Slice of life: meeting with a fellow high IQ society member

in #blog7 years ago

Last night and today at noon I met for the first time with a fellow Volant member I have known for a while named Nathan (for confidentiality purposes I will only use his first name). He was passing through my hometown of Spokane, Washington and we had made plans several days before to meet up. We talked about subjects ranging from higher dimensions and alternate universes to biological anthropology and epicurean philosophy. Volant is a 3 sigma (three standard deviations above average) high IQ society associated with the nongovernmental organization Elysian Trust, which seeks to recognize and foster the development of people with different cognitive abilities who might otherwise be overlooked.

http://www.elysiantrust.org/wp/

website_slider_1.jpg

Nathan is a wealth of information when it comes to ancient european philosophy and history. He has read practically every major philosophical text from the Iliad up through 1100 years after, and has a mental timeline of these ancient periods so accurate that he can tell you about events that occurred on a decade by decade basis. He is a very well rounded and informed individual on many fronts besides philosophy, so we were both able to discuss minor and major interests of ours. We both like traveling and languages (though he has made more headway than I on the language front) and understanding people. It was really nice to connect with someone who I can relate to and who makes me think and ponder such a variety of topics.

I have not had such an enjoyable conversation in quite a long time, and I am lucky that I was able to spend the time with him that I did. I have many friends from all walks of life, and I always love to meet new people and make new connections, especially when they have unique and interesting stories to tell. I have friends from the online atheism community, reptile community, running community, high IQ community and many more. I love having such diversity in my life, because my interests are so diverse. Most of all, I love connecting with people and valuing the uniqueness of everyone I get the privilege of meeting. It's even better when we have shared passions or interests to connect over.

There are still many people out there that I have connected with online and would love to meet in person, but who inconveniently far away. I hope to bridge this gap many more times and meet all the interesting and inspiring people that I can. In fact, if you are reading this and want to visit me in Spokane, don't hesitate to ask!

20170607_234524.jpg

Sort:  

This was a cool story. Sounds like it would make a great podcast.

I had never heard of Elysian Trust. There's a great quote on their homepage:

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

Reminds me of the travesty of the IQ test. It only measures a certain type of intelligence, thus the prevalence of its use to measure human intelligence leaves many people thinking they are unintelligent, when really they are just intelligent in ways not measured by that test.

I am glad that you had the chance to have a great conversation. Should wish to be a decently bright individual -- look up @renzoarg -- his other account @chess.steemit is pretty good to.

Steem On

I already follow him, and have had a conversation with him and played two games of chess with him. Thank you for the recommendation though!

Awww, schucks. I will keep an eye out for others.

You are appreciated.

Sometimes our posts are undervalued.

I gave you my humble upvote of 5 cents but I'm also sending you some steem as a tip for posting meaningful content.

Can't wait to see more. Consider yourself followed.

Check your wallet.

Thank you @kryptik!

I am humbled and thankful for your support and appreciation. I will be trying to provide at least one post per day, though if time does not allow for quality, it may sometimes be less than that.

I can respect that. I'm a busy guy myself.

It's no problem. That's what this place is about.

Come for the money, stay for the community.

Well said, dear friend.

Thanks for being on Steemit! Enjoyed the post.

Join us on chat. There is, also, a #help channel that can answer any Steemit related questions.

Congratulations @snakefly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!