set of circumstances. I now understand on a deeper level how many of the nightmarish events in human history took place. A year into this ordeal I often wonder…Do a portion of these science-deniers realize they've made a mistake but feel too entrenched in their opinions now to allow their egos to admit it?

It’s difficult to deny something when you experience it first-hand. In the weeks of late October and early November of last year my father was shuttled from the hospital to rehab facility to two utterly horrific nursing homes then back to intensive care. On a sunny afternoon on November 5th my Mom, my younger brother and I said our goodbyes to him on a Zoom call as he lay in a hospital bed on a ventilator, unconscious. The Covid-unit nurse on duty that day assured us that my Father comprehended what we told him that day, it comforts me to believe that he did. He survived for another four days breathing on his own. During the weeks my father valiantly fought this virus we witnessed how it indiscriminately spread a path of destruction through all demographics young and old, sick and seemingly healthy.

It’s been a very tough year for us all. It’s taken a lot of creativity and diligence to maintain physical and mental health through the challenges of this pandemic. We all have scars from this that might never heal.

History can change us but it’s also trapped inside of us, like the growth rings of a tree. I see now that the only ones who truly understand history are those who’ve lived through it. We’re going to be just like those old folks we grew up with who survived the Great Depression, the ones who relentlessly clipped coupons and stashed their life savings in their mattresses or in an old coffee can carefully buried in their backyards.

When we’re old, some of us will quietly shoulder our burdens. Others will share their stories to anyone willing to listen. Those stories will, for the most part, fall on deaf ears. Even if they hear will future generations understand? If this pandemic has taught me anything it’s taught me how incredibly short our collective memories are.

What's the funniest thing that's happened to you during this past year?

It hasn't been all doom and gloom, after all. This past year has had its positives and some moments of levity peppered throughout. My funniest memory is of a guy my wife and I encountered while walking our beagle. He, clearly, had way too much to drink and was yelling, “WASH YO' GOTDAMN HANDS!” to startled strangers passing by. That scene will be forever emblazoned in my memory and I laugh every time I think about it. Ten or so months later my wife and I will still sometimes repeat that phrase to each other.


“That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons of history.” - Aldous Huxley


We’re now beginning to rise, starting to see glimpses of a light of hope at the end of this unbelievably dark tunnel. People are thinking about their futures again. We’re all determining how we’re going to pick up the pieces of our lives, re-establish friendships, careers, and businesses. We’re focusing a little less each day on the horrors of yesterday.

As I’m beginning to think about my own goals and dreams for this next year I’m excited. Two new books in the works, more travel, and lord knows what else (the unknowns are the fun part). Still, there’s a little part of me that can’t help but wonder, Maybe, just maybe, this time we’ve all learned something.

One thing is for sure, we're all painfully aware of how to properly wash our got damn hands.

With Gratitude,

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

Because of what has happened in my country, I am one of those who believe that there is a lot of manipulation by some governments. While I was reading your publication I remembered my last trip on February 14 last year, Valentine's Day, to an inn near the sea. That was more than a year ago. I also remembered your plans to travel, to buy a van of sorts, as well as those sad moments of your father's death. You have lived so much this year, my friend! Not to mention the moments when we accompanied you weekly in the review of your book, its launching. New experiences are waiting for you. I hope they will all be pleasant. We will continue to read you here. I embrace you

Without a doubt, Nancy. I think there has been a lot of manipulation going on, for various reasons. I'm very sorry for what you've had to endure in your country.

An inn by the sea sounds lovely. My wife and I are planning to get away this fall somewhere but we haven't figured out where just yet.

Thanks for your comment and I hope you have a great week!

I'm going to be dreaming that tonight!

My funniest memory is of a guy my wife and I encountered while walking our beagle. He, clearly, had way too much to drink and was yelling, “WASH YO' GOTDAMN HANDS!” to startled strangers passing by. That scene will be forever emblazoned in my memory and I laugh every time I think about it.

OMG! Yes!!! I am snickering as I write this.

It has certainly been a year. I was away too, although out of the country. We came home from Columbia to borders that were closing. It was pretty scary, renting a car in Miami because that is where we landed. Lucky to get a flight. Rented a car a drove to Washington, DC and I thought all hell had broken loose, the government shutting down, Metros not running, Smithsonians closing down...

It has been a year, and I freely admit, the lesson hasn't been lost on me.

What a scene it was! Lol. He made more than a few people jump. He would have been an affective messenger for the CDC, let me tell you.

It felt super-dystopian here. Just as the lockdowns began and supply chain disruptions began city-wide riots started due to the George Floyd murder. It was pure pandemonium.

I live in Washington, DC... I can honestly say I know what you mean with pandemonium. Sadly.

I’m sure these past few months have been terrifying!

Absolutely. :(

Are the National Guard still on site?

Yes. They will stay for at least 10 more weeks. Soon life will go back to a more normal pace and all will be well again.

