Sort:  

While this post is fairly long and well written, it seems to insinuate that all conspiracy theories are untrue. Yet the closest examples used are Y2K and 2012. You mention GMOs, fluoride, etc. So you're saying concerns of fluoride and GMOs are like concerns about Y2K and GMOs? Wow! Talk about cognitive bias. Look, whoever was concerned about Y2K or 2012 was an idiot. Don't lump them into the category of being a paranoid conspiracy theorists. It actually is possible to think outside the box without being paranoid.

You act like everything is perfect, and we the mainstream narrative tells us all we need to know, while some are delluded doomsdayers lol. There's lots of reason for concern and the mainstream isn't giving any answers. For example:

  • autism rates have skyrocketed and still climbing
  • we've eroded the topsoil to the point of there barely being anything left
  • we can't breathe without inhaling toxins, including mercury
  • the oceans are polluted
  • we have a revolving door between the corporations that are harming us and regulatory agencies that are supposed to be protecting us from those corporations
  • 1 in 6 kids have a developmental disability
  • we're seeing childhood cancers that didn't exist a short time ago

We don't have to wait for the sky to fall some day in the future. It's falling now! These things aren't theories. These are facts. And you want to discourage people from researching and talking about things outside of the mainstream narrative, which is mostly propaganda and brainless nonsense?

The vaccine schedule has never been tested!
GMOs weren't tested before introduced to the food supply.
Fluoride isn't tested for toxicology, though it's extremely toxic.

But don't worry folks, we can trust the government. We're all so sure of it we don't even need them to study these things for safety. All these new diseases are genetic. The media wouldn't lie to us.

And as far as economic collapse, you're going to be eating your words when it does. We're close too.

We need people to be allowed to think freely. Too many people already take the info they're spoonfed. Maybe some time show us how conspiracy theories are wrong, instead of merely implying they're wrong.

Loading...

Building 7.

Well I guess that just proves every single conspiracy theory correct then. Case closed.

Oh sorry, @rok-sivante. I was deliberately not replying to you because I actually agreed with some of what you said and had no desire to get into an argument. But @arevolution made so many points I also agreed with, I thought I'd talk to him direct in the comments. Peace. It's a tough area.

T'is indeed...

If I believe the following am I woke?

The national debt and global debt is of no consequence. Bitcoin rising at an astonishing pace doesn't indicate something is wrong with fiat currencies. Seth Rich died in a botched robbery (where nothing was stolen). The Podesta's taste in artwork is that of perfectly normal and harmless individuals. Russia hacked the election.

Well I don't. I guess I'm a conspiracy theorist.

i am impress the post

Well said, I spent several years stuck in the depressed, "sky is falling", everything is rigged by the "elite", etc.... state of mind. I know there are many people who are trying to help others by keeping them "informed", but many of those same people also seem to be stuck in the ultra paranoid doomsday mode, trying to convince others that everything they say is true. I'm really not sure how this is helping society, I'm just glad I snapped out of it when I did. Worrying about the things that interest me and/or are otherwise good for society is how I combat the negative aspects. Economy collapse? Good! It'll happen EVENTUALLY, SO WHAT? Stop worrying, just be ready to embrace the change or adapt to new circumstances is how I see it.
Great post!

Thanks.

Yeah, I spent far too long in that conspiracy theory camp, I am not proud to say.

Re: "economic collapse..." I'd bet that were such to happen, a lot of us probably wouldn't even know if we were to avoid the news. The conspiracy theorists paint it out as though all hell would break loose, but remember the 2008 crises? I don't. Life just went on as usual. Those who made some poor choices reaped what they sowed. But it's not like ALL things in the world will come to a halt and everything will be chaos. Doubtful. If there is some "elite" wielding next-to-Godly power over economic matters, it would really be in their best interest to sustain operations as they are rather than destroy everything in attempts to establish some new protocol that 8 billion people going about their business as usual are going to be forced to adapt to. "They" are not that stupid. The conspiracy theorists project all evil onto them, but fail to acknowledge the least bit of intelligence they actually have to be in the positions they are, while simultaneously thinking they are so advanced in their capabilities to pull off such diabolical plans that are ridiculously impossible.

The more I look at it logically, none of it makes any sense. Makes for good laughs though, once can snap out and observe objectively...

