My Adventure on the Island of Crete - Day 6 / 希腊克里特岛之旅 - 第六天

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

2017-06-17 09.54.27.jpg

Chania is said to be the most popular of places on the gorgeous island of Crete. It is located on the northwest coast and is the second biggest city in the island. On hearing so many great reviews about it from friends and online, I decided to pay it a visit and see if it really lives up to what people say.

There is a more modernized section within it, but without doubt it is Chania’s Old Town that offers you the chance to truly get to know this amazing part of Crete. Old Town has so much to offer, from the old cream-stone lighthouse near the harbour to incredible, pastel-coloured historic townhouses (even an ancient, peachy mosque). The whole of the old town is filled with lovely old Venetian buildings, museums, churches and crafts shops. It's got a real cultural feel everywhere that I picked up on almost immediately.

The entire area is accessible by foot, which is very convenient to scout from place to place, and tight little back streets offer a lovely shopping experience too. The splantzia quarter offers cool, leafy cafes and shops filled with handmade traditional goods as well as various local products on offer. The streets are narrow, with the atmosphere that has a touch of Florence and Venice, combined with the culture of Cretan people and traditions.

2017-06-26 21.13.18.jpg

2017-06-26 21.11.08.jpg

2017-06-26 21.10.33.jpg
Locally Produced Sponge

(You can also enjoy a half hour horse-and-carriage tour of the old town just 30 euros. Well worth it just for the experience alone.)

2017-06-26 21.22.22.jpg

The Venetion Harbour

The Old Town wraps around the harbour front. A stroll along the nearby harbour wall to the Venetian lighthouse is something not to be missed!

Providing an escaping from all the main hussle and bussle, the harbour itself offers you a breath-taking seafront view with the lighthouse on one side and the those pastel townhouses along the other. By the sea, there is a Turkish mosque, which is in fact no longer in use as a religious building. Now it often hosts art exhibitions, which is considered a tourist landmark here in Crete.

2017-06-17 09.47.04.jpg

2017-06-17 09.49.09.jpg

2017-06-17 09.49.44.jpg

2017-06-17 09.52.29.jpg

2017-06-17 09.53.24.jpg

2017-06-17 09.56.14.jpg

2017-06-17 09.57.02.jpg

2017-06-26 21.14.10.jpg

2017-06-17 09.54.27.jpg

2017-06-17 09.57.37.jpg

2017-06-17 09.51.47.jpg

There are many nice taverns along the seafront where you can enjoy the sun, sip on a cocktail or grab a bite to eat. I would recommend a walk to the lighthouse to catch the glorious setting sun. It's just magnificent!

2017-06-26 21.15.09.jpg

I dined at a restaurant called Apostolis right beside the seafront, watching folks stroll past the shops, listening to teenager kids playing their loud music and just generally taking in the atmosphere. Watching the world go by with not a care in the world. What an awesome place to chill out, forgetting all your troubles to the soothing sound of the sea and it's pleasant accompanying breeze!

2017-06-17 09.59.19.jpg

2017-06-17 09.59.51.jpg

2017-06-17 09.57.55.jpg

While soaking in the spectacular sight of the harbour sunset, I enjoyed a delicious fresh seafood dish and the Cretan cuisine.

The starter was stuffed with vine leaves. An authentic Greek dish made with those tender vine leaves wrapped into little rolls and stuffed with rice and fresh herbs, dipped in a thick lemon sauce. They tasted like little bites of heaven, loved it!

2017-06-17 10.01.53.jpg

2017-06-17 10.02.11.jpg

For the main, I ordered grilled king prawns with lemon and garlic sauce with my husband going for the grilled lamb chops. Both were super juicy and so delicious...

2017-06-17 10.03.10.jpg

2017-06-17 10.04.53.jpg

And let’s not forget about the complimentary desserts, greek yogurt with strawberry sauce topping and cake slices. I polished them both off in no time, lol.

2017-06-17 10.05.36.jpg

Sipping a glass of white wine and soaking in the spectacular sunset on the seafront, so majestic and beautiful!

