Cranberry Sauce

in #christmas6 years ago

cranberriesTH.jpg

The smell of Christmas

A Christmas eve ritual for me is making the cranberry sauce ready for the next day's Christmas dinner. I always use fresh cranberries for this and a good glug of port. I also add star anise to the pot as it works well with some of the oriental food dishes we serve at our Christmas dinne.

Within minutes of starting to cook the cranberry sauce my house is filled with the smell of Christmas, a beautiful fragrance of orange and spice!

cranberryingd.jpg

For my cranberry sauce I use:

200g fresh cranberries

75g sugar

70ml port

Zest of 1 orange + squeeze of orange juice

A stick of cinnamon

3 tsp mixed spice

2 star anise

cranberry.gif

The cranberries, port, squeeze of orange, star anise, cinnamon go into the pan first, then I add the orange zest and I cook the cranberries for about 5 minutes until they start popping.
dec177.jpg

I then add the mixed spice and sugar, and simmer the sauce for a further 10 minutes or until all the berries have softened. I then taste the sauce and add more sugar if needed.
dec178.jpg

Finally I put the sauce into a dish to cool, and then refrigerate. Yummy sauce ready for Christmas day!

cranbsauce.jpg

And a bit of art while I'm waiting to eat that cranberry sauce!

'Cranberry Sauce' -2017, by Ophelia Fu

cranberries.jpg

Collage and water-based paints on paper.

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Merry Christmas!!!

happy-merry-christmas-wallpaper.jpg

hmmm, am hungry now seing this, can you send me some from steemit? lol. Lovely post, you got my upvote

What? If I come across this! it will be dead for this Christmas

Looks delicious.. But I can't try it because I live in a big family and it will be war for it.... Oh, thank you. @opheliafu

Haha, I understand that!

I can imagine all the sweet smell in the home while cooking..
Watered my mouth!
Marry Christmas

Merry Christmas to you!

Cheers:)

Love the images to illustrate the making of what looks like the most divine Christmas treat Ophelia. The final result looks amazing ~ Love how you have left the whole cinnamon and star anise in it.

I also love the spirit of your collage and painting. The six pointed star, as a background is so appropriate for this time of the year. Bringing in the light of peace and harmony. 🦋

It looks very delicious and mouthwatering, Merry Christmas @opheliafu :)

Delicious combination dear @opheliafu. Salsa, Christmas and art!
Merry Christmas!!!!

the work was splendid dear friend @opheliafu congratulations, I love the colors used.
While reading the post I began to perceive those aromas that you name, I integrated so much to the image and your words that I began to perceive those rich aromas.
thank you very much for the recipe and the steps
I wish you a wonderful night

yummy your recipe. I liked it a lot, that fruit is one of my favorites and accompanied by that species that is my delirium like cinnamon. I hope you continue to publish recipes like these. I invite you to follow me @ napi1. sure you will like my post

it's almost 1am and by seeing this post I now have a voracious appetite hahahaha excellent illustration!