Which Sauce is Boss?

in #blog6 years ago


Source


I love my hot sauces. I, like everyone who enjoys spicy condiments, am fairly particular about my hotsauce choices. Here are my favorite sauces in 3 different spice ranges. I haven't tried every hot sauce out there, so if there are some you would suggest, let me know and I will take a look!

Mild: Green Pepper Tabasco


Source
This is similar to the normal red Tabasco sauce, but with a very mild flavor. It does bring some good vinegar to the party which I think is always well received in hot sauce. As far as a sauce for breakfast, this is the ticket. It wakes your tongue up without the fire alarms. Maybe since the first time I had this was on eggs at a diner, that has shaped my perception of it, but I stand by it.

Mild-Medium: Cholula Original


Source
This is generally one of my go-to sauces for most things, and for people who are new to the hot sauce world. It is spicy enough for you to know that it is a hot sauce, but has a lot of spices which give it a really nice overall flavor presence other than pure heat. Out of anything that I could put this on, it shines on a good taco. I am pretty sure that is what it's made for, but it complements the flavor perfectly. It is moderately thick so you don't pour too much. If you just want to add heat though I would not suggest it. I wanted to spice up a soup recently and the Cholula spice mix completely overtook the other flavors.

Mild-Hot: Texas Pete


Source
This is the heaviest hitter I keep at home. I generally don't like sauces that make it so that is all you taste, and this is a comfortable heat for me. This is mostly heat with no other supporting flavors but maybe some vinegar? This is really delicious on BBQ in my experience. A little bit can go a long way on livening up some ribs and the vinegar can cut through some fatty brisket without a problem. This also makes dynamite wings. Sorry Frank's, there's a new sheriff in town as far as I am concerned. Warning: it is really thin so if you aren't careful you can pile on quite a bit before you know what you've done.

Do you agree with my selection? Any sauces I missed?

Sort:  

Franks all day long baby! There is no substitute.

Thanks for the response! Frank's is a big thing where I grew up

I'm a big fan of El Yucateco verde sauce.. its quite firey but it has really good flavor.

I've heard of it, but I have never tried it. I probably should.

I love hot sauce, I had to get used to it but now I can handle it. I'll go for the tabasco and my homemade chili pepper chutney.

homemade nice! Sounds good

Yes and very hot hot hot .

This is important post

I love hot sauce! They make food more exciting to eat haha!

Hello very little as spicy but between flavors and taste is respected, in the kitchen everything is valid. When I do it with empanadas de mechada I put a touch of Tabasco is good, and one in my country that is a buttermilk between mild spicy, MrCormick is the brand of my country. Good content.

Very useful post! Watch out my new post about coconut cupcakes

Loading...