This was most definitely one of the highlights of my trip!

2017-06-26 21.23.11.jpg

2017-06-26 21.19.41.jpg

2017-06-26 21.14.34.jpg

2017-06-17 09.51.33.jpg

2017-06-17 09.58.24.jpg

2017-06-17 10.05.56.jpg

2017-06-26 21.17.51.jpg

2017-06-26 21.21.49.jpg


据说哈尼亚是克里特岛上最受欢迎的地方。它位于西北海岸,是岛上第二大城市。听到很多关于朋友和网络上的好评,我们决定去参观一下,看看它是否名副其实。

哈尼亚最迷人的地方在于旧港附近的老城区,也是让游客们能够真正体验到克里特岛风情的地方。老城区有很多值得参观的地方,例如奶白色的石头灯塔和粉色系列的老式房子(甚至是古老的清真寺)。 整个老城区布满了威尼斯老建筑,博物馆,教堂和工艺品店,到处都能感受到这里的文化气息。

哈尼亚很繁华,散步穿过狭窄的街道,商店酒吧林立,去哪儿步行都非常方便。Splantzia广场尤其热闹,聚集着特色咖啡店,传统手工艺商品店以及各种各样的地方特色纪念品。这里有点儿佛罗伦萨和威尼斯的味道,却又结合着克里特岛本地的传统文化特色。

除了步行,你还可以体验一下马车,绕着这个旧港湾的一部分地方进行一个旅行。30欧元半个小时,还是挺值得的,呵呵。

威尼斯港

古老的威尼斯港被旧城环绕着,非常迷人。沿着海港漫步,走到尽头就是灯塔。这一路上能感受到清新的海风,伴随着城镇美景,一切美不胜收,一定不要错过哦!

从喧嚣的城市节奏逃脱到这个令人叹为观止的宁静海港,感觉真好。港口一边是灯塔,另一边是古老的粉色系列别墅,还有一个土耳其的清真寺。据说清真寺已经不再用作宗教场所,而是经常用来举办艺术展览,并被称为克里特岛的地标之一。

沿海边有许多漂亮的小餐馆,让游客在享受阳光和海港美景的同时,也可以品尝夏日风情的鸡尾酒和各类精美小吃。我会建议大家散步到灯塔,赶上夕阳的黄昏,那种美是无与伦比的。

我们在海边一家叫做Apostolis的餐馆用餐。闲看游客漫步海港,聆听少年们大声播放流行音乐,静静看着大海和海鸥,就仿如这个世界上所有的一切都停止了,没有烦恼,没有困扰,只有舒缓的海洋声音与习习微风为伴!

在欣赏海港日落美景的同时,我们也一边享用新鲜美味的海鲜佳肴和希腊传统美食。

前菜我们叫了葡萄叶包米卷。这是一款地道的希腊菜,用嫩嫩的葡萄叶包裹成小卷,塞满米饭和新鲜配菜,浸在浓稠的柠檬酱中,好吃!

我和先生分别点了点了柠檬蒜酱烤虾和蒜香羊排作为主菜。两款都嫩肉多汁,超级美味,值得推荐。

希腊人热情好客,几乎每家餐馆都会在饭后送客人免费甜品或水果盘,这儿当然也不例外。他们送上来的是一盘正宗希腊酸奶加草莓酱与两块松糕,一下子就被我们消灭光了,哈哈。

老城镇林立,海港日夜不休。在这儿啜上一杯白葡萄酒,享受绝美风景,感受着海港气息,静看夕阳西下,的确是人生一大乐事,也是我这次希腊之旅的亮点之一!

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Hey Rea!

What an absolutely gorgeous post about Chania!

The Old Town seems to have a little bit of everything, history, culture, heritage and most definitely beautiful island architecture. The pictures are a real treat to the eyes and it's amazing how I can feel the culture seep through the pictures. It's definitely retained all of the best aspects of Cretan tradition and culture.

