The Benefits of Focused Lonliness

in #blog5 years ago

Choose loneliness–for a while
Loneliness is harrowing and sad yet beautiful and creative and liberating. Choose abject loneliness, be away from friends, family, life as you know it, for a period of time to become yourself. It could be in your 20s, 40s or 60s. It doesn’t matter. It’ll be easier without a family but now I know enough people who’ve done it with young kids. Here are some ways how:



Move to a place you don’t know anyone.

Your initial feelings of isolation will quickly give way to realizing the beauty of yet another move. No weekend plans, just days, months, years of an empty calendar. You can do anything.

New places shatters old routines, old habits, old conversations. Use the the vacuum to create new ones.

Hold on to nothing.

Unburden yourself of certainties if you want a glimpse of transcendence. Become no one again and again.

Don’t buy a house.



How to use loneliness to change the world.

Create

On days I create–writing or planning my novel, blogging, creating a video, even thinking of a new way I’d approach my work– I feel silent. On days I don’t, my mind spins the same restless thoughts of “I want to see this, I should do that” again. You tap into a reservoir of completeness when you create, touching the universal and forget your limited self. Use your loneliness as a catalyst to creation–a book, an organization, a idea, a new business process– whatever your medium and feel silent and complete once again.

Meditate

I spent years wasting time on busy activity–social events, weekend trips, empty dinners–none of which gave me any glimpse of transcendence. Don’t fight your loneliness. Instead, use it as a catalyst to internalize that everything is a passing mind state. The sadness of loneliness, the warm glow you feel in companionship, pleasure, pain, nothing lasts. Everything is in flux. Don’t make my mistake. Fast-forward your journey by learning how to meditate or consider this incredible, accessible experience.

##Know you’ll return with the elixir for all one day.

The hero leaves everything behind to enter the unknown world alone but one day, he’ll return with the Gift of the Goddess, his learnings from the journey

Sort:  

Source
Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered spam.

Spam is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More information and tips on sharing content.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #disputes on Discord

Congratulations @ourdailyboard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you @ourdailyboard
Yes, indeed aloneness is a wonderful experience and solitude can be a highly insightful into the nature of our being. I went to intense 10 days meditation 🧘🏼‍♂️ retreat many years ago and have attended the same retreat many times. Having been married and with two kids can make regular meditation practice challenge. However diligence and persistence is key to success. I have been lucky to keep my daily regular practice for many years and it now has become a routine morning habit. One thing for certain that this meditation practice has made me a better, kinder and happier person than I was before....I would not ask for me. And now my kids starting to show interest in meditation and starting short meditation practice. I am grateful for everything life has offered me so far.
Thank you for sharing 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼
Sending love, kindness and positive energy to all steemians 🌸❤️🌹🕉

Posted using Partiko iOS