Hosting My First Thanksgiving: What I Learned

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow turkey day lovers! I thought i would share may experience hosting thanksgiving this year. For some unknown reason my girlfriend and i decided to host Thanksgiving this year. Both sets of parents in our super tiny apartment. This must be a sign I am growing up because i spent most of my life tanking Thanksgiving. That is messing up things on purpose so i did not have to anything important. This allowed me to watch more football and get the easy tasks in the preparations. After hosting this past thanksgiving I am not so sure I played that right.

In doing anything for the first time. I was slightly nervous and wanted everything to turn out perfect. For those who have spent some time in a kitchen you already know. The amount of Food Network you watch does not always transfer well in the kitchen . My girlfriend and I planned the meal made a shopping list, prepped the day before and thought we were prepared.

Feeling drunk on unearned confidence I decided as my main contribution i would deep fry some turkey breast on the grill. At some point it crossed my mind, to check if i had enough propane. This was like two weeks i so i though i had plenty on time to check. I did not check and when i was heating the oil to 350 degrees. All off a sudden the grill cut off. Ill be the first to admit that was my fault. With a full bird in the oven this was a minor setback. My Girlfriend caught the oven on fire because she overfilled a casserole dish. After we let it burn off, it was business as usual. In my opinion her failure was worse, but that is besides the point.

In the end everything went great and I really enjoyed hosting. It was a whole new type of challenge. It really made me think that we need to laugh at our failures more . It just seems like everyone is so hard on themselves these days. Things can go wrong and you can still manage a great achievement. Nothing has to be perfect. Lets all be easier on ourselves. Please share if you had any mishaps this year.