The food I imagine is also terrific, I can only speak from my experience in Santorini with Greek food, but I only have good things to say about that!

I also really loved that little red submarine in the harbour, it really stands out against the many other fishing boats. I wonder if you could ride that??

Really fantastic post Rea, congrats!

Yes, beautiful post by Rea! I will follow now. Crete has figured prominently in the revival in Greek cuisine

crete-restaurant-greek-tavern-large.jpgCREDIT: FOTOLIA

Thank you @higomex, I cannot agree more!

Hey there, @sweetsssj!

Thank you for visiting my post!

And yes, Chania was a historical masterpiece. As you put it so well, the place was alive with this real "vintage" feel all around. You could imagine the ships pulling into the harbour and the seaman offloading various cargo onto dry land. I love that aspect about Crete as it has maintained the structures of many of it's beautiful historical buildings so well for tourists and locals alike to enjoy and explore.

The food was astounding and I so appreciate the praise for my pictures coming from someone as skilled and masterful as you are with a camera. Of course, being near the sea, all the fish and prawns were fresh and bursting with flavour. A definite taste difference to what I'm used to here in London. It's was an absolute joy.

That submarine was awesome and we had exactly the same thought! Unfortunately, there was nobody nearby for me to enquire more about possible trips inside it. Would be so cool though, lol!

Thank you once again for leaving such heart-warming and humbling comments for my post. Really means a lot to me and as always, look forward to much more from your incredible life-blog too. :)

Not only that, the tradition and culture in china is also very cool @sweetsssj

History, heritage and cultural posts remain up-voted , This is nice post too.

Loved reading this post and seeing photos again. I used to go on holiday to crete as a kid, brings back lovely memories looking at this thank you!

The photos you have shared here are fantastic. They really capture the scene well, and it is just how I remember it from my last visit.

Crete is definitely a place you could visit several times, and struggle to find something new to find/do.

The culture of the Cretans is something I was very keen in during my stay on the island, and I was very lucky to spend a lot of time with some locals from the next village, who were more than happy to educate me on their way of life.

Unfortunately, at the time of my visit, I did not have a decent camera, so the photos I took do not have the depth and clarity that your photos do.

Thank you so much for sharing this with us. It has made me remember what a beautiful place it is!

What a wonderful series of photos! I love all the boats and the stunning sunsets. These type of posts keep me yearning for more travel. Thanks for showing us all the beauty and great food photogrsphy, too. Resteemed and voted. Cheers!

Definitely on my list now, nice pics!

Thank you for taking time to comment here :)

Great photos - loved the red submarine and all that delicious Greek food - mmm! Upvoted and following you.

Thank you @greenstar. Greek food has become my new favorite, lol.

Wow it is such a great place on this island! I always love how people living in a island work their little community out together. And a such great gorgerous place, everything is just so pretty! i am so looking forword

Great

Beautiful post and some really nice photos Rea ! I really love this place as it is my place of origin.. i 'm glad that you like'd it.

Such a beautiful part of the world @rea! Thank you for posting....really enjoyed all of the wonderful sailboats and food of course! Com sail away....Following! -Peaz!

I am glad you like it, thank you for stopping by @peazfulman!

stewed king prawns with garlic sauce.. yummy

thats great really

This post received a 0.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @rea! For more information, click here!

Omg, beautiful pictures and the food looks great !!
giphy (6).gif
Have fun :D

Lol, thank you for stopping by.

you're welcome

Hi friends, please up vote and follow me.

@rea, did you visit The Palace of Knossos?

What a beautiful place, a paradise and these foods seem to be wonderful

really great picture you make me wanna visit this island thank you so much for sharing and I'll be glad to hear your opinion about my work here is the link and hope you'll enjoy it :)
https://steemit.com/life/@othmanesl/that-view

i just want to hop on a boat and sail away!

Oh the travel bug. It has bitten me.

What a beautiful place and wonderful photos! Your pictures made me immediately want to book a trip and also made me hungry! :) Upvoted and following you!