I want to walk by someone downtown and say "Wash Yo’ Gotdamn Hands!" LOL

This year will be forever engraved in the memory dear friend @ericvancewalton, everything has happened, denial and manipulation of governments, corruption with sales of vaccines, vaccine thefts, people faced by differences of ideals, lack of empathy with others . A year with few things to remember and thousands to forget. Happy for you that you were finally able to make that trip.
have a wonderful afternoon

There's been so much manipulation happening @jlufer, it's really been an example of how people can exploit these types of situations for their own agendas. I hope you're having a good week!

l a verdad es un exelente post, muy instructivo, y los provervios son buenos, aunque el hombre es esclavo de sus palabras y dueno de su silencio, saludos.

Gracias, me alegro que lo hayas disfrutado. Ese proverbio es muy sabio, ¡nunca lo había escuchado antes!

Si algo de real es, mas cuando los hombres hablan mucho jaajaj, saludos.

great post!

Thank you, @ssekulji!

With high hopes too, that more than a few lessons can be taken away from this whole mess.

Very well said. I am totally with you on the part about two groups of people being presented the same information and choosing to see it two totally different ways. I think the biggest part of that though is it wasn't so much the information but their disbelief at where the information was coming from. They believe they were being told a lie which inherently made them not listen to the info before it was even distributed. I think that is the big thing. Perhaps this generation that grew up on the X-Files is taking the tagline of "trust no one" a little too far!

Thank you Bozz! Man, I loved the X-files. I totally believe in healthy skepticism and questioning authority. There is plenty going on behind the scenes to question. The thing I can't understand is how when someone has witnessed the potency of the virus first-hand but still refuses to change their behavior to help keep the vulnerable among us safe.

Yeah, that is pretty unbelievable. I loved the X-Files too. I don't think I saw the last movie or any of the reboot though. Just the OG stuff and Fight the Future. It has kind of been a breath of fresh air seeing the people on Hive that have started to understand the reality of it. Unfortunately for some of them the cost was much too high. My neighbor at home had it, had people close to him pass from it, yet he still is out carousing every weekend and having people over. It is nuts.

Yeah, I watched the original series and maybe caught the first film but nothing else. People are getting impatient with the restrictions and I totally understand that but we're in the home stretch, at least in America. A good friend of mine was just contacted yesterday and gets his first dose of the vaccination today. He's a transplant patient so he's higher up on the list. My wife and I expect to get ours in April sometime.

I see that they are working on opening it up to more people now. April is much better than what they were promising six months ago. I got my second dose just about two weeks ago now (the perks of working in education). My parents get their second dose next week. It will be nice to visit them again.

Yes, we were figuring on May but I think the J&J vaccine has really sped things up. That's awesome that you've had both doses. Did you have any side-effects at all? I'll be planning a trip down to see my Mom soon too. She's fully protected now.

That is good to hear about your mom. My wife and I got the second dose on a Saturday morning. We were fine until Saturday night when we both just felt a bit "fuzzy". I got mild chills that night, but by noon on Sunday we were both okay.

Here in Austria (and most of the EU), there is not much reason for hope. Not because of some virus, but because of the unbounded unleashing of the wet dreams of a dubious elite.
I decide not to hope for a better future, but to prepare for the worst. Fortunately I can find some solace in a good fight ;)

Do you feel like you'll be on some extended form of lockdown? We are slowly opening up in the U.S. as the vaccine is distributed but the economy is going to take a very long time to recover. So many of our local small businesses have been very hard hit with little or no help from the government.

Travel only with registration and test/vaccine. Started between the countries, but now starting between the regions/counties as well.
Restaurants still closed, same for hotels, events, arts & culture.
Curfew from 8pm till morning. Usage of a vaccine with horrendous side effects.

A madman and his mad-team being paranoid and unable to act reasonably.
As testing is ramped up, numbers go up. These numbers are then taken as the base for more idiotic measures, and most of the time: More tests. I do not see this ending soon or well. It's a very bad time to live in Europe.

I'm really sorry to hear that. The business closures have had a devastating effect here in America. A lot of small business have been or will be wiped out. We haven't had the curfews or domestic travel restrictions that you've experienced over there though. I can't even imagine how difficult that has been.

My wife and I were thinking of traveling over there this Fall (Sept/Oct) but it doesn't look like that will be possible. Try to hang in there.

Because of what has happened in my country, I am one of those who believe that there is a lot of manipulation by some governments. While I was reading your publication I remembered my last trip on February 14 last year, Valentine's Day, to an inn near the sea. That was more than a year ago. I also remembered your plans to travel, to buy a van of sorts, as well as those sad moments of your father's death. You have lived so much this year, my friend! Not to mention the moments when we accompanied you weekly in the review of your book, its launching. New experiences are waiting for you. I hope they will all be pleasant. We will continue to read you here. I embrace you

The losses and disruptions are many-layered.

How very true!
It's been the most awful year for all of us, especially those who enjoy social contact!
We've all suffered a loss of some kind as a result of Covid, some invisible to the world with visible signs of financial losses in our shopping malls where windows are sealed up.
Funny and ironic moments there has been many of, I can just picture your gent shouting out what we've all been doing, I don't think ever in the history of humankind better not say mankind;), has there been so many clean hands!
Thank you for this once again, very timely post. It's exactly a year ago that Covid started affecting our lives.
We returned from a wonderful vacation in the Western Cape, last year on 17 March; little did we know then just what a devastating effect it was going to have!
But hey, we are the most adaptable species they say, and here we are today able to see the funny side too.
Stay well my friend and enjoy what life brings your way.