Carrot buns with sourdough

in #breadbakers4 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I'm once again promising not to post about bread for a while. But I've been baking so much and I'm getting exhausted with the baking and the posting. BUT!

This is related to the natural yeast baking challenge which everyone should check. You're probably too late to participate, but check out the other posts from the people in the comments.

Porkkanasämpylä  1.jpg

But as I want to participate in everything related to sourdough, I'm doing some carrot buns today.

The ingredients:
1000g flours (330g wholegrain spelt and rest regular wheat)
650g water
200g of active sourdough
200g shredded carrots
20g salt

Porkkanasämpylä  2.jpg

Porkkanasämpylä  3.jpg

Mix everything in a bowl. Let it rise for 4 hours.

If the sourdough is active, it should rise real nice.

Porkkanasämpylä  4.jpg

Porkkanasämpylä  5.jpg

Porkkanasämpylä  6.jpg

Take the dough out from the bowl and make it loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong!
If you prefer, you can cut it in half and make two looooooooooooooooooong ones.

Then cut the dough into similar shaped pieces. I was lazy and didn't roll them into balls, as I wanted to test how they'll turn out like this.

I got two oven plates full of these, so 24 buns in total.

Let them rise for 2-4 hours.

Porkkanasämpylä  7.jpg

Porkkanasämpylä  8.jpg

When they have risen enough, put the oven to 225 degrees Celsius and bake them for 12 minutes.

Porkkanasämpylä  9.jpg

Porkkanasämpylä  10.jpg

Done. Minimal work, no real kneading but a bit of mixing and dough handling. Eveything you need is a sourdough starter, some love and time.

Less than 250 words. I'm too tired to write about sourdough anymore.

Signature by @atopy

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Oh groan:

Everything you need is a sourdough starter...

But mine is already in the waste bin 😱😱😱 And now I want carrot buns 😂😂😂 Please do not stop to write your amazing recipes and bread posts. They are so inpiring!!!
By the way do you have a set time frame/rhythm to get freshly baked things in the morning?

I seriously recommend you'd find someone locally who could give/sell a bit of their sourdough starter :)

Sharing is caring. I've sent some of my sourdough starter to Ireland too!

But no, I don't usually have a specific rhythm. If I want to make sure I'll have freshly baked bread in the morning, I'll split the dough to trays and bake them one by one, leaving the next one to be baked in the morning. This works well with sourdough, but not too well with regular yeast.

@muscara will send some of her sourdough and I hope this will work (means: I hope I do not kill it 😱) I will keep you posted :-D

Don't stress, don't throw it away before you discuss with us on Hive!
And use clean equipment to avoid mold, keep unused sourdough in the fridge, when you feed it a bit you could dry up a back-up.

Good luck. 😅

Hehehe thank you for push yourself to write about sourdough 😁Carrot buns is a good idea. I must try it!

Carrot buns are quite common in Finland, I recommend it :) it gives some softness and flavor to the bread.

Interesting, it's common in Finland. I remember someone was posting about bread with carrot to #breadbakers ..... I looked back the posts. It was @siphon.
https://hive.blog/breadkakers/@siphon/bread-baking-spanish-style-breadbakers-deutsch-english

I sometimes see carrot bread in Germany too. But it's mixed in more black dense bread. Carrot bread can be a topic of a challenge 😁

On my way looking for @siphon's post, I found @shanibeer's chilli loaf. It'll be my todo for this summer :)
https://hive.blog/breadbakers/@shanibeer/breadbakers-or-cheese-and-chilli-loaf-or-cavolo-nero-sausages-and-beans-or-the-breadmaker

A recipe with carrots would be a good challenge @akipponn! The cheese and chilli loaf was fun but very messy. I did enjoy it, though - that can be another challenge: present your favourite savoury bread.