Dear Diary, I Lost my job- Good or Bad News? Day 1

in #blog6 years ago

It's no secret to anyone who knows me that I was miserable at the place where I worked.

It wasn't always like that...
It once was a place I looked forward to go every morning, it made me feel safe and supported, I was constantly reminded of my value and how quickly I took over responsibilities. I was genuinely happy, we all were. Things changed when a new owner took over and the soul of that place died.

Some months ago I found myself crying uncontrollably watching This CGI Short FIlm

I really felt how I ended up giving up on my dreams, maybe even never allowing myself to have a dream because I didn't believe I could do it. I took a generic job... I thought I had set out to travel and learn and grow and years later.... I was hunched over a desk with a horrible boss doing tasks that have absolutely no meaning to me. Other than getting me a check.

My life is right now upside down and at a stand still...

I have been out of town for some weeks now. Taking care of my dad who suffered a stroke. Spending time with my family. Working remotely. Stuck with a broken down car. Man, these all deserve their own post... Anyway, I got a call yesterday from my boss, the company is not doing well and they need to cut down expenses. That meant me, and some others.

And deep down I know this is probably the best way for me to get out of this vicious cycle. I often day dream about not having that job, and pursuing a life as a musician. I never say it because I think people will laugh at me. But is this the time to take risks that might just make me happy?

I've taken so many such risks in my life tho. And I don't regret them, I've had a somewhat unusual life. Moving a lot, taking chances. Sometimes I think moving on is the right decision. Sometimes I think maybe I leave right when things were starting to happen. Is there a formula?

I have so many options right now...

I could move back home, live 3 blocks from the beach, build a small house, maybe take a job I can do remotely and form a band. Be surrounded by music. Boom, I actually have that option, since all the members of my family are musicians. It would be like.... the lost child came back to the tribe. I'd have all the support and encouragement I once was too insecure to seek. The downside: start over. I mean everything, friends, routine, lifestyle. No acro.

I could stay in the town I live in. I love that town. It's full of trees and close to the river where I like to spend most of the summer. It's so small I know most people involved in the activities I do. I can walk pretty much everywhere. My community is full of loving and open minded people who make me feel so free and happy. Friends who have become my family, I could stay for that. Take another job. Do the things I like as a hobby. This is the place where I can be surrounded by acro and yoga. And keep my small apartment. The downside: expensive. same job situation..

I could give up most of my expenses and go live with friends until I figure shit out.....

I could try some kind of amalgam of all my ideas.....

I literally spoke to the universe a couple months ago and I said "I know I'm not meant to be here for this. I am meant to be doing something else, something meaningful".
(Yes, I speak to the universe). I think what is really scary isn't not having a job. But what it represents to me: The chance to make the right decision to steer my life towards something fulfilling. What if I don't make the right choice?

Today was my first day unemployed... And I still don't know if it's the best or the worst in 5 years.

Disclaimer: Earnings on this post will actually buy me food.

Sort:  

No es coincidencia, es el destino diciéndote que debes venir a viajar conmigo :D

Podría ser!! Nada me detiene

Hablo en serio!!

donde andas?

Me crees que sigo atrapado en México? Estoy entre el DF y Puebla dependiendo el día :/

Sounds like you need a bit of time for yourself, sometimes it's the best thing we can do. I've been in a similar situation since September last year although i packed it all in because of burn out. I think personally it's a lot easier to plan a more meaningful direction than not, however sometimes we need time for ourselves and some patients in order to grow. I've actually been the poorest i have ever been these last few months, and strangely probably the happiest too, however it's really difficult to find a cool enjoyable meaningful job that pays well out of the blue. I am starting the same old job i've always done in a few weeks, and even though still not sure exactly what i want to do i'm going to try and get my head down and save some money up, unfortunately unless your super lucky, to me this is one of the only ways out. And yoga too of course :)

Thank you for sharing that. I agree, first thing that came to my mind was "I need some time to myself". I mean... I was spending 9 hours of each day unhappy and not creating anything for me. Just feeding myself. I can't live like that. I'm glad to hear you got some time to recharge batteries and feel what's really important to you. Ahh.. if only we didn't need money... Good luck going back to work! Use all your non working time to do what you love :)

awww thanks im gonna need it hahahaha yeah If only we didn't need so much just to survive. Sometimes it feels like a maze, that you have to push yourself beyond your comfort zone to experience and enjoy the things you love which i suppose allows you to appreciate it more. So the more of a difficult time you've had the greater the potential for joy providing you can brave the storms without losing all your hope. And yeah brilliant advice i'll try to x

If you lost your job, do you remember where you left it? Has it fallen from your pocket etc.?

hahaha, if I knew where I left it... then it wouldn't be lost!

super coo pic.
loosing the job???
good, than you have to do something else!

:-D

head up! there is enough to do

:) thank you! yeah I guess there's a plethora of opportunities out there.

I feel you! I started my travelnomad life and let everything behind me....! One door closed another opened...hugs to ya and keep on smiling my dear

Wonderful post I love the Film too!! Do it move ! The universe is giving you the new option. Eight months ago I packed in everything and listened to the universe moved, new job. Very slowly I am settling in and making new friends etc but I still feel the universe had a plan for me here. Its been tough but I have learnt so much about me and how I want to be, now I am ready to meet people again :) Embrace it and the best of luck 💯🐒

Wow, 8 months ago already? Time is flying! I remember when you had just moved. Well I'm glad you're doing well. It's always exciting to get into changes, I have moved so much I know all about it. I was looking fwd to some stability but "come what may". I could do so much I never do when chained to an office chair. I'm actually going to build my future now :)

Yer its shot by hey! Its been up and down but mainly up and slowly building a social network. I have moved many times too and travelled I think its in the bloody but am getting settles here but who know what the universe has set for me.
It'll be a great move for you looking forward to hearing about it. Just remember at first any change is tough and will seem wrong but once you've settled you'll see the benefits. But most important listen to your gut :) 💯🐒

Do what your heart tells you to do. If you love music do music, if Acro is the real passion do Acro. If you can not pick between the two move home do music and build a small Acro studio below your house and do both. You're friends will travel, they already do.

I could be one of those people who do seasonal living. Winter in one place, summer in another.... get my fill of both. Invest in my future and security.... Ah.. I'm actually excited right now.... I just don't want to be all behind on payments.. So I need to plan for that and make changes if needed. Thnx for the advice!

You're a great person and all of us have to face a crossroads. The key is to look at all the possibilities and not limit our chances at success. I know you love both things and that is why I made the out of the box suggestion to you.

Loading...