Steemit and Cloudflare have teamed up to kill me

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

chicking your browser for hackers.PNG

Are you getting this Cloudflare screen on steemit lately? I am seeing it many times an hour when working now.

How I work with limited wifi

I have a "gadget" for my Malaysian wifi. It cycles and cuts in and out frequently. The speed is good, but any page that "refreshes" (such as steemnow) will stop refreshing after a few minutes. When I want to look at it again, I will have to manually refresh. This is a good feature since it uses less of my limited monthly gigs by not refreshing.

What is the problem with Cloudflare?

I do not post with steemit anymore. I stopped almost a year ago and post with better dApps, but steemit pages come in from many sources for comments, replies, and to look at other people's posts. I have many tabs open in three browsers and about 6-8 windows based on what projects I am working on here at the moment.

I am not refreshing manually, and I do not normally refresh steemit pages ever. The pages are open until I get done with them.

But now anytime I go to one of those "unrefreshing" screens on steemit, Cloudflare comes automatically Every. Single. Time. I click a tab, and Cloudflare checks to see if I am a bad guy for the time it takes to to that - I cannot even count how many times a day this happens now.

If I have two steemit tabs next to each other, they will both need to be checked by Cloudflare. If I leave a tab for 5 minutes to get a link for my reply, it will be checked again when I came back.

I might be working on a reply to someone and looking for the link I saw from someone else to help them. I am doing 20 other things at the same time. This is how I work.

What is the problem?

For me, the upshot of this is that my limited wifi has been drained severely. I have been doing good to get through each month with the gigs I have on my plan for the last few months.

I have all media turned off and do not watch videos. I use 55 gigs a month - about two a day.

Well now I am over by about one-third for this month. I should have 30 gigs left and I have less than 20 now. This "draining" happened in less that a week, so it is worse that in seems.

What can I do to save this situation?

Yes, I am about to ditch steemit even further. But since I post 40+ posts a week and make 300+ comments a week, I cannot change course easily without slowing down. I am looking at everything I do now to see where else I can do it, and how to get to a non-steemit page for that particular thing.

"Just buy more gigs," you say? I have no money to do that. With the STEEM price down. I am not even sure I can pay my rent due Monday, and I am already freaking out about that.

My rent here is about $115 usd per month (including transfer fees.). Damn, I am the worst failure ever.

Tasteem has some kind of problem with this cloudflare thing too.

I can no longer post restaurant reviews with my @fitinfunfood blog which pay very well. The tasteem monitor told me in discord:

since Steem applied Cloudflare it seems to effected Tasteem and an error often happens. I am not very sure what happened either. If it is not getting better on Monday our admin will take a look.

Ergh...

I am not giving up, but I do feel like it right now.

If you would like to help me keep going, and you have the power to do it, please go to any of my blogs and upvote OLDER posts. If they will payout in the next day day or so, I will have that cash to pay the rent.

This is what I do on STEEM:

@fitinfun

  • share2steem - STEEM promo posts
  • esteem - freewrite
  • busy - Minnow Tips
  • nTopaz - Photography

@fitinfunfood

  • share2steem - STEEM promo posts
  • esteem- food and ccc posts
  • tasteem - restaurant reviews
  • dlike - Sharing health news

@bxlphabet

  • share2steem - STEEM promo posts
  • esteem - dApp and gaming Reviews
  • dpoll- dApp and STEEM questions
  • busy - lyrics challenges

All my posts are tagged with palnet too.

Rant over. Picking up and pushing on NOW.

Please read my Minnow Tips here:

You CAN Succeed on STEEM

fitinfun before and after difference.jpg

Sort:  

There is a browser extension that will force busy and steemit links to open in @steempeak. I don't recall the name, but I'm sure you can check in their Discord if @jarvie or @asgarth don't see this.

We even have a link to it on our services page
https://steempeak.com/me/services

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

55 GB a month? that is insane! I guess you'll need to start using a mobile app more often I'm sure partiko or esteem can help you reduce on data costs

I am on a laptop - I can not use a phone very well since I am old with bad eyes and arthritis in my hands. I use the phone when traveling and have very poor results.

But esteem is on my laptop and I am using it a lot more more.

This loser hears you. 😭

I do not know how to change it. I work like you...on my mobile but all.sites open.I need. I copy and part what I wrote but also names etc. It takes a lot of time and switching.

Perhaps writing less?
I noticed people who write and comment way less as we do, manage better and earn more.

What is left you need for the rest of the month... limit the time you.are on the internet, no pictures is.a big save too.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I noticed people who write and comment way less as we do, manage better and earn more.

It depends on who those people are, how long they have been here, and who they know. I really need t oget my act together though - in days.

I have most media turned off now.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!