I think all hell could break loose at some point, but not necessarily due to economic reasons. I didn't feel the 2007-08 'crisis' at all either. But really the "debt can", just got kicked a little further down the road... And this will have repercussions! Fortunately, thanks to things like Bitcoin, Steemit, silver, gold, and various blockchain tech, etc., these might/should be reduced. History may rhyme, but it doesn't always have to repeat itself. Previous economic collapses never had the Internet and/or bitcoin(steemit)! The SMARTEST thing the elite can do is go along with the 'change' and try another approach to keeping 'Them' (maybe..not Us) enslaved.

Very thought provoking post. Get your information from a wide array of sources which will enable your wise decision.

And never take any single source as truth, questioning it ALL...

but the multidimensional transformation is happing NOW and somebody would be moved up and somebody down.

Each according to their own choices...

"Yet, there is this particularly funny dynamic at play within the subcultures of "truthers," "anarchists," and tinfoil hat clan that while they've successfully called the mainstream media out on their capitalistic-corporate propaganda, they seem to think that anything that stands in opposition could not possibly be susceptible to its own distortions of cognitive bias and straight-up misinformation."

Well spoken! I find it strange to see seemingly intelligent people propose absurd conspiracies... People who seem to feel that they KNOW what is true. In its worst form it turns into smugness - "Oh, you don't believe me? You're a sheep."

The idea to analyze and disprove your own beliefs is strong. We learn much more by challenging ourselves than by challenging others...

Intelligence itself, like anything else, can be directed wisely or succumb to distortions of perception, immaturity, false beliefs, emotional interference, etc...

Lol, I did remember Y2K. I thought I was 13 or 14 years old at that time. And i just heard from news that all computers may have error and maybe even nuclear weapon will be out of control.

And what make me remember that much is I count down to the 00:00, and sit to wait. I am not kind of fear but just want to see will it be a new world like missile flying above my home or explosion everywhere. But of course we know, finally there are nothing happened. But I do enjoy that time as no one can ensure what will happen, even the rich. (but of course maybe I am too naive at that time XD)

Yep. I also remember 14 years ago, trying to convince my dad to empty his mutual funds and buy gold, because of what I was hearing about upcoming economic collapses then.

Thank God he was smart enough not to listen to me. Lol.

Instead of fearing it, just be prepared for it and go on with your life in the meantime.

Cognitive bias.. Sounds interesting. It's good sometimes to explore other people's point of view which is entirely different from yours. I do that for me to know better how will I fight for what I believe in.

interesting arguments)
someone close to me

You got very valid points here! Choice is mine!

Wow guy great post I think I know what you are talking about.Sort of there is no enemy we are our enemy compete with your self kind of thing ? I know it is a bad karma thing to think but I bet the people who came up with Y2k survival packs made cash hand over fist.I am following you no strings attached because I see the work you put into this and i am a minnow blogger so anyhow feel free to follow my blogs @user0103283 best wishes on your endeavors.

Good post. Cognitive bias is something all people should study and look out for, as well as other mental phenomenon like false memories. For the former, I liked the treatment given in the book Nudge.

That said, while some are too far on the conspiracy side, some are not nearly far enough. We know that the desire for something to be true can cause someone to disregard negative information. Many people desire for conspiracies to be impossible, and so will always write them off. Bring them verified proof of past conspiracies, and they may accept it, but will not change their assumptions regarding any unconfessed conspiracies.

Good post

This is a very complicated and difficult topic/subject of which I am glad you are bringing up because it is also VERY important!

Subjectivity is basically an guarantee even for those of us who feel we are really good at being objective ;-)>

So as you pointed out this must be known. Second is that just because something is incorrect does not mean that something else is automatically correct.

The main problem with the whole conspiracy theory thing is that most of the conspiracy theorists think that because there is proof the government or coroprotions have lied that everything is a conspiracy theory....

On the other hand you have the mainstream sheeple folks who think that because someone was wrong about a conspiracy theory that all the conspiracy theories are wrong...

Both of these conclusions/methods of thinking are very problematic!

We need to QUESTION everything, but we need to actually research and look into it with as much of an objective and logical perspective as possible. Cognitive dissonance and bias are huge problems.

The truth is that there are government officials and organizations trying to help people and there are ones that are not.

We need a lot more factual accurate truth and less of the assumptive truth.

Thanks for bringing discussion on another important topic!

Well-stated. 👊

the two of the first picture are so similar :)

i like your post my friend @rok-sivante
Upvote for you ....

@rok-sivante : Thank You Give Me Vote
I also like, What are you show current