Getting Back On That Horse

in #blog6 years ago

I love horses by the way. I thought I should say that first because for some people horses represent fear and an intimidating situation. For me though, I love horses and getting back on that horse is all about getting to experience one of the most amazing feelings of connectedness.

So I am learning, always learning, as I go along. And lately I have been learning a lot about my perception and management of time.

Over the Easter break I was very busy catching up with all the things around the house and property that I don't usually get time to take care of and maintain, and when I pushed myself I started to habitualise daily posting here on Steemit.

The moment I went back to work:

  • I felt hugely overwhelmed by my daytime workload

  • I resumed a hefty evening/nighttime workload

  • My computer had died and hours spent on sorting it out had drawn a blank

  • Major public deadlines with huge accountability are now my ongoing priority and I am letting them ride roughshod over everything else

  • I found time to get on social media other than Steemit (so, mainly Facebook) to make short comments (one sentence) and to read and 'like' other people's posts and comments (because this is a long-standing habit) but...

  • I found myself not posting on Steemit because I had built up the idea that Steemit posts are lengthy and involved quality pieces, and that I didn't have the time or headspace

  • I found myself avoiding Steemit because I was feeling conflicted about not posting (first daily, then at all)

  • I missed my interaction with fellow Steemians such as @angelacs and @zuckerzombie to name but two.

I've got to confess that without my computer I have been a bit bereaved and feel like I am going about my life with at least one arm missing. I'm on hold until payday, and once I get paid I will buy the parts and rebuild my machine. I do question how I have become so dependent on my machine, and at the same time my machine is kind of like the portal to my avatars online, so I can see how it has turned out this way.

The rebuild is going to focus on how I can post daily, and also on how I can make it easier for me to do that.

  • I'm going to set up a webcam for spontaneous and planned live broadcasts

  • The webcam is also going to enable recording segments for editing into longer training and teaching videos

  • I'm going to set up a decent microphone for audio recording, podcasts, and voiceovers

  • I'm going to set up and retrain my voice dictation software so that I can get more written

  • I'm going to set up my screen capture software so that I can create tutorial videos and let's play videos

  • I'm going to get a better green screen (one that is quick to put up and down, and which stows away compactly. Currently the one I use takes ages to set up its stands and needs ironing and takes up a huge space) so that I can create videos with me in smoothly and speedily

There's a lot more and that's the basic setup that I'm focusing on for next week. It's going to make post creation much easier, and I have seen that I need to do that in order to post more from within my current set of priorities around work.

I had sunk into a mindset where Steemit posts were a lot of work, and I know it doesn't have to be that way.

Back to the horse metaphor... the horse is the joy of doing, communicating, that feeling of connectedness. I really missed my friends on Steemit and I got stuck in a funk about not posting. Today I had a bit more time to think, and I realised that I could have been logging on to upvote and comment on their posts even if I was not posting. Why did I not have this thought earlier?

I'm spending most of my waking hours planning, teaching, marking, chasing about 50 students down for work that they should have submitted for me to mark and moderate with a deadline looming large, and next week is the first of several crunch weeks in a row where I will be on a production line of marking, prepping, teaching, chasing, firefighting all the way as individuals pop up in a crisis asking for help with xyz as their own stress climbs as deadlines and exams close in on us all. I'm good at clarifying and simplifying other people's lives and situations - I need to do this for myself.

  • I need to develop a better system for getting work out of students so that I avoid this crunch time each year

  • I need to stay steady as she goes, and limit the rocking on my heavily-laden boat so that I don't get swamped

It's OK to focus on being a reader on Steemit, and just reading, upvoting and commenting other people's content. It's not about me.

So I am back on that horse.

Sort:  

I'm just glad to have you back, commenting and interacting. Posting is secondary now with your super busy end of school year priorities and down 'puter.

I've got to confess that without my computer I have been a bit bereaved and feel like I am going about my life with at least one arm missing.

Totallllly get this. Last year when I didn't pass but was too ill after, it didn't matter. But later down in the year, even when I couldn't read properly nor sit for too long, just getting online and looking at pictures, videos etc was so healing. I felt reconnected to the planet.

I'm also going to add all those other setting up details to what I'll be 'seeing' manifest quickly for you. All will soon be set up just as you choose.

next week is the first of several crunch weeks in a row where I will be on a production line of marking, prepping, teaching, chasing, firefighting all the way

Going to be praying you through until exams all finish. Whew! ;)

I need to stay steady as she goes, and limit the rocking on my heavily-laden boat so that I don't get swamped

YES! Stay in balance. Family, students, so many are depending on you to be OK. Deep breathe, sound heal softly, under breath if needs be, sleeeeeep as much as you can sneak in just to keep in balance through the madness.

It's OK to focus on being a reader on Steemit, and just reading, upvoting and commenting other people's content.

Absolutely! You'll meet and greet and make more friends including getting more followers. WHEN you have time and energy and are able to.

Thanks for sharing all that you're sorting and manifesting, Paul. As usual, you over perform every single time, no matter when you feel you do not. ALL is well. And all will continue to be well.

Hey @powerfulwonders, welcome 'back on horse' :-)) So great to see you again here! And I want to congratulate you for processing rather than complaining about the things in life which got in the way. I see processing as an extension of honesty and as an expression about our feelings and our role in any given situation, mainly with an eye toward constructive action or resolution - just as you do in your post. I will try to implement this attitude of processing rather than complaining in my every day life, too;-) I think this attitude will bring me more freedom, as I also struggled to post on steemit the last days ;-)

I know what you mean about work.

You don't need to post every day! Why not work on twice a week for starters? And then add in videos to the mix too!

Twice a week would just mean once on Saturday and Sunday, anything else is a bonus.

Karl.

Welcome back @powerfulwonders!!
I haven't interacted with you before but you seem like such an interesting person. You were featured in this weeks #Payitforward curation contest and I'm glad to be here to support. I hope you can pay us a visit and see what we are all about.
Looking forward for more from you. Xo

I'm pleased to be able to post once a week, but I enjoy seeing what everyone else is up to and joining in conversations. My biggest frustration, if ever I am frustrated, is my account sitting there at 100% with votes going to waste. If nothing else, I vote! But good luck, getting all the kit in place makes a big difference.

I think a lot of us struggle to balance out Steemit time. I know I do. I am not sure if I will ever come up with a post every day, at least not a good one.
I do come here often to comment and use up my tiny SP.
If it helps any I have been told it is better for small accounts to comment more and post less. I am happy to run with that.
I was sent here by @revisesociology for the #payitforward contest

I taught high school for years and completely understand work overload! I'm so glad you figured out a way to include steemit though; I discovered that by commenting more than I post (especially in the beginning), I developed many more active followers, and even now, I only post at most, three times a week :)

I found your post through @revisesociology's Pay it Forward Contest entry!

I have just recently met @angelacs and can also see how you would miss her :)

Congratulations @powerfulwonders! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @powerfulwonders! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @powerfulwonders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!