Very nice pic, upvote me
Im newcomer. I need your help. help me dude. pls follow and like me :)

This place looks familiar- think i was here or somewhere similar about 20 years ago. Use to go to Crete every year.

what an amazing post! thank you for bringing back happy memories for me of this beautiful country! I love all of the Greek islands, but Crete is especially magical! I must find my passport out now lol x

Nice place, nice food, nice sunset.
还有何求?哦,求赚回旅费。哦耶。

Haha....good one!! Thanks for stopping by @ace108!

You're welcome

Thanks for the update and awesome work as always

Wow such a amazing place! Will plan to go there in the future. 谢谢你的分享!

Great post, Upvoted and followed.

WOW.. thats gorgeous :o

Wow tasty delicious sea food & Awesome view " I LIKE IT" :)
I WILL VISIT ONE DAY TO Chania

Wow looks great I never been on a vacation I love it.

Time to plan one perhaps :)

Do you know what the oldest place in the city is? It sounds like a great place to visit. I'd have to compare it to the dolma I get in Turkey!

Perhaps Chania's old town :)

I never been to Turkey so cannot compare. But I am sure if you come to Crete you would fall in love with the beauty!

A very beautiful place, how long are you there

Only 8 days and I wish it was more :)

Oh gosh luckyyy !!! the food looked incedible and those sponges were absolutely insane, im sure they feel nice when you use them but they looked hard as rocks haha

True, haha.

Good post! Love the photos :)

You are very kind, thank you.

You're welcome :)

Good photos like it.
I wish do smth like this

Thanks.

very nice post. How was captain Nick? I jut posted some pictures from 2005. maybe you can have a look https://steemit.com/photography/@rival/20-3-2005-my-daughter-was-born-see-what-my-friends-did Thx.

Thank you for taking your time to comment :)

Looks fabulous, been there once myself. Did you try Gyros? I really liked it. You seem to have had the best possible weather.

Oh yes, Gyros is amazing too!! I was quite lucky with the weather. I hope your visit was nice too?

Nice to meet you!
Follow you)

Thank you.

Nice post, hope to visit Crete someday!

I am sure you won't regret it :)

looks calm, clean and delicious, a complete recipe for a great vacation :D

Great minds alike, lol.

Awesome read! :)

Cheers!

Hi @rea very entertaining post! The food looks gorgeous, especially king prawns!
I've added new story about night life in Poland. Kindly take a look if you have a minute:
https://steemit.com/travel/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-2-the-nowy-swiat-pavilions-heart-of-warsaw-s-nightlife
Cheers!

Yeah, king prawn is my favourite :)
Will check out your post later and thanks for stopping by.

thank you :) I'm following you so I'll be back :P

I am always happy when I see people visiting Greece! I hope you have the best possible experience and enjoy your stay there!
You are doing great promotion :) thank you!

Crete is truly a holiday paradise and the Greek people are beyond kind! I would definitely love to go back.

Thank you for taking time to comment here. Steem on!!

Amazing photos. Now I'm hungry after seeing the food :(

It has that effect on me too, haha!

Nice photos I must say! The dessert looks great <3
I just posted an article about one of the beautiful fairylands (at least alike :D)
https://steemit.com/travel/@chaithrabhat/giethoorn-the-venice-of-holland
Your thoughts are most welcome!

Thank you! Just checked out your post and the article was great with some awesome photos, upvoted and STEEM ON!!

一如既往的好👍

谢谢oflyhigh哥支持,呵呵。有空来希腊玩玩,还真的不错!

有机会一定会去的:)

有时间看看我的这个帖子哦✨
https://steemit.com/cn/@oflyhigh/6dbdqm

谢谢提醒,其实我昨天就投给Abit大神啦,呵呵。

美女,你投的的是取消票
快去检查一下😢

啊,不会吧... 昨天电脑明明显示投了,应该是屏幕屏显示没更新(冒汗)。幸好被@oflyhigh发现啦,谢谢!

hmmmmmm beautyfull place and food. look yammmi;-0

Thanks!

There are 3 pages